We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location for City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We checked into Eden Hotel very quick and efficiently. We were aloud in our rooms over 3 hours earlier than stated which was nice, so we could settle in and go explore. They take a 150 euro as a no smoking deposit. We used a debit card which they did not charge. Plus the city tax was about 10 euros which we paid cash. Our room was nice and modern. Quite small but we was aware of this as you can upgrade to a larger room. There was a comfy double bed and TV with basic channels ( extra channels and movies available at a sur-charge of 22.50 ) The shower wasn't the best as there was a shower head above the bath but no curtain so everywhere got soaked unless you lent into the corner! The hairdryer also would only turn on for 15-20 seconds then would turn off you would have to wait 2-3 minutes for another 20 second blow! I attempted for about 20 minutes then gave up. Bring your own if you have long hair or wanted to style! The concierge and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Providing us with bike rental information (17.50 per day from hotel) , sports bar locations and taxi information. A taxi from the hotel to the train station cost us 11 euros. You can easily get the train from the station to the airport which is 3 stops at about 4.20 euros each way. This hotel was in a good location and a great place to crash over the weekend or short break. It fits its purpose and we had a great time.
The corridors linking the rooms are not as modern and were not cleaned throughout our duration, we passed the same cotton buds every morning! The Ice Bar is a few doors down so very nearby. Its 15 euros and you get 2 drinks included :) You are walking distance to all the local attractions. Perfect for a short city break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations.
We are happy to learn from this review to improve our level of service.

Kind regards,

The managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    590
    333
    145
    98
See reviews for
106
658
82
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canakkale, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Room is extra extra small, when you are on toilet , you may jump on to bed. From shower with a single step you Will be at bedroom. There are moulds on the shower floor. And the price is too much for that graveyard. But the location is wonderful. Rembrand plein is better than damrak, and the hotel is at the beginning of it. People at the reception are very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I visited Hampshire Eden hotel back in October. The location was amazing!!! Less than a five minute train ride from Central Station on the #4. Rembrantsplein is right behind the the hotel, with plenty food choices. I think it took us less than 15 minutes to walk to Red Light District.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the concierge. The gentleman personally volunteered to assist with our luggage to our room, gave us discounted vouchers and highlighted the main attractions on a map for us. I thought this was very nice of him, seeing that we didn't even ask and it was our first time in Amsterdam. It definitely paid off in the end because we never had to ask any questions. Check-in was fast, and to our surprise we were allowed to check-in early, close to 10am. We were upgraded to the executive room, which was spacious with an amazing view. The room was very clean! The bathroom was nice, kind of small (but wayyyyyyyyyyyyy bigger the one we had in Munich, Germany). Unfortunately, the bathroom floor stayed wet because the shower door only covered half the shower. Guess, us Americans need the extra shower doors, lol.

Overall - nice stay, GREAT staff and convenient location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great comment on tripadvisor.
We would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel off of expedia and was pleasantly surprised. Its so cute and close to everything. Is we were updated to an executive suit where we gad a front view of the canal. Woukd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very reasonable priced as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment.
We hope you will visit our hotel again.
We look forward to welcome you.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Quick one night stay. I arrived at around 9 am and got granted an early check-in with no problem. Room is simple and nice, no free TV though (who needs it anyway). Great location, short walk to Dam, central station and the redlight district. Would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review on tripadvisor.
For information we do have free TV, you only need to pay for Pay TV if you want to watch movies.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location to explore the center of Amsterdam.

I managed to get a room a week or so before I was traveling, and as such, I got a good deal on the price through one of the online booking companies. Had I payed the full price, I would have been disappointed, but with the discount I feel I payed an agreeable amount.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and had a good selection of food to choose from. The staff at breakfast were very pleasant.

The rooms in the hotel are very small. I am led to believe that the rooms on the south side of the hotel - The Hampshire - are slightly larger and nicer than the ones on the north facing canal side of the hotel - The Eden. I had booked a room which was a double, with the possibility of two double beds if available , however, upon arrival the two beds were not available. Instead I had a room with two single beds pushed together to make one double bed. This was not really ideal. My other grievance was that the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. I reported this fault to reception and a repairman was sent around the same day. He said the fault lay with an extractor on the rooftop, and he would report this to reception. The fan never worked for the 5 days I stayed at the hotel. I wonder if all the extractor fans were broken, as the downstairs lobby often had a distinctive unpleasant odour to it.

Despite my gripes, I had a pleasant stay and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations.
We hope that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

The managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Staff were helpful. Rooms good size with shower bathroom. The double bed turned out to be two single beds pushed together but they were comfortable.
We did not eat in the hotel as there were so many different places to eat on and around the Rembrandt Square.
We walked from here to all the place we wanted to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.