We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location / Tiny rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Location / Tiny rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice hotel, really close to Rembrandtplein (where you can find starbucks and othe international food chains and a few bars). The rooms are REALLY small, it was kind of awkward moving inside the room, but is ok if you just go there to sleep at night (pretty much what everyone does).

Breakfast is really really good and the is a nice hotel overall. I would come back.

Note: you can't smoke pot on this hotel, is forbiden and when you enter the room there is a letter that says that they may kick you out of the hotel if they discover you.

Not a big deal I guess, anyway you have a coffeshop right next to the hotel where you can smoke all the weed you want.

Room Tip: Note: you can't smoke pot on this hotel, is forbiden and when you enter the room there is a lett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations about teh size of the room but this is standard size in amsterdam.
We constantly work on improving our service and standards.
We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    615
    340
    149
    96
See reviews for
95
612
80
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The first room we received was an accessible room that had a wheelchair-accessible bathroom (neither of us were disabled in any way) without a real shower. The room smelled like someone had died in there and there was even blood spots on the dresser. We looked out the window to see our view was part of the roof of the hotel and looking directly into other guests' rooms.

We immediately went back to front desk and after some convincing they finally switched our rooms. The new room was simple, clean, and was two single beds pushed together. We were only there for the night so it was OK but would probably choose somewhere else for a longer stay.

The location was good and central but the way the windows were situated our room didn't have much of a view.

Room Tip: If you're put in room 141 ask for a different room immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Not bad access to the city, say 30min walk to the old quarter. Room was two single beds and was pretty tight with v small toilet/shower. Clean. View on a wall. Not cheap but matched the expectation - not a top pick however could depend on the luck of the draw with the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

You can easily walk anywhere from this hotel. Room was big but bathroom was a little small even still you can't fault this hotel. Beds made and towels changed daily and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Unmatched for price, location, service, and cleanliness. On a beautiful canal near the city center. Great restaurants nearby -- in particular Wagamama across the street -- and the tram stop at Rembrandt Square a block away takes you everywhere if you tire of walking. However, the shower in our room didn't have a curtain and they provide dispensed liquid body soap (not a bar), so bathing was more challenging and less satisfying than you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, nonetheless!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ams
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location to walk around the town. There are so many restaurants to choose from nearby. I had a good room with very modern and clean bathroom. It was more than I expect from a 3 stars hotel. Europe is different from USA, so I was surprised how clean and nice the rooms are. The service at the hotel was excellent. They assisted me to locate my lost bag from the airline. The concierge was very helpful to assist you with all the questions about touring the town. I had a great stay! The hotel is across The Amstel river, great for the river cruise ! I had a sliver view of the river which was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is a nice hotel, very well located, close to transportation, shops and restaurants. Rooms are simple, but comfortable. A hotel that receives many groups, quite busy. Breakfast is good and plenty. Good to spend some days in the beautiful Amsterdam !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Binnenstad
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Schiller
NH Schiller
#149 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Caransa
NH Caransa
#130 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.