We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 15% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #145 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Affordable, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner for a weekend break to Amsterdam in January. We wanted to get out and explore so wanted somewhere fairly cheap and in a good location, and this hotel ticked all the boxes.

It is a clean, well presented hotel. The rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. the bathrooms are also very spacious.

the buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and is of good quality.

It is located right next to the Amsterdam train station which is perfect. The trams to explore the city also stop right next to it.

If you're going to Amsterdam for a weekend away , this hotel is perfect for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Joe H,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful city, even in cold January.

We're looking forwards to welcoming you again in the future; when the sun is shining there's even more excitement right at our doorstep!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Amsterdam forms the first leg of my journey before I head off further to France. I have stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I choose it because I have to take an early train to catch my flight at Schipol Airport. It is centrally located in proximity to the Central Railway Station which even the first-timers would have no difficulty in locating: Depart from Schipol Airport in the direction of the Central Railway Station (which should take no more than 15 to 20 mins excluding waiting time). Upon exit of the Central Railway Station, the hotel is right on the same side (so DO NOT CROSS) which you will immediately see the sign.

Don't expect anything luxurious. In fact the hotel room is pretty small (even for three persons). The bathroom is clean (the stains in the shower area are acceptable by my standard).

The front desk staff are all warm and ready to help despite the queue at times. They are not only asset of the hotel (no wonder it is so popular according to my observation) but also serve as good ambassadors of the country. They have left me such a good impression of the friendliness of Amsterdam (and the contrast with my stay at St James & Albany Paris is stark (which is another story)!) .

With the price I have paid for the stay, there is simply nothing to complain.

Room Tip: Watch your floor. There are two separate lifts. They give access to different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Teresa W,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I'm especially happy to hear you considered our staff to be valuable assets and ambassadors, which they are :-). I will definitely pass your compliments on to them; they will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. For now, enjoy the rest of your trip through Europe!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed over the weekend, good location nxt to station and main street, on the downside lots of train noise and tiny bathrooms, nice and clean, good reception staff, telly difficult to work, just a 5 minute walk from damrak which is the main street leading to everywhere else

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattcallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear mattcallis,

Thank you very much for your review op Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location, cleanliness and the service from our reception staff.

I'm sorry to hear you experienced some noise from the trains. Our rooms are usually experienced to be very good soundproofed. Should there be something wrong with the soundproofing you're always invited to contact our reception staff who are able to solve a possible technical problem within 15 minutes.

Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very close to everything, staff extremely helpful. Proximity to station was a bonus, and area was safe. Lots of shops, cafes and restaurants close by (Haarlemstreet). Would recommend for short stay. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but only used for sleeping so we managed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank merkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear merkah,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation.

Good to hear everything met your expectations and that our staff could be of assistance to you!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in our beautiful city,

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The rooms are small...but well maintained and clean. The best part of the hotel is the location, we had a train to catch in the morning to Paris and it took us a 5 minute walk to reach the platform.
Most of the things are self service, coming from Asia this is not something we are very much used to.

Room Tip: If you have hectic travel plans to and fro from Amsterdam, I would recommend this hotel purely for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaurishN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SaurishN,

Thank you very much for your review.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of our hotel.

Self service is indeed not what you'd expect in Singapore, but quite common in Europe for certain services. Hopefully the assistance of our dedicated staff met your expectations!

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located next to Central Station, it's convenient for travelling all over Amsterdam. The Trams are just around the corner.
The staff are very friendly and they do a great buffet breakfast. The rooms are small but are fine for a few days.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the rear, you see lots of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ian D,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff is looking forward to welcoming you again the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#128 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#192 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#112 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing