We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, Amsterdam 1012 AB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

2,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    1,022
    448
    77
    45
See reviews for
307
763
170
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our stag party of 8 stayed here, the rooms are small but do the job, after all it is a budget hotel. Rooms are very clean and beds were comfy. Staff very friendly. A good place to stay for Amsterdam 1st timers as it's right next to the train station and only 20 mins walk from the red light district.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear docmatt,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre as your base for a stag party.

I'm happy to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeattable location.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, whatever the occasion may be!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

would definitely recommend, great base to explore amsterdam with short walk to canals and trams leading down to museumplein and beyond. canal tours leave right outside the door. the beds were super comfy, rooms tidy and clean, and the noise levels bearable at night, but do request a room away from the trains and facing the canal. the best thing is they have an english channel on the tv!

super cheap and great value for money, free internet and bar downstairs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear snad1611 ,

Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you found our hotel to be "great" and that you had a good nights sleep in our Ibis Sweet Bed!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
go2sands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Book through Accord.com. We found the hotel to be in a good location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The view from our window was really good. The room was quite small and compact but it was safe and secure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear go2sands,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you booked through accor.com. You'll always have the best price guarantee on this website.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Right next to train station and ciity area so ideal for travellers so very popular!
Checkin was spoilt by rude staff concerning luggage storage. Guys someone should tell you even if its busy take time to be courteous. Room typical of Ibis brand and TV was not operating properly. It beats me why hotels have vinyl type floors that are noisy for rooms underneath? Breakfast basic but ok and restaurant is simple but good service. Lift had faulty light that was not fixed for the two days we were there. Free wifi was good. Overall ok for basic needs.

Rail to airport costs 4 Euros with a very frequent service, train stops directly under terminal.

Amsterdam is a crowded city to walk and be a rubber neck for the zillion bikes going everywhere flat out!

Room Tip: Try for top floor to avoid noise from above,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Journeyboomers ,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel.

You pointed out some points of improvement. We will address these problems with the responsible departments to prevent them from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback which is most valuable to us!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We wanted to be close to the centre and this was the only hotel available....but at nearly $400 CDN I had hoped for something a little nicer and at least an included breakfast. At any rate, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and it was close to the train station...but there's no darn way I would EVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Face the city as the rooms on the back are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Temptationgirl,

Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you were satisfied with the cleanliness, our location and the comfort of the Ibis Sweet Bed.

Prices in Amsterdam can indeed be high during certain periods. You stayed with us in October in which the city was very busy due to several events. This influences the prices of all hotels, including ours. Should you visit Amsterdam again, please check www.accorhotels.com for the best rate and special deals and offers. The sooner you book and the more flexible you are with the dates of your stay, the lower the price.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice rooms and location (right besides Amsterdam main train station). Even though close to city`s downtown, its a very nice place to stay. Late check out needed? No problem, they will charge you EUR10.00 per extra hour you stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with the channel view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guismarques,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ibis Amsterdam
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, Amsterdam 1012 AB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.