We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel locates in perfect location, very near to Waterlooplien station and plenty of restaurants around. We booked an executive river view room for 7 nights and we didn't find any thing to complain. The staff and concierge have very good service mind and are very helpful. If we have a chance to visit again, this hotel will surely be in our shortlist.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    570
    314
    139
    94
See reviews for
103
634
81
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I came to Amsterdam with friends to celebrate my birthday. We booked through DFDS and chose the Eden Hotel. We arrived before check in and could store our luggage with no problems, the concierge were fantastic answering all of our questions and giving directions. After exploring the city we returned and checked into our rooms. I stayed in a twin room which was suprisingly spacious, I'd assumed like some cities the rooms would be small but this was not the case. We had a bath/shower en suite which was nice, clean with hot water on tap. Location wise this hotel was perfect for us. We easily walked to a lot of the cities attractions, Anne Franks House, Red light district, Dam Square, Heineken Experience....... On our doorstep is Rembrandt Plein, a square surrounded in bars/restaurants etc... which was perfect. I may be biased but I loved my time in Amsterdam and I felt the Eden hotel was perfect for our needs, I will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, in a great location, in one of the worlds great cities.
No matter what your planning to do in Amsterdam...this hotel won't be too far away from it.
Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast was pretty decent. I'd go back tomorrow and I'd certainly recommend to friends and family - in fact I already have

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Trip advisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Myself and my friend are just back from a weekend away and I had to write a review! The best points were the location and the frinedly helpful staff. The location is central with a 10 minute walk from the dam sqaure and right next to the part location (club escape) We were over in Amsterdam for my friends 21st and had a great time especially at the ice bar which is right next to the hotel (45 seconds walk roughly haha)
I am already planning my trip back and I will be staying at the eden again! We were probably the youngest people in the hotel so tried not to make a lot of noise but the majority of the noise is outside traffic but that was because of the room we were in, if you don't want to be woken up by a bus or a lorry passing every 2 minutes then ask for a room away from the front of the hotel! Except from that is was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Congratulations with your 21st birthday.
We thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night during a mini cruise with DFDS. We were pleasantly surprised by the central location and the friendly and helpful staff. We would certainly return and would not hesitate to tell others to use this hotel. Breakfast was included and again the choice of both hot and cold food were excellent. Nicely positioned within walking distance of most of the tourist attractions.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

It's been a good 7 years since my last stay here, and was chosen because of location and price. It's been refurbished and is in good order.
Only complaints still the double bed issue, on booking it was a PAID upgrade to get a double bed instead of a twin room, but it wasn't it was 2 singles shoved together and they move. Mentioned to reception after the first night, and confirmed that this is a double, no such thing as a double bed in this hotel. Slightly miffed but should have remembered this from the last stay here, good to see some things don't change :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We are just back from a two night weekend break in Amsterdam and stayed in the Eden Hampshire hotel on 144 Amstel street. The hotel is conjoined wit the eden hotel Rembrandt square and would advise when booking to book the Eden Hampshire as the rates are lower but both hotels are joined on the same campus. The hotel has a brilliant location wit a tram stop and canal bus stop right out side the hotel. It is very central and only a few steps from the famous Rembrandt square. The rooms are small but very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. My only grievance being that on top of the rate we were given for the room they failed to mention that they require a 50€ deposit for the room which is refundable on check out but for anyone who was watching their money or had not allowed for such that it could be a problem. Putting that aside however I would recommend booking with the hotel. We had a great weekend in the Dutch
capital

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.