We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, ideal location, spacious and light.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heemskerk Suites

Save Saved
You added Heemskerk Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NHeemskerk Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
“Clean, ideal location, spacious and light.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a great place to stay, especially if you love museums, classical music and shopping. Outside the hubbub of central Amsterdam, a place for adults. The cleanest place I have stayed in Europe. Good amenities nearby. Flat has all you need-kitchen, TVs, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
26
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorheesville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This light-filled and stylishly decorated flat was next door to the Concertgebouw and within 5-8 minutes walk from the Rijks, Van Gogh, and Stedelijk Museums, as well as across the street from a modern supermarket. A lovely balcony looked out onto a quiet garden courtyard. The appliances were high-end, with a large refrigerator as well as a dishwasher, the bed excellent, and the managers helpful and friendly. The neighborhood is lovely with upscale shops and restaurants and many trolley lines at your door. It is up one flight of stairs, but the manager carried our luggage up at the beginning and down at the end of our stay. We stayed a week and would definitely stay again on a return to Amsterdam. Absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: This unit (Air) is good for two people, and there is a washer and dryer in the hall on the same floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This small hotel is very much a reflection of its owner, Norman. My wife and I and another couple spent three nights there in late September. Located just behind the concert hall in the museum district, it is convenient, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Clearly set up for one to cook, we ate out except for breakfast. Or room (Water) was on the third floor, so anyone doesn't do stairs should look elsewhere. The other couple stayed on the second floor, and their suite was just as nice and well-equipped as ours. Do spend time talking with Norman, as he is a font of information about what to see and do, as well as being very engaging.
Added bonus...Norman's custodian who had prepared our room, left two towels with ribbons shaped into swans sitting on our bed. Definitely, a first time ever experience.
I checked very good rather than excellent for "Value" because I believe the price reflects the complete in suite cooking option, something we did not use, but obviously paid for. Not a criticism, just a comment.

Room Tip: Choose one that looks out onto the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the Heemskerk Suites! The owner, Norman, and his friends immediately welcomed us at the door and gave us a little tour of our apartment. Norman even left us with some Prosecco and some yummy local cookies.

We stayed in the Earth Suite. From the moment we arrived, we noticed how pristine the place was. Everything was so clean! The decoration was modern and the Earth theme was very charming and serene.

There were two bathrooms, one with an amazing rainfall shower. They provided us with a hairdryer and designer bath products, along with towels and robes.
The huge bed was so comfortable and perfect for two. The bedroom also had a huge closet, which perfectly accommodated our week’s worth of clothing and suitcases.
The apartment was also very quiet and we were not disturbed once.

Not only did the apartment provide everything one could possibly need on vacation, it was also situated in the perfect location. Right in the Museum Quarter, the apartment is next door to the Concertboew. Across the street is the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum, and Stedejik Museum. The bus and tram stop are also right in front of the apartment, and if one doesn’t like public transportation, there is a taxi stop a few steps from the door. The De Pijp neighborhood is also a five minutes walk down the main street, which has a bunch of hip breakfast cafes and stylish dinner spots and bars.

Norman was such a wonderful host. He was so friendly and was there if you needed anything or wanted a suggestion on dinner or nightlife. We could not have asked for more and we can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great , pristine apartment, with excellent attention to detail made, for having a relaxing stay. If wanting to self cater all the utensils, crockery, saucepans etc scrupulously clean, plus a supermarket is only a couple of minutes walk and is ideal for buying in breakfast and other provisions.
The apartment is ideally situated for museums and restaurants on foot, or close to tram stops if wanting to go into the centre of Amsterdam.
In all an ideal base, in area that is quiet yet only a couple of minutes from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed for attending medical conference held at RAI. The room was very attached to me because tram line straight from central station to RAI was always crowded through the meeting days but #12 tram was not so crowded and needed shorter time. For evening dinner meeting, I could drop my luggage and change clothes at the room and went back to central area.

Supermarket is just near across the street and walk a half block. souvenirs are available at the store and you can pack at the room with in one luggage.

Finally, the reason I selected the room was to stay just near the world class musical center Het Concertgebouw. I did not have any reservation for concert because conference schedule was not determined yet, I could enjoy two serial night concert buying ticket at neighborhood box office including Royal concertogebouw orchestra!

I hope I will stay again with my family in future vacation time.
I thank Norman and Thom to touch me with kind hospitality.

Room Tip: court sided room was quiet and had good view of beautiful building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Heemskerk is the ideal place to stay in Amsterdam if you want to be near the museum and art district. 5 minutes from the Rijsk and van Gogh museums, it was a warm and comfortable suite. The amenities were top of the line,and the beds wonderfully comfortable. Tom,our manager,was helpful and very nice. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heemskerk Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NHeemskerk Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heemskerk Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heemskerk Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.