We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with Helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #101 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bodrum City, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location with Helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location directly next to Central Station. Fantastic if you have an early morning train to catch! Checkin at 10am was easy and fast. Even though they did not have a single room ready, they gave me a double immediately.
Room was modern, clean, with good bedding, small desk, wi-fi and bathroom. However two people staying in this room would find it too small and only a close couple traveling very light would be comfortable. Also the breakfast was meager and way overpriced. 16¤ for coffee, roll and jam! The coffee in the lobby was very pricey too.

Room Tip: Street side was noisy with taxis honking. Try the train station side for better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear BurgerHunter,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our staff to be helpful. It's always nice to receive such positive feedback!

I'm sorry to hear you found the breakfast overpriced, but please allow me to point out that our breakfast buffet has a lot more on offer than just coffee, rolls and jam. There's a wide variety of (also typically local) spreads, cheeses and assorted meats, different kinds of bread and hot items like egg, sausages and baked beans.

Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    1,247
    527
    90
    59
See reviews for
384
941
191
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We checked in last night for 2 nights. Travelled from Brussels via thalys train. It is located right at the right hand side from the main exist of the station. Abt 3 mins walk.
Ruben, the counter staff checked us in. He is really a helpful staff. Glad to meet such a nice smiling face after a long journey travel,especially that i was travel from london before. Londoners do not smile a lot and obviously not very friendly..
Room is small but functional. Just like many ibis hotels worldwide. Good for the value and location. But as compared to others ibis hotel that i used to stayed before. This one has the smallest toilet :)
From the hotel location. Walking distance to Dam Sqr and Red light district. It is also walking distance to many canal cruises which u might want to take.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Ultraman87,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our 'cute' rooms.

It's always nice to receive compliments of our staff. I will pass your kind words on to Ruben, he will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his smile and assistance!

Thank you again for posting your thoughts on here. We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, very clean, comfortable hotel with good breakfast and excellent staff. we requested to change our room which was done immediately despite of high occupancy. wash room was very clean, rooms were of good size and with good sound proofing...wifi was very fast. will definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear fuzon,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear everything met your expectations and that you experienced our staff to be excellent!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quick business trip in Amsterdam this made an ideal base next to the station. Staff were friendly and helpful. You have to remember this is big hotel with lots of people coming and going and great for a short trip. The WIFI was fast and the beds were comfortable. I didn't try the breakfast as after looking on the breakfast floor decided it was a bit chaotic and over priced at €16 but I'm sure it suits many people. There are plenty of places nearby. Bar staff were friendly and I would recommend for a short stay. They could use with an express card drop on check out if possible

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear davidjlawrence354,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's good to hear you found the Ibis Sweet Bed to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We will take your suggestion for an express card drop into consideration. We prefer to say goodbye in person and make sure that every single guest had a nice stay, but I can understand that for a business guest who's checking out early, an even faster system would be a good addition.

Thank you again for your feedback and we're looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came to Amsterdam from Newcastle on the Friday night and when we arrived the hotel is lovely and clean. Our room on 1st opinion was small but great as we where only staying two nights and we just needed a bed and bathroom. On both nights I slept like a baby as the bed was so comfy and most of us in our party agreed. The only down fall was I was woken up twice on the second night to the stairs door being slammed then somebody slamming there room door. We where at the end of the corridor in our room.I am a really heavy sleeper but to be woke up by that was scary especially when your in a different country. Hotel staffed where excellent but one of the bar members seemed to have an issue. Overall fantastic experience!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Michelle D,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you experienced our Ibis Sweet Bed to be the most comfortabel bed you've ever slept in! And a comfy bed is of course very important when sleeping in a hotel :-). It's also nice to hear the staff were excellent; I will pass your compliments on to them.

I'm sorry to hear you were woken twice by slamming doors. In October we experienced a heavy storm, incidently causing some draft in the corridors; maybe this caused the doors to close louder than normally. My apologies for the inconvenience.

You also pointed out that one of our bar members seemed to have an issue. This surprises me since the service in our bar normally is experienced to be very good. Please feel free to contact me directly (h1556-dm@accor.com) to provide me with some more details; that would only help us to improve our service at the bar.

Thank you again for your feedback. We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here with family earlier in the year and have to say fabulous location and all worries about train noise we unfounded. Ate in the small but helpful bar/restaurant and really enjoyed the atmosphere and the quality of the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nige011,

Thank you very much for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.