We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t expect to much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Save Saved
You added Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 42-43, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bielefeld
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don´t expect to much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Don´t expect to much, it´s a place to sleep....not more! Most things are in a bad condition, dirty carpets and breakfast is very basic. 20 EUR deposite for the remote control. Located right in the center, close to the main station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    121
    77
    176
See reviews for
36
128
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here and the truth is I really like it. It's in a great location - just a few minutes level walk from the train station - so access is easy. All tourist attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel itself represents good value for money I feel. It's a bit dated, but is comfortable and well equipped. The rooms have a key safe and there's free WiFi on the ground floor. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful - the always had a smile. I'd definitely be happy to stay here a third time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeje, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed in some hotels, and this has to be one of the worst!

Firstly a 30€ deposit was required at check in which I wasn't aware of when I booked the hotel, and we witnessed on checkin a group of girls fighting to get their 30€ deposit back.

Supposedly a 3 star I would give it 1.

Greeted by a lift with no door- yes you see the concrete as you move between floors and the lovely graffitied picture within the lift of peoples previous experiences at the Delta, should of set my alarm bells ringing. (I wish I had taken a photo).

The corridors smelt of a strong odor of marijuana where people were obviously smoking joints in their rooms, amidst the banging and other people loudly shouting and knocking on their freinds doors...

Our first morning we were greeted with the fire alarm going off at around 7:30am and were told that it was a false alarm and to stay in our rooms! Their were bars over our window so god forbid - if their was a fire we wouldn't of been able to escape!

Breakfast was poor, toast and a few dried out cooked meats that had obviously been put out a few days before served along side some cereal and coffee.

Shame- if this place had a bit of investment then it could be a fantastic 3 or 4 star hotel.

My tip - "AVOID"

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived amsterdam at late evening without booking any hotel room there. Walk in to the hotel and asked for the rate and viewed the room, we agreed to stay for two nights with reasonable price being it close to all the attractions and shopping places.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got the room 440 where the view is Damrak street. Room size is quite big for my family of three. Old hotel decoration but the bathroom is quite big with bathtub.

The only problem faced by us was the shower head cannot be pulled out and the water heater didn't work the second morning we were there.

If you are looking for a hotel with great location (few minutes to central station and other famous attractions in amsterdam) and wouldn't mind about small things for hotel room, then this is the place for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

GOOD-
The hotel is in PERFECT location, a few minutes from central station, a few minutes to the top attractions, a few minutes from the red light district, a few minutes from everything you want to see when visiting Amsterdam.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. We had a few issues which they were happy and efficient in helping us resolve.
You had to hand your 'key card' for your room back in at reception when leaving the hotel which we found was a safe things to do so there was no risk in losing it (as you only got given one card)
The heating in the room worked well, a little to warm as we woke up one of the nights we were there sweating
BAD
The window of our room was single pane where the wood was rotting around it. Also the street noise of a night time with it being in such a lively location was heard when trying to sleep etc.
We asked for a triple room, we practically got a double with a random other single bed stuck in it.
The room was carpeted. This was covered in dark sticky stains so id advise to not take your shoes off, take slipper/socks to walk around your room in.
The safe in our room didn't work :/ so we had to take it upon us to lock our personal and valuable belonging into our cases with a padlock.
The breakfast in the room consisted of, bread to toast, ham, cheese, cornflakes, and a choice of juice!

You get what you pay for. This hotel suited us when we went as we didn't spend a lot of time in it, just to sleep and then getting ready and that is it.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here! If you are wanting a good nights sleep ask for a room not at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Absolutely disgusting hotel. I've stayed here twice, once in 2008, once in 2012.

2008 wasn't too bad, by no means great - the room we were given had a window that wouldn't shut on the first floor with easy access if somebody climbed onto the canopy above the restaurant. We dared not leave any valuables in the room under any circumstances. Shower head was broken so water sprayed all over WC whenever showering and when 3 people are sharing a room that becomes an issue! Overall would give that stay 2/5 stars.

2013 stay was the worst joke of a stay known to man. We only returned because of the location and price but it was a huge mistake. The room given to 3 of us this time was half the size of the room given in our previous stay. The carpets were burned and filthy. The bathroom had mould everywhere, the shower curtain was disgusting and there were bugs all over the bathroom. The bedsheets clearly hadn't been changed since the previous occupier and the hotel refused to change them insisting they were clean. The worst was to come, whilst in the room one evening TWO MICE appeared from near the walls somewhere and were happily scurrying around our bedroom whilst we were all in utter shock. Once they disappeared, you could hear them scurrying above the roof tiles, in the walls and everywhere. We reported this to reception and they weren't fussed at all. They said there wasn't anything they could do and that as it's part of an old terrace block, mice were infesting all the buildings in the block. They refused to move us, refused to refund our money and this is certainly the last time I will ever go there. What an absolute joke of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Damrak 42-43, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel Amsterdam
Delta Amsterdam
Delta Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;