We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heemskerk Suites- Adults only to your Saves list
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Preston UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A most excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been visiting Amsterdam for more than twenty years and have always used hotels. As there were four of us this time we decided to try two apartments.
This was a really good choice.mthe apartments are he best we have experienced anywhere. A really good situation in the Old South. The neighbourhood feel means we went to plenty of bars and restaurants in the area we wouldn't normally have stumbled upon. the Cafe Welling right across the street was convenient and welcoming. Well situated for the museums and trams into the city.
The apartments themselves are really comfortable, well designed and equipped to the highest standard. We had the Air apartment and used the balcony overlooking a quiet garden to drink the complimentary Prosecco left in the room.
Norman,the owner is always around for a chat and to give any assistance you need. He does a great job.
If you are looking for apartments then look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Suites are located close to the Museumplein. Numerous trams and buses connect at this location although Amsterdam is small enough that most sites are within easy walking distance. Bus 197 can take you direct from Schiphol Airport to within a hundred meters of the Suites. This bus goes about every 15 minutes and you can pay on board. Norman was very helpful and informative of the surrounding area. The kitchen was well supplied with plates and cutlery.My wife and I would definitely stay at the Heemskerk Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GerhardH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The appartment is comfortable, fully equipped, all dishes look new, everything is clean. The location is great if you like music the concert all is next to the appartment, all the museums are few minutes walking. Tram stop is near bye even a taxi station is next to the appartment. In summary one of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doritktz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The suites are very well located, highly convenient for the three main museums and of course the concert hall. They are well furnished with all your will need for a short stay. Everything is very clean and Norman is very helpful. A supermarket is just around the corner for all your food requirements. Beware there is an extra charge of 50 euro for cleaning after your stay plus a local tax. Overall a little expensive but probably worth it for the extra room.
If travelling from the airport, look for the bus 197, it takes you to Museumplien, next to the concert hall for just 5 euro in about 30 minutes. I would recommend this to other travellers and would be happy to go back myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 526TMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here from 28 April to 2 May. The location is superb. Within walking distance to the tram, Rijksmuseum, VanGogh museum. Excellent restaurants nearby and a supermarket and ATM within one block. The apartment (Fire room) had a wonderfully comfortable king bed in a bedroom that had its own bathroom. The living room/kitchen was spacious and had a sofa bed. It is clear that Norman and Sonya put their heart into remodeling this hotel and they are very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. The room had normal hotel amenities: hairdryer, toiletries, towels. But also a full sized refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher, and kitchen table with 4 chairs. Wireless internet was fast and flawless. Norman has VOIP telephone in the room, so you can make calls to your home country free of charge. There was an ironing board, iron, washer, dryer just outside the room. There is a taxi stand just around the corner!
Initially I was going to book at Andaz or a chain hotel more close to the city center. I am so glad that we did not. We avoided the crowds and noise but were within minutes of any part of the city center.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We liked the Fire room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I couldn't have chosen a better apartment than Heemskerk Suites for our stay in Amsterdam. The location was ideal. It was an easy bus trip from the airport to the apartment, steps away from the Concertgebouw, and a few minutes walk to the art museums. We had access to the city because city transportation stops were nearby. But perhaps the best part of our stay at Heemskerk Suites was the helpfulness and generosity of Norman and Sonia. They made our trip perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had an amazing time. To me this place is a cross between a luxury hotel and a bed and breakfast - you get the amenities and privacy you expect in a hotel, but the personal attention of a bed and breakfast. For us, it was perfect. Norman was extremely helpful and always available (even when he warned us ahead of time that he would not be). He handled all aspects of our stay from check in, key difficulties, shower controls, restaurant recommendations, taxis to check out himself. We never dealt with any lines or forms.
The location of the hotel is great. You can easily walk to the major musuems and to a wide variety of restaurants. There is a taxi stand right outside the door and a grocery store within walking distance. Each suite has a full bathroom and an incredibly tiny second toilet. A nice convenience. The kitchens are fully stocked and there were welcoming snacks. Bath amenities were also provided.
Just a great place to stay. Thanks Norman!

Room Tip: All rooms require navigating at least one flight of stairs. The courtyard rooms (1 and 3) were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92JeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,996 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing