We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location bad facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Damrak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Damrak to your Saves list
Hotel Damrak
Damrak 49, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location bad facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The reality about this hotel is that it was reaallly expensive for the comodities they offer...while i was waiting to be notice that there was no room left in the hotel, a waittress came in and told the reception guy that she called the police yesterday night because there was a man pushing a woman down the stairs so that was my first impression and fortunately the last one

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charly_jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in hotel Damrak with my boyfriend and we had a wonderful time. Our room was cosy, with big beautiful windows that opened out onto the street. The location was ideal, a 5 minute walk from bars, restaurants, the Red light district and public transport.
Overall a great stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Was dreading our stay here after seeing the reviews - but it seems to have been vastly improved from old ratings.

The general areas of hotel need a good clean but the rooms are decent in themselves and the bedding is okay too. Each room has a safe which is a bonus.

Not bad really - not the Ritz but for Amsterdam it's not an expensive place. Good location too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redstarcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We checked in and walked straight back out again, couldn't even face staying there. The room was dirty, there was a smell of urine and there were stains on the bed sheets and walls. There was rat traps under our beds. Please stay away!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kickn_it_sidwayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Good Points:
Location

Bad Points:
Incredibly noisy
Dark & Dingy
No Breakfast
Narrow endless stairs, no lift
Unwelcoming
Over priced
Cramped

Did I mention it was noisy? All the rooms and stairs have wooden floors. People were coming and going all night and each time it was like a herd of wildebeest in tap shoes stampeding through the room. Unbelievable!

Room Tip: There's plenty of good quality hotels in Amsterdam. If you want a good night's sleep choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I booked a last minute trip to amsterdam with my wife and wanted a cheap clean hotel in a good location.

To be fair its ain a great location, but thats where it ends.

It is a pit that needs to be totally refurbished. We had the room behind reception that actually had the stair case in so as with most places in Amsterdam hotels there are loads of people at all hours of the night coming and going. Complained and they just basically said tough so I checked out and stayed in one about 50 meters down the road which was much better.

The room was tatty, cramped dirty and in disrepair, I think I would rather recommend a bench in one of the squares rather than this place,
stay here at your peril!!!

Room Tip: A park bench in Rembrandt square would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SennamanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uknown
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed there for two nights, what a nightmare, dirty dark place, endless stairs, tight rooms, actually tight everything, we were actually without power for several hours the second day of our stay, so no shower because the water was cold, didn't shave either cuz it was dark. This hotel is a perfect place for rottens and nothing else. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: if you still going there stay away from room 101, believe me i know
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myself00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#60 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#165 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#190 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Damrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Damrak

Address: Damrak 49, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Damrak Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing