We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, Amsterdam 1012 AB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Weekend Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is ideally situated for the Central Railway station and as all trams terminate and depart from here it was absolutely ideal for our purposes. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the bedroom was a touch on the small side it was always very clean. For a budget hotel we definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    1,029
    448
    79
    45
See reviews for
308
768
170
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice hotel, right beside central station so great for the airport and transport links to anywhere in Amsterdam. Rooms are small but perfectly functional (with safety box too). If you staying here between flights consider leaving your main luggage in the lockers at the airport to avoid having to carry it around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in the second weekend of December and although the hotel is in a very good central location (very near to Amsterdam central station) the quality of the hotel is basic, the rooms are too little and poorly cleaned. There are better hotels available than this, in Amsterdam, for better price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

£100 per night for a modern, cosmopolitan city centre hotel room is reasonable nowadays, but jeez the prices of the add-ons! As with all continental hotels there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms, but having just 1 coffee machine in the lobby charging €2.50 for an egg-cupful of Espresso is a robbery. Then, in theory, a further €2.50 for hot water to make the coffee 'long' comes in at a fiver.

Walking downstairs at 10am, still half-mashed from the previous night's debauchery, dressed only in a t-shirt, jeans and barefoot, to carry 2 scalding paper cups at a TENNER back up 7 floors and a loooong walk is crazy.

That night in the bar, a single Brandy and a single Baileys as a nightcap- £15?!

Anyone would think that half the guests in this hotel were using recreational drugs to dull the pain of these prices, but of course, I'm sure that never goes on. . . . .

Good part- unlimited buffet breakfast for stoners from 4am until 12 noon! We had two, one when we came back from town and one when we woke up!!

Room Tip: elevator noise is significant in certain rooms, and this is a place where people wander back LATE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

At first, I was a bit hesitant on staying here because of the location being right next door to Centraal Station. But, it turned out to be great and so convienent! I was lucky to be given a spacious room as soon as I checked in (early in the morning) with one of the best views of a city I have ever have. I found the beds to be comfortable. The breakfast was alot to choose from and served from early morning until almost noon! Suprisingly I did not hear and noise coming from the train station. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front desk on our arrival even gave us a recommendation for getting a cheap sandwich at the train station (rather than buying an overpriced meal at the hotel). There was one staff member at check out at 4 am who was worth avoiding.
All in all, it was a good stay here and I would return to this location if I return to Amsterdam. The only complaint that I have is that the room floors were not as clean as I would have liked. Bring light slippers or cheap flip flops if you go.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had to wait 10 - 15 minues every time at front desk; to check in, when my room card stopped working, to ask a question. I did want to use WiFi but couldn't be bothered queueing once again so just left it. You need more staff on the front desk, or make the process faster to check in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very good location, complete breakfast, room size, noise insulation and free internet connection were the positive points. Staff was friendly.
On the other hand, some towels were stained and their cleanliness could be better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ibis Amsterdam
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB, Amsterdam 1012 AB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.