We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location, little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome location, little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

overall a really good experience, the staff were beyond lovely and helpful and were on site 24/7. there isn't a very good snack selection and a few people knocked on our door in the middle of the night (a few shady characters) but other than that the location cannot get any better/close to everything and pretty safe! ideal if you're a couple/friends that don't need much space and are looking for a simple stay with good service.

pros:
-location couldn't be any better
-simple rooms, but very clean
-reasonable prices

cons:
-TAKE YOUR OWN SHOWERGEL!! this gave me and my partner rashes!
-can get a little noisy at night due to it being literally ABOVE central station, but didn't bother me so much!
-small rooms

Room Tip: if you have any room preferences and want a larger size room, inform the staff! I, personally didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Rana R,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you had a really good experience and will pass your compliments on to our staff!

I'm sorry to hear some people knocked on your door in the middle of the night. Unfortunately this behaviour is beyond our control. Should you feel unsafe, we invite you to contact our reception staff, so they can take appropriate action immediately.
I'm also sorry to hear you experienced some discomfort because of the showergel. This is honestly the first time I've heard this comment. I will inform our supplier to double check the quality of the showergel to make sure it's of the regular high quality. Thank you for pointing this out.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    1,160
    497
    85
    54
See reviews for
356
875
184
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel staff very friendly and facilitating considering I have trouble sleeping so was wondering around most of the night lovely rooms well kept close to everything u need in Amsterdam really lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Nathalie M,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were great.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend. The hotel is good, no issues with it, being a chain the Ibis is clean and well equipped, it's what you would expect. The hotel location is good, right next to the station and trams. As previous reviewers have mentioned having a room on a higher level means changing lifts, although this really wasn't a problem. I'm visiting Amsterdam again in May and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear monkeyboy83,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're looking to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what more you could want, perfect location and nice rooms with comfy beds, they are a bit small buy I don't see why you would need more room. Friendly staff and room prices were very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Woking, UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have to say there are some moaners on this website! This hotel is right in the centre, hotels are expensive and for the price this Ibis charges, you're not going to get a huge room with lots of frills! Get real folks.

We were in A'dam for a long weekend. Price was €230 for the three nights which was very good (we booked some time in advance, when Accor were having a sale). We were travelling by train from the UK so the hotel's position right bang by the station was another reason why we chose it. And anyway we like Ibis hotels.

I'd asked for a room at the front (even though I like trains) and lower down so we didn't have to change lifts (thanks TA). Reception had already noted this when we checked in. The room - as you'd expect with Ibis - was tidy, clean & all in order. But I do agree the rooms are very small! Probably one of the smallest I've stayed in & certainly the smallest bathroom. But for three nights it's fine. Only two problems -

a) the shower was not very powerful (surprising as we were on the 1st floor) and
b) the TV is so high up on the wall that, unless you stand on the bed to watch it, the colours are all distorted.

But at least they had BBC and anyway we didn't come to watch TV.

Sound insulation was very good, didn't hear traffic noise at all. There was a safe in the room which is always appreciated.

Breakfast is a rather pricey €16, as with most Ibis hotels, so we had breakfast out (there's a smashing luxurious cafe on Platform 2 in the station, a restored 1st class waiting room/restaurant/pub, €9.50 for breakfast + there are two McDonalds close by (I am quite partial to a McMuffin on holiday which + a good coffee was only €3)).

Staff in the hotel are extremely helpful & friendly. And very good beds.

Trams are very close by and, being the terminus, cover most parts of the city.

Definitely recommended, at least for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Voigt,

Thank you very much for your extensive review and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's especially good to hear you experienced our staff to be extremely helpful & friendly and that you liked our ibis Sweet Bed!

You also pointed out some technical issues, which I will have our maintenance department look into. Normally the waterpressure is sufficient on all floors. Maybe there was something wrong with the showerhead which we could have fixed at the spot.
The tv is indeed high op on the wall, but all tv's should be tilted, so the view is good from the bed or a chair. We will check the position of the tv to make sure it's tilted correctly.

Should you run into problems during your stay you're always invited to contact our front office staff. They will more than happy to assist you with any issue!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.