We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Amsterdam before and have had the odd Rick I choice of hotel. Well this was not one as you walk in we all felt comfortable straight away. We had an executive double overlooking the canal on the 5th floor which was a magnificent view. The room was clean and airey and had a safe as well. The bed very comfortable and the bathroom although not big clean and shower was hot and powerful. We went bed and breakfast and this was also better than expected buffet, but plenty there and we all were pleased. We never ate in the hotel apart from that, but even the restaurant choice looked good, but we wanted to eat out for evening dinner. The staff were very friendly and if you asked for anything were pleased to help. It was also just so central that you come out of the hotel and you are central to everything. I would definitely recommend and will stay again when in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    626
    351
    148
    100
See reviews for
111
691
86
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I agree with other reviews that the business like, stylish entrance and reception do not represent the rest of the hotel. Our room was small as was the bathroom and the window looked out onto a brick wall. That said it was clean and had a safe for valuables. The breakfast was good especially the pain aux raisin. Staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We will inform our staff about your compliment.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

18 of us booked to be close to tourism while celebrating a 60th birthday.
Excellent service & cleanliness - Concirgeservice helped us many times.
Would recommend, and would stay again, no problems at all

Room Tip: Include the breakfast if possible, saves a lot of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
We hope you had a good stay wih us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Myself and partner checked into the eden in november just gone. My partner had booked a trip to amsterdam for my birthday and the eden looked decent enough from the photos on the site. We arrived early and were checked in and given a room by 10.30 which was great. The staff were pleasant. Our room was on the 4th floor. The corridoors are narrow and the room we were in was up a step and back into a little corner. The room itself was ok, nothing special. We booked a double room but were given 2 singles pushed together with two single duvets. Not what we had booked but we made do as reception were too busy to move us that weekend. The carpet was stained as were the walls and ceiling. The bathroom was miniscule, and with a small step up to it was a bit dangerous as everything was glass and we felt if you missed the step it could end up quite bad. The bathroom was dirty, hair in bathtub, toilet bowl was stained. However we overlooked this and went off to explore. That night we could here everything, the people upstairs and the people in the corridoor. The rooms are paperthin. My partner slept through it of course but i couldnt sleep. Luckily i can function with little sleep but it wasnt the most pleasant experience. The breakfast was ok a bit overpriced and not a good selection really. The hotels location is what saved it for us as it is 2 mins away from rembrant square and 10 mins from dam square and right on the amstel. I dont think we would be back to the eden, was not worth the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We will use your comments and observations to improve our level of service.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

my husband and myself brought my mother who is 88 years old and is dutch to holland to visit her brother for his birthday . booked two executive rooms together overlooking the Amstel as we were travelling with a disabled pensioner who needed care was told one room on third floor one on fourth told them no needed them close to one another was given two on third floor but one without view but still charged same price. they were supposed to be double rooms but they were twin beds pushed together with single quilts,very soiled carpet in one room absolutely disgusting. very rude and unhelpful staff.on checking out the 50 euros deposit they said would be put on hold on my card turned out to be 75 euros per room and would take upto three weeks to return to my account. the only good thing about this hotel is the location. would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through easyjet as a last minute idea, found the hotel absolutely lovely it was clean and tidy with a lovely bathroom and comfy bed. Perfect location right in the centre perfect walking distance to the attractions & to the train station. Hotel staff were friendly and we were able to have a late check out due to our flight. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for work over a period of a week. The beds were comfortable, the room was cute and the view of the canal was wonderful. Excellent guest service as well. I would recommend in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Standard Double or Twin Room - Overlooking canal. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your commetns and observations about your stay.
We are glad to hear that you had a perfect stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.