We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great and convenent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great and convenent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located next to Central Station, it's convenient for travelling all over Amsterdam. The Trams are just around the corner.
The staff are very friendly and they do a great buffet breakfast. The rooms are small but are fine for a few days.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the rear, you see lots of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ian D,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our staff is looking forward to welcoming you again the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    1,331
    562
    104
    62
See reviews for
408
1,016
202
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall experience was comfortable, however, I only stayed for 2 nights which I think is long enough. Room wasnt big at all, bathroom was also very small, however, everything was clean and acceptable. Reception were very friendly and helpful which is always a bonus! Would recommend for a short weekend stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Spo2013,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation!

Our reception staff will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their service.

Hopefully we can welcome you again for a short city break.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was recently renovated and is even better than before. The rooms are not large, but have big windows with either a view of the city or the river behind the hotel, both good views. The rooms are incredibly quiet and the beds very comfortable. In the lobby they have snacks and drinks available 24/7 which you can pay for with cash or charge to your room, plus there are vending machines inside the hotel as well. Very convenient. The location is great for Amsterdam, you can walk, tram, or bike anywhere easily. My only complaint is the free WiFi was a bit slow.

Room Tip: We prefer the Tulip tower - floors 5-9 - higher up for a more expansive view of the city or the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear JeanneClaude,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's also good to hear you found the Ibis Sweet Bed to be comfortable.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Thank goodness we only had one night in this hotel. The room had just enough room for a bed. There was barely room for our luggage, As we were leaving on a cruise after having toured the Netherlands for a week, we had full suitcases to accommodate our travel which made the room even more tight.
We ate at the restaurant, as we were both tired. The food was plentiful but quite unremarkable, especially for Amsterdam. Theo, working the front desk was very professional and helpful. The service in the restaurant was overall good. The big advantage to the Ibis is its location in the Central Station area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear gladys_j68,

Thank you very much for your review.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed the service from Theo and our restaurant staff. It's also good to hear that our central location was convenient for you.

Concerning the size of our rooms: we like to refer to them as 'cute'. In Amsterdam, the roomsize is usually smaller than in the states for example. But with so much to do literally at your doorstep, you don't want to spend too much time in the room anyway. Hopefully our Ibis Sweet Bed offered you the comfort needed during your short stay here.

Thank you again for posting your thoughts on here and hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Situated right next door to Amsterdam Centraal station giving great access to the metro and all the main trams which stop outside. Only a 10 minute train journey to/from Schiphol airport (Around 4 euros each one way) Only a 5-10 minute walk to the main centre area such as Dam square so you can easily return to the hotel to drop off souvenirs etc.

Checked in as soon as we arrived (around 11am) Very polite and helpful staff. Perfect english speaking. Room service available aswell.
The room was very clean and surprisingly quiet, probably due to requesting a room the opposite side to the train station with the travel agent, which i would recommend. An in-room safe was a bonus and free wi-fi was very useful.

The bathroom - The walk in shower is pretty big, taking up half of the bathroom which was a good start. However Im pretty tall (6'2) and the toilet was wedged between the wall and sink so Hobbits would've struggled to go to the bathroom comfortably. Adequate for a 3 night stay though.

Overall this hotel made the trip extremely easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room the oposite side to the train station as thats where ours was and it was surpri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Rossatron68,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre for your city trip.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and location met your expectations.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ibis for several nights and were generally pleased with the experience.

We arrived via train - Eurostar from London, changing in Brussels. The hotel is located directly adjacent to the train station which made it very easy to get out of the station and to the hotel with no taxi required.

The hotel is clean and our room was very clean. We had a nice view over the water and the train station. I was a bit concerned that it would be noisy given it's proximity to the train station, but was pleasantly surprised - the rooms are very quiet. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and efficiently laid out, and the wifi worked without any problems. We did not partake of the breakfast but opted to grab breakfast stuff from a few of the places in the train station.

Because of its proximity to the train station, you're also at the nexus of the rest of the public transportation system. With a multi-day tram ticket you're set to be able to get to anywhere within Amsterdam very efficiently. We also opted to take one of the cruises of the canals - again, almost all of them start at the train station.

In summary, if charm is the most important thing to you, go elsewhere. But if you don't mind giving up a little charm for a very clean, efficient and conveniently located property at a reasonable price, then Ibis Amsterdam Centre is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Billb303,

Thank you for your extensive review on tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our unbeattable location suited your needs when exploring our beautifull city.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.