We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a few days break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #101 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hotel for a few days break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and I would happily go back. The hotel was so easy to find, very friendly, welcoming staff, very comfortable too. Yeah there is noise from the trains but your in a city centre, what would you expect from booking a hotel right next to the train station! It really does not effect your stay if it gets loud shut the window. Otherwise your not supposed to be in the room your supposed to be out exploring!

We stayed in room 632 which was on the side of the hotel looking back towards the station. Very comfortable, massive shower! Always a bonus.

Amsterdam itself is a beautiful city to visit. So much to see around every corner. I would recommend going on the trip to see the Windmills. The area is stunning and being able to visit the cheese factory and clog factory made it worth every penny.

You must also go on the canal cruise, its a great way to see places that perhaps you may not of walked to.

You can obviously go to Amsterdam with only a small budget but we did find that food and drink can become expensive depending on where you go. We ate in New Dorrius restaurant on the final night of our stay and I wish we had of eaten there every night. The food was fantastic, not cheap, but for us as a couple it was delicious.

All in all it was a great trip, the hotel was perfect for us. Breakfast of fresh pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses and the normal eggs/beans/sausages set us up for the day.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

PS look out for the bikes!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear mike5072,

Thank you for choosing and reviewing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us in our beautiful city.

Thank you for your kind words and we're looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    1,232
    523
    90
    58
See reviews for
377
936
189
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

1st time in Amsterdam we loved it,we picked the ibis for its location,this worked out well as all buses trams and trains come back to this main area outside the train station.Hotel was great bed comfy heating good kept room nice and warm .very clean and tidy nice décor and no trouble with noise best thing was free safe and being able to leave our cases all day on our last day so we could go everywhere and pick up cases just before catching the train back to the airport.staff very helpful and friendly our only complaint would be that the cooked items at breakfast were cold shame but the choice of breads pastries cheese and hams etc more than kept us satisfied !lovely yougarts and plenty of fruit all kinds of tea too you can also make a coffee to take away.we had an amazing time and cant wait to come back.do not miss anne franks house it is a very moving experience but make sure you prebook a timed ticket on line .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear jayne h,

Thank you for choosing and reviewing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staf was friendly and helpful

Thank you for your feedback concerning the breakfast, I will inform the F&B manager about this.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located. Turn right as you walk out of Centraal Station and there it i!. It's actually partly on the train tracks. Our room (324) was at the back facing the train tracks and we had no issues with sound or noise. If it had been too hot/cold, we wouldn't need to open the window as each room has AC/heating.

Hotel staff were very helpful (we only talked to them on check in and check out) Monique checked us in and was very friendly and helpful.

The room was great, lovely comfortable strong mattress. No issues of noise from other rooms. The only small fault I could mention, is that the shower went from hot to cold randomly sometimes. But aside from that it was great.

There is a HUGE bike rental (5,000 bikes) literally just outside the door. Also, all the trams for all of Amsterdam leave from in front of Centraal station (1 Min walk)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear aidocore,

Thank you for choosing and reviewing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelsNL, ACCOR, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.