We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“ok for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Expensive, but so are all of amsterdam hotels. This is nothing special, but it is adequate. Rooms are clean, warm, comfortable. Bar is very expensive, 5 or 6 euro per pint, spirits up to 10 euro, but so are most bars in this city. Staff are helpful, polite. Great view from our room, overlooking river Amstel, with other canals, churches, and interesting streets.

Room Tip: high floor, with view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you once more for sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the future!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    626
    351
    148
    100
See reviews for
111
691
86
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is ideally located - very easy to get to on public transport from the airport and within walking distance of all the major attractions.
Although travelling solo, I booked a double room. I dread to think what it would have been like if there had been two of us! The bathroom door is frosted glass, but you can still see exactly what is behind it (in shadow), so there is no privacy. You have to climb over the loo to get to the shower. The room is an OK size for one person; it is a bit shabby but perfectly clean. The heating only works if your room key is in the holder, so coming back after a long day out it took a very long time to warm up, if at all.
Staff were business-like but not especially friendly. However, the guy behind the bar was very kind.
This is the sort of place to stay if you just want to lay your head down but that isn't a criticism. It served my purposes very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had the XL room, which indeed was big and comfy. But the thing is that, while I had a refrigerator, my parents didn't. This is not very acceptable, considering we had the same kind of room. The rooms were pretty dark as well, it was terrible to apply your make-up in such bad lighting. But, the bed was lovely though! The design of the room was amazing as well, so no comments on that. The service was more than amazing: everyone was so friendly and helpful! Whenever we asked something, we got an answer with a smile. That made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfast was good. Nothing out of the ordinary, just the usual, tasty and well prepared stuff. Bonus: the hotel was incredibly clean!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice hotel, really close to Rembrandtplein (where you can find starbucks and othe international food chains and a few bars). The rooms are REALLY small, it was kind of awkward moving inside the room, but is ok if you just go there to sleep at night (pretty much what everyone does).

Breakfast is really really good and the is a nice hotel overall. I would come back.

Note: you can't smoke pot on this hotel, is forbiden and when you enter the room there is a letter that says that they may kick you out of the hotel if they discover you.

Not a big deal I guess, anyway you have a coffeshop right next to the hotel where you can smoke all the weed you want.

Room Tip: Note: you can't smoke pot on this hotel, is forbiden and when you enter the room there is a lett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations about teh size of the room but this is standard size in amsterdam.
We constantly work on improving our service and standards.
We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The first room we received was an accessible room that had a wheelchair-accessible bathroom (neither of us were disabled in any way) without a real shower. The room smelled like someone had died in there and there was even blood spots on the dresser. We looked out the window to see our view was part of the roof of the hotel and looking directly into other guests' rooms.

We immediately went back to front desk and after some convincing they finally switched our rooms. The new room was simple, clean, and was two single beds pushed together. We were only there for the night so it was OK but would probably choose somewhere else for a longer stay.

The location was good and central but the way the windows were situated our room didn't have much of a view.

Room Tip: If you're put in room 141 ask for a different room immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Not bad access to the city, say 30min walk to the old quarter. Room was two single beds and was pretty tight with v small toilet/shower. Clean. View on a wall. Not cheap but matched the expectation - not a top pick however could depend on the luck of the draw with the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

You can easily walk anywhere from this hotel. Room was big but bathroom was a little small even still you can't fault this hotel. Beds made and towels changed daily and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.