We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #107 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was reasonably priced and is right next to the train station. It's super easy to find. The trams are just feet from your door and they will take you to most of the tourists spots. Get to know how to use the trams instead of taking taxis...it is a great system. We were a little confused at first but once you get it, it's great.

The rooms are super small but very clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and cordial and the little restaurant is fine. Food isn't really a problem thought because you are super central...restaurants are everywhere and there is a grocery store across the street. Bike rentals are also next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear dscotlandrules,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the tram system in our beatiful city is very convenient. Probably less dangerous that riding a bike here as well :-).

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    1,324
    556
    103
    61
See reviews for
407
1,011
200
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years and really enjoyed myself. Clean cosy and comfortable in perfect central location rooms well sound proofed as next to the train station. Loved the breakfast and have to say staff excellent always there to answer questions . Thanks to hotel for a wonderful start to the new year :) x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Choinne,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself some time ago already. Luckily this doesn't make your comments less valuable :-). Our staff will be delighted to hear you had a good stay!

NYE is coming up shortly; we're looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Ibis Amsterdam Centre offers good value for money in a central location.

Getting there is an easy 30 mins from Schipol airport using the train. That costs 3.90 Euro using the ticket machine in the airport baggage collection area, and the trains run from platform 1 and 2). The ticket machine now has English instructions, so it's easy to use, just bring coins.

The hotel checking was both friendly and efficient.

The rooms are compact but clean and modern.

Bed is good, bathtoom tiny but functional. There is no cable or pay TV, so no English TV channels. Other than soap, there's no other niceties like moisturiser or tissues, but plenty of convenience stores within short walk.

The hotel is in a good location to everything.

I would recommend this hotel for tourists looking for reasonable tariffs and a good location in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Seyahbiz,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre and posting your review here.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the English tv channels I'm happy to inform you that we'll soon be changing providers, so we will be able to offer you more foreign channels besides the basic offered at the moment. You'll be able to enjoy television on the rare moments you're not exploring our wonderful city!

Thank you again for your kind words. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night as we had to get a train the next morning.
Price/quality is good.The rooms are small but clean and everything worked as it should in the room.
The beds or pillows were not very comfortable. The breakfast was good and with enough to choose from. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Furthermore the location is excellent.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5-th floor and had no noise from the trainstation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear argonfroes,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. It's especially good to hear that you experienced our staff to be friendly; I will pass your compliments on to them!

I'm sorry to hear you found the beds to be uncomfortable. The vast majority of our guest experience the Ibis Sweet Bed to be very comfortable. Of course, this is very personal and varies for each guest.

Thank you for your feedback which is most valuable to us.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i stayed at ibis center in amsterdam,the location of the hotel is excellent just next to metro/tram and bus services
one can take excursions from here
the hotel is quit rooms are clean and staff is friendly
my room was on the 9th floor.
two problem. one has to come down to ground floor if one wanted to have a cup of coffee or tea
my suggestion to the hotel will be to keep vending mechines on each floor and if not possible at on the 5th floor the floor of transtion
other to provide drinking water in the rooms
pay my thanks to staff for there cooperation and making my stay memorable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear jeetu44,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to make your stay memorable. They will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their service!

Thank you as well for your recommendations. Your feedback is most valuable to us. Regarding the drinking water I can inform you that the tap water in Amsterdam is perfectly drinkable and of an outstandig quality.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis for three nights over a long weekend. The room was clean, cosy and adequate. The shower and toilet area was very clean and supplied daily with fresh towels and soap. We had a triple room and my only minor complaint would be that it was a little cramped for three big chap, said that, we were very happy with the room. Breakfast was great value, plentiful and catering for both British and Continental tastes. All staff are friendly and helpful. Great transport links being a short walk from the train station and tram service. There is a secure luggage room which is very useful if your flight home is some time after checkout time. The Ibis is well located for accessing the wonderful night life and many daytime attractions. It is a short tram journey from museum square and the bustling rembrandtplein and leidseplein. Excellent access to the airport. I will definitely use this hotel again.
Thank you for a great stay - Uitstekend! Dankuwel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dinodoesstuff,

Thank you very much for your kind words and spot on review on tripadvisor!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful city. We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Graag gedaan!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.