We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a really pleasant two night stay at the Eden Hotel.

I was here for a business trip and so the location of the hotel was not that important for me. But for those who care its right beside Rembrandt Square and about 15 minutes walk to Dam Square.

The unassuming canal-side entrance to the hotel belies a vast welcoming lobby and a labyrinth of rooms. I was delighted when I was able to check in early - the single room was small but very tastefully designed and laid out. The bedside lamp didn't work - a small issue and one that I am sure could have been easily resolved.

I found the concierge at the front desk to be extremely helpful in organising taxis etc and he always had a cheerful hello and smile when I entered the hotel. Amsterdam is such a wonderful city and having such a pleasant and relaxing hotel to return to at the end of the day is a real luxury. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    617
    341
    149
    96
See reviews for
95
613
80
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with the wife after booking online. Granted the location is not too bad. 5-10 min walk up to the centre of Amsterdam but the room was terrible. To begin it was probably the smallest hotel room I've been in. The walls were dirty as were the windows and a couple of the sockets were not working in the room. We were told when booking they had car parking, as we drove from the Uk, but when we got there it turns out they only have 4 car park spaces in a hotel with over 200 rooms so no chance of a space. They did provide me with an alternative which was to park around the corner which costs €50 a day. I found the staff to be a little dour and miserable as well. All in all I'd say that if your looking for a place to rest your head then by all means give it a go but if like me you value service and standards then I would not recommend this place.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about the condition of the room.
We still work to improve our level of quality for the future.
The comments have been forwarded to the team.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is the best as far by only 2 mins walking from the Rembrandt square, 10 mins walking from Dam square and 15-20 mins walking from Amsterdam central station. Rooms are so convenient with cosy and clean renovated bathroom and shower but the con is the small double bed. We did not have the chance to be accommodated in a room with a canal view however our room was satisfactory, we asked for a baby/child cot when booking through the internet and indeed our request was covered. The concierge was quite friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were also decent and speedy. The hotel has a comfortable and a simple up to date style and interiors which was also nice. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and groups as it gives a high Value for Money and is so much reasonable and fitting to a leisure trip in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 2xsingle rooms, both were basic but very clean and well maintained. The public area's of the hotel were always very clean and tidy. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful, the concierge was invaluable. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities - but the reataurant etc looked very nice!! Perfect as a base to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We book with Eden hotel EVERY time we fly to Amsterdam for a long weekend!

Their prices are great compared to other hotels in the area; hotels think by making their lobby flash and modern with water features and blue lights makes them better than other hotels; far from the case.

Eden has a very basic layout, yet it's quiet, comofrtable and has great value.

The staff are lovely and they keep hold of your bags when you're checking in / out of a room prior / post flights.

The rooms are quiet, they have great space and are clean!
We've been 3 times now; great for couples but not sure for family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights really only looking for somewhere comfortable to sleep! The location was fantastic, we payed for the upgrade and had an executive room overlooking the canal! Thank goodness we had this upgrade because I hate to think how small and basic the economy room would be?! The hotel reception is tidy and what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The room however was very basic, little noisy from outside but only what is expected with the location! Sadly the cleanliness or lack of it was the biggest let down, hostels in Asia are five star compared to this hotel, stains on the carpet and the wall from the previous occupants and the bath tub had a few pubic hairs floating around! After reading the reviews I decided to stay put, have a feeling we would have moved to maybe a worse room?! Instead stayed out aslant as possible ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations about the room. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives are it is well placed in Amsterdam centre. We stayed 5 days and easily walked everywhere including back homeward bound to the station from this hotel. I got a good nights rest and the hotel was quiet despite being busy and full and central. Negatives are it is basic, not the cleanest and you have few essentials provided. Half a loo roll and a broken shower gel dispenser and only one towel provided. No tea or coffee or water available in the room which is a first for me.
However, I liked staying there despite this. I suspect the real reason being Amsterdam is such a wonderful City. I'd probably stay there again, now I know what to expect and can accommodate for that, but wouldn't readily recommend it as it is basic and a tad worn out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor.
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Binnenstad
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Schiller
NH Schiller
#148 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Caransa
NH Caransa
#125 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.