We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location bad facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Damrak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Damrak to your Saves list
Hotel Damrak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 49, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location bad facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The reality about this hotel is that it was reaallly expensive for the comodities they offer...while i was waiting to be notice that there was no room left in the hotel, a waittress came in and told the reception guy that she called the police yesterday night because there was a man pushing a woman down the stairs so that was my first impression and fortunately the last one

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    23
    9
    48
See reviews for
5
23
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed in hotel Damrak with my boyfriend and we had a wonderful time. Our room was cosy, with big beautiful windows that opened out onto the street. The location was ideal, a 5 minute walk from bars, restaurants, the Red light district and public transport.
Overall a great stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Was dreading our stay here after seeing the reviews - but it seems to have been vastly improved from old ratings.

The general areas of hotel need a good clean but the rooms are decent in themselves and the bedding is okay too. Each room has a safe which is a bonus.

Not bad really - not the Ritz but for Amsterdam it's not an expensive place. Good location too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We checked in and walked straight back out again, couldn't even face staying there. The room was dirty, there was a smell of urine and there were stains on the bed sheets and walls. There was rat traps under our beds. Please stay away!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Good Points:
Location

Bad Points:
Incredibly noisy
Dark & Dingy
No Breakfast
Narrow endless stairs, no lift
Unwelcoming
Over priced
Cramped

Did I mention it was noisy? All the rooms and stairs have wooden floors. People were coming and going all night and each time it was like a herd of wildebeest in tap shoes stampeding through the room. Unbelievable!

Room Tip: There's plenty of good quality hotels in Amsterdam. If you want a good night's sleep choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I booked a last minute trip to amsterdam with my wife and wanted a cheap clean hotel in a good location.

To be fair its ain a great location, but thats where it ends.

It is a pit that needs to be totally refurbished. We had the room behind reception that actually had the stair case in so as with most places in Amsterdam hotels there are loads of people at all hours of the night coming and going. Complained and they just basically said tough so I checked out and stayed in one about 50 meters down the road which was much better.

The room was tatty, cramped dirty and in disrepair, I think I would rather recommend a bench in one of the squares rather than this place,
stay here at your peril!!!

Room Tip: A park bench in Rembrandt square would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uknown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed there for two nights, what a nightmare, dirty dark place, endless stairs, tight rooms, actually tight everything, we were actually without power for several hours the second day of our stay, so no shower because the water was cold, didn't shave either cuz it was dark. This hotel is a perfect place for rottens and nothing else. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: if you still going there stay away from room 101, believe me i know
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Damrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Damrak

Address: Damrak 49, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Damrak 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Damrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damrak Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Damrak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.