We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For us it was just an average hotel of middle- class” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For us it was just an average hotel of middle- class”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay is many years ago, when it still was a Best- Western Hotel, so it is very likely that some bigger changes have been made already and there has been some bigger refurbishment or renovation in the meantime.
For us the location of the hotel was very good and very central in the heart of the city. Every point of interest could be reached quickly, convenient and easily. The hotel itself was a very average middle-class hotel for us. The rooms were quite small and looked quite old and worn already, especially the furniture. There was a minimum of amenities available. The staff was busy all time, as the hotel experienced a very busy time with a very high occupancy.
They all tried to assist us,however, as good as possible, but provided a minimum standard
only in communication, help and assistance during our stay.
All the furniture, the amenities, the interior etc. was kept on a minimum for a middle-class hotel at that time. But all the most important things for a daily traveller were available or accessible upon request and a very minimum of comfort was provided in the rooms and in the hotel, but not really more than that. For us it was a very simple and average middle- class hotel in the three star sector, which provided an accomodation for one or two nights and so we could do a lot of walking and sightseeing in the whole city, due to the very central location and due to the fact that we had a place where to stay and sleep.
All the amenities, the interior, the facilities, the eqipment of the rooms etc. it was all kept on a very simple and minimum level. The front-desk staff, the housekeeping etc. were so busy that there was to time or possibility for a short converstaion or to really request our wishes or needs.
All the communication with all the staff was kept on a very minimum, because it was peak season for travel and the occupancy was very high and guests from all over the world were checking-in and out all the time. The cleaniness was okay, but it was also kept on an absolute minimum. There definitey was one hair in my bed at that time. I would come again if the price is not too high and I have again a stopover in the city and apparently there has been some refurbishment in the meantime also.

Room Tip: all rooms provided you with a minimum level of comfort during our stay and with a bed to sleep, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    626
    350
    148
    100
See reviews for
111
691
86
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've stayed here about 8 or 9 times over the years, and the standard, for a 3 Star hotel has remained consistent.

Ideally positioned for the Waterlooplein Market, Music Theatre and quite literally on the Amstel.

2 minutes to the ever vibrant Rembrandtplein - 5 minutes walk to the Singel Floating Flower Market, and about the same to Utrechtsestraat where you'll find some hidden treasures of shops and restaurants, including the excellent 't Fornuis (which I've reviewed under restaurants).

The hotel has a standard breakfast buffet which is of reasonable quality, and with fresh juice and unusually good, strong, freshly brewed coffee will start your day just fine.

Overall, for a 3 Star hotel, the Eden represents great value for money.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I were their guests for almost three weeks. EVERYTHING was perfect! The rooms, the staff, the decor, the ammenities, cleanliness, food and drink, oh yes and the price!! If you want to stay in a hostel or B&B do so, if you want to stay somewhere of impecable standards at reasonable rates, STAY AT THE EDEN!!! Now, read other reviews that I have posted, you will find that I make it a point to point out the good and bad in all. That said, I think you should listen to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a canal facing room here. It was large and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Although the dining room was cramped on the Sunday morning of our stay. Would certainly stay here again - only in a canal facing room though.

Room Tip: Canal facing room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. Small room but clean and totally equipped. The bathroom as well.
Breakfast is great. Actually, breakfast area is the same for both Hampshire hotels (3 and 4 stars) so you stay at the three stars but you get the four stars breakfast!
Staff was good, too. Make sure you have your reservation printed with you and be prepared to give a 50€ deposit as a guaranty, which you get back when you check out.
Location is very good. Next to Rembrandplein, tram stops right on the square, 10-15 min walk from Dam.
Considering prices in Amsterdam this hotel is one of the best deals you can get. Beautiful, clean and well located. And if you can afford breakfast, it’s worth it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R S, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden. We would be delighted to welcome yuo back in the near future.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel was just ok. Staff is medium friendly (they messed up my booking two times, threrefore the service should have been better). Breakfast is way too expensive.
It's close to the city centre, easy to reach by public transport.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R S, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the check -in was not on the level you would expect from us. Hopefully we can welcome you back some day!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is very beautiful and cozy, the room was super clean but it had no tea pot or water for free, there is WIFI in the rooms too.
the place is just right, everything is near, there is also a bicycle rent at the hotel.
a nice bar and restaurant too.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R S, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.