We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful Amsterdam retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heemskerk Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heemskerk Suites to your Saves list
Heemskerk Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NHeemskerk Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ware
1 review
“a delightful Amsterdam retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely apartment with very helpful host. A home from home with a quirky luxurious feel. We really enjoyed the stylish décor and comfort level. The stairs are a killer so request a lower floor if you have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
33
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is just an excellent place to stay. We got a bus from the airport (5 Euros instead of a taxi 45 Euros). The bus stop is about 100 metres from the front door. The Concertgebouw is 50 metres away, Stedelijk Museum 150 and Rijksmuseum about 350. The neighbourhood is very much "up market" and was quite quiet at night.
We were given a wonderfully warm welcome by Sonia and Norman, the owners. When we arrived Norman spent about 20 minutes taking us through all the local information (places of interest, restaurants, organic market, local supermarket, transportation etc.) as well as the way the apartments work. This was really helpful and meant that we were able use the apartment as our own thereafter.
We had chosen a "Fire" apartment for two people. It was lovely. Smartly-decorated, bright, clean and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable and the bath enormous. There were fresh flowers too.The kitchen area was capable of being used to prepare meals but we just used it for breakfasts.
We normally choose hotels when we travel so an apartment was a bit of a change. Nevertheless, Heemskerk was excellent and up to the very highest standards. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay and Norman was the best host ever! We requested if he could arrange a Valentine surprise and he turned the room into a a romantic place with roses and rosepetals and a great breakfast! Thanks again!!
But please note that when less than 3 nights are booked an additional fee has to be paid!! This is not mentioned clearly on Tripadvisor and makes booking for just one night quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I visited Amsterdam in order to attend a Concertgebouw concert. This hotel is ideal for concerts as well as art museums. It was very clean, comfortable and sunny. I would highly recommend this hotel. Norman Heemskerk was very helpful in suggesting excellent restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The apartment was roomy and beautifully furnished with all amenities anyone could want, including new modern kitchen appliances. The location is perfect for museum goers and concert attendees. Public transportation and a supermarket are a block away. We were greeted warmly by Norman who was very generous in giving us information about sites to visit and use of public transportation. It was comforting to know that He was available at any time. We would heartily recommend this charming apartment to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

These luxurious themed apartments are fabulous. My boyfriend & I stayed in the Air room for 5 days and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and spacious with perfect facilities. If you would like do some cooking for yourself then the room is equipped with a state of the art kitchen. The bathroom was huge and the best shower I've ever experienced. These apartments exceeded our expectations. The owner (Norman) was delightful, offering up advice and direction to us when we failed locate certain attractions and services. The location of the apartment was perfect and quiet, situated in a lovely suburb in the museum district. If we were to return to Amsterdam we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. You won't be disappointed; quality, location or price-wise.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a lovely, clean, well maintained and superbly located place to stay. Within walking distance of many museums and other tourist attractions. The apartment is very spacious and modern with all the necessities and more. The welcome basket was a nice touch. Norman and Sonia are very accommodating and provided great advice on where to go, what to see and do in a short visit. This was worth every euro. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heemskerk Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NHeemskerk Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heemskerk Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heemskerk Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.