We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location if in Amsterdam for 1 or 2 days.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #104 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Location if in Amsterdam for 1 or 2 days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is literally right next to Amsterdam Centraal Station. We walked right into it after arriving in this beautiful city from London. The hotel and our room were very clean; the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom space was a decent size, with good water pressure in the shower. There is no noise whatsoever from the trains coming in and out of Centraal station. Breakfast is not included, and it is a bit pricey, but there are plenty of restaurants in the area or right at the train station, where you can enjoy a cheap breakfast. Public transportation is within a couple of steps from the hotel. If you prefer walking, the distances to the touristic places are within a few minutes walking distance. In front of the hotel you can rent a bike or take a canal cruise if you wish. The price of the hotel is not cheap, but average compared to others in the same category. Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it , especially if staying in this city for a day or two and planing to take an early train the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    1,264
    534
    94
    60
See reviews for
390
955
193
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had the miss fortune of staying at this hotel while on business at a large exhibition at the RAI. The hotel is very low budget, check-in was slow, the receptionist serving another guest explained about the 'business centre' - 2 pc you can use for mins free and offered the guest an ACCORD loyalty card - which if you took out that day you would get a 'free' drink in the bar - i didnt get any of this information. I was given my room - 504 - lifts require your room card to activate, my card didnt work, so a maintenance chap helped me as i was standing with case, & handbag. On arrival at room, opened door to a very SMALL room with 2 single beds - positioned in an 'L' shape so no chance of pushing together anyway not enough room, small beds, cheap furniture and open wardbrobe - did have a safe. No tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was VERY small. View from the bedroom was bedrooms opposite and platform below. Noise from the trains is ongoing. My room had a connecting door to the next room so I felt uncomfortable at times. I asked a the reception about the PC's and was told I could use them, also asked about the ACCORD card and was told I could apply for one but the ;free drink' wasnt offered to me! Breakfast room on the 1st floor is long section of booths/table and free standing tables, very canteenish and self-clearing. Food was ok, eat as much as you want buffet with hot foods/cereal/breads etc.
Main concern, i was in the room one afternoon and there was knock at the door and the rustling of keys so the person was coming in, i opened the door to i can only assume it was housekeeping staff who asked if i was happy with the room! I would this a bit odd. There is a snack-bar in reception where you can buy sandwiches/crisps/bottle beer & wine. Outside is always cluttered with bikes and opposite is a large bike-park.
Plus point, the tram to the RAI starts at the Central station which is a cpl of mins walk but will take about 20 mins. Wouldnt stay there again just too low budget but im sure for travellers or students will find it adequate

Room Tip: ask for a refurished room - 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Be careful booking online as the system can create multiple bookings if you let someone else book at the same time. We found that the IBIS then will delete these bookings even the correct ones. Found the staff generally rude and unhelpful. Be prepared for the typical IBIS mini bathroom and no fridge. Air conditioning was pathetic and barely worked. Room service is iffy, as sometimes don't service the room, however the rooms are clean and comfortable if small. Great location at Central Station and with trams and subway there as well as tourist info office. Easy walk to Dam Sq and other sites. Huge bike parking area at the front of the hotel and walking to the Station could mean having to weave past some bikes. comfortable big beds, but the mattress is bigger than the base so watch when you sit on the edge of the bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side look toward the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna,NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Amsterdam Center before our cruise for one night and enjoyed it very much. The room was comfortable and the pricing low. There was no noise from the train station adjacent to the hotel. We took the train from the airport to central Amsterdam and walked next door to the Ibis with our luggage. There were many restaurants nearby where we ate dinner and breakfast the next day. The location can't be beat as most of the tours both by boat and bus start less than a block from the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We got one without even asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beyond the budget hotel stigma IBIS obtains.

If you wish to go to Amsterdam and partake in the coffeeshop culture, ask for a smoking room otherwise a non-smoking room is just fine.

If you’re staying on the top five floors you’ll need to change the life at level five & word of advice, the vending machine here will give you a lot of grief.

The rooms don’t have bar fridges however the staff are extremely friendly and will place items in the staff fridge is you request.

Great value for money! Location is second to none and service is beyond the budget status that comes with IBIS.

We’ll be staying here for our next Holland trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Others have adequately commented on this hotel. Spotlessly clean, in great position next to Central Station and Tramway Terminus. It is surrounded by largest cycle storagepark in Europe, has a good bar, and some rooms over platform in station but with good double glazing this is not an issue. It provided a central base for our 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Only downside is that IBIS seem to now be using a topper foam matress on beds and these are not very supportive. Still have a sore back 7 days on. Other than that a good stay. We did not use restaurant. Being at heart of tramway system it is esy to get about and 3 day ticket for 16 Euros each bought at Information office at far side of station square provided us with cost effective transport to all the museums etc. Map from hotel indicates which tram to catch and where to get off. Hotel is also well connected for Canal Cruises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.