We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel in a perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Genf
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great Hotel in a perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a surprise to find such a wonderful Hotel behind a simple old Amsterdam facade. We were lucky and got an Apartment next to it with a perfect view to the Waterways in the center of town. The apartment was just very complete with living room, Kitchenette and Bedroom. We really enjoyed it very much to spend a day there. The Rijksmuseum is in walking distance as well as many other places of interest. Of course not to forget the friendly and helpful reception. While Breakfast for 19€ is sort of expensive, the offer is great and leaves little to demand.
We certainly will use it again when in Amsterdam and can recommend it without any hesitation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy to hear that your stay was great!
We hope to welcome you next time!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were in room 205! Very small room and easy to hit your head on the wall hung TV! No opening windows, so we had to have air conditioning on all hours-very stuffy or freezing cold! The bathroom was awful-shower was powerful but you had to squeeze yourself into a corner in the bath ,very small screen so water went everywhere! Could I suggest upgrading to walk in showers!! Bathroom not very private! Could hear the people above us at all hours!!Creaking ,dipping floorboards. We didn't go near the overpriced breakfast, bought excellent croissants etc in Rembrandt area for 2 euros each!! We paid for tea/coffee facilities but we had to remind staff everyday!! One day the room wasn't serviced at all-disgusted!! Only plus was comfortable bed and good location.Needs complete decoration, new carpets,new windows and modern bathrooms!

Room Tip: Need to pay top prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your observations and remarks.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We found this hotel to be very clean, with modern rooms and a very friendly, efficient staff team. The hotel is ideally positioned for Rembrandt square. There wasn't enough room in the bathroom to hang all towels or clothes - just a small issue, but one which could be easily corrected.
We did think that the breakfasts were nice, but rather expensive.
We would be happy to stay here again, but only if there was a cheaper breakfast option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to write to the Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden!
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Eden Hampshire in Amsterdam as first visit was very pleasant. Upon checking-in and simply mentioning that we were happy to be back we were pleasantly surprised to be told we were getting an upgrade to a room facing canal view. It was a larger room than last time and had kettle and coffee/tea etc. Last time our room was rather shabby so view and extras was nice. There were more front-desk clerks than the last time we were there so check-in/out was with less waiting time and overall all the people working on front desk were smiling and pleasant - last visit whe there was often observed unpleasant atmosphere.
The two concierges on duty during our stay gave excellent service and were a credit to the hotel they work for - one concierge has been there for many years and actually remembered us from our last trip and a second younger man named Ben was attentive, knowledgeable and unendingly patient both with us and the constant stream of guests and incoming guests, drivers, passing tourists in the week that we were there. One day we waited for a taxi and within 15 mins. FOUR different guests passed by and thanked and complimented him for his efforts for them.
All in all a very pleasant hotel - 9 out of ten for room (management please note:bathroom can do with more hooks or rails to hang towels etc. plus no plastic laundry bag for used clothing), 9 out of ten for breakfast and 10 out of 10 for all hotel staff that we encountered. Look forward to next visit at hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golde r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments!
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Eden hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is perfectly positioned just a few yards from Rembrandt square where the trams can take you to all the sites in central Amsterdam. The Hotel actually shares its entrance from the main street with its sister The Hampshire hotel, but most guests access the hotel from the canal side where the concierge is very helpful when storing your luggage until your room is ready in the afternoon.

The check-in desk is quick & efficient with very little waiting around.

We had a good room on the 4th floor which was both modern & clean which included tea making, a free safe & a not so free mini bar. Be warned if you move or remove any items in the mini-bar your account will automatically be charged.

The bathroom was good & clean but the glass door entrance to the toilet took a bit of getting used too!.

Breakfast was fine with a good choice of cooked & cold items & again the area was good & well kept.

Overall good value for a 2 night stay on a very busy & entertaining weekend in Amsterdam as it was the Gay pride weekend.

Bit disappointed with the standard of most restaurants well overpriced in most & not great food even in the best ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adetanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Eden Hotel Amsterdam- Hampshire Eden with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

We hope tot welcome you again next time!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a nice suprise when I arrived at the Eden, I had never been to Amsterdam before so I was just hopping my hotel would be ok. I liked the location everything was in walking distance, my room was big & so was the bathroom very clean & the bed was the best, had good nights sleep. Recommend to everyone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this recommendation!
We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#