We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #107 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    1,298
    548
    100
    61
See reviews for
402
992
199
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived on the Friday morning about 10:30, the hotel is on the door step of the train station making it an ideal place to stay. Arriving earlier then the checkin time stated when booked, we where allowed to check in early due too the room been ready.
The room was located on the second floor, facing towards the train station. I found the bed comfy, noise was minimal, bathroom was small but did the job, free use of the room safe was handy. One thing I would of liked would of been a kettle.
Due to a late return flight we paid to keep the room which was €10 for each extra hour.
Location to Dam Squire walking was about 10-15 minutes. Red light district about 20 minutes.
I would recommend the hotel due to it's close location to the train station, the room was clean and suited our needs and i would stop again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear chrisc1987,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Should you need a kettle during a future stay, you can always borrow one at our reception desk.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went for a congress to Amsterdam in February and have chosen this hotel because we liked the closeness to the station (arrival with plane late at night) and walking distance to town and tram stations. I have read all the ratings and chosen well. The hotel was clean, service was good and helpful. Breakfast time had to be chosen well or no table available. Before 7ºclock were the working people and after 9ºclock the tourists. In between you could have the breakfast room for yourself. We requested a room to the "back" and were not disappointed. The view at night was wonderful and we loved to watch the boats and ferry pass by. On the 8th floor we were even able to leave the window open because at night not too many trains pass through.

Room Tip: totally depends on what you like to see :-) noise is in all rooms. To the front you may have the cit...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Right next to Central Station. This was great for arriving and departing as we could leave our suitcases at the hotel once checked out and then just nipped back to pick them up and straight to station. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny (but really all we needed). Very clean and the service at reception was quick and efficient. The only downside was the breakfast. I do not think it was worth 16 euro per person per day. Some of the food was quite cold and had clearly been sitting a while. But all in all a good stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Amy H,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you as well for your comments regarding the breakfast. I'm sorry to hear the quality of the hot items wasn't up to standard. We strive to offer a wide variety of cold ans hot items. Should anything be other than the regular quality, you're always invited to ask one of our breakfast employees; they'll be more than happy to arrange some new hot items straight away. My apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We will look into this matter and prevent future occurence.

It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Ibis is very close from the Amsterdam Central station and for people that will just spend 1/2 days in Amsterdam it is a very nice play to stay.
The room is not big as all rooms in Amsterdam but the bathroom works fine and has a good space.
There is a bar on the Lobby so if you need a quick drink and food.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Rodolfo D,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at this Ibis hotel (once with a stag do and another time with my girlfriend) and I have twice left feel satisfied with the stay. The staff are friendly, willing to assist in any way and the hotel is in a great central location and stones throw away from the train station.

The room was tidy and overlooked the train station, but we didn't hear a sound! Great value for money for anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear chrhan,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel on more than one occasion and in two different settings!

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.