We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best it could have been” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, Amsterdam 1017 AE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best it could have been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location near to amenities however room reall small more like a single with a queen size bed for two, above a night club so very noisy and to be honest to basic for us. Ordered tea and coffee but this was not replenished and the room was not cleaned to a decent standard.

Room Tip: Try and over look the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, which enables us to improve our service or product, something we always wish to do. We are sorry that certain details of your stay were not up to standard. We will review your comments with all parties involved and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We would like to advise you to look into the different room types we have to offer, to make sure your room will meet all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    574
    320
    137
    89
See reviews for
87
569
76
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great first time visit to hotel and city. Really pleased with all aspects of our stay. Just one thing - our room on the 4th floor at the front had "1/2 windows", meaning they went from the floor up about 3 feet so the view and the light were minimal. Also they didn't seem to like us asking for ice for the room (I guess they would have preferred we have our drinks at their bar). Location and assistance were great, the price was right and I would stay there again (just not on that floor!)
Nancy N., Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback on tripadvisor.com, it enables us to improve our product or service, something we always wish to do. Therefore, we will definitely follow up on the remarks you have made. Other than that we are happy to learn you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back real soon.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to most attractions, we walked from Centraal Station took around 20 minutes and around 15 minutes to Dam Square. Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable and quite nice for a three star. However the room only had a tiny window so it felt a bit dark and dingy. However the room was quiet and we slept well. Bar/cafe area was also nice didn't have anything to eat though. Lots of restaurants, bars, shops, etc nearby. Check-in and check-out was a bit slow, but overall a good stay and we would probably stay here again but would request a room with a bigger window!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We recommend you indeed discuss your personal preferences with us on your next trip to Amsterdam, we have a range of rooms to offer you. We will be looking forward to that next visit!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was upgraded and it was great. The room was very big, clean, and modern with all required amenities (including free wifi in room). The concierge desk was very helpful with bookings, the check-in staff were very good and fast, the bartender was friendly as well. The location was great, and easy to find (we used the front entrance off the water). Although there appeared to be construction, there were no issues. My only suggestion would be to wear socks in the room as the carpet is stiff.

Room Tip: Executive upgrade was great. We stayed on the waterfront, and there was limited noise, but worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your enthusiastic comments on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived late one evening and was referred to room 106. The room was large and clean, but had a view of a "backyard" with absolutely no "view". We heard quite fast a deep humming sound we could not be satisfied with. Although we had earplugs, we could still hear the annoying sound. The next morning we complained and got quickly and without discussion a new room on the 3rd floor. It turned out that this buzzing sound coming from the elevator. If you stay at this hotel make sure you are far from the elevator! The room has AC. Service has been excellent, nice people at the reception and in the bar. The hotel is perfectly located close to Rembrandt Square, the Blue Bridge and within walking distance of the most scenic in Amsterdam. If you do not get too close to the elevator, we highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Do not choose romm nr 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We will look into the situation you described with the elevator. Other than that, we are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and beautiful city. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First time in Amsterdam, really pleased with location, easy access to trams & restaurants, room was upgraded when we arrived, staff very friendly & helpful, excellent value, love the Piano bar downstairs

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view but then that's not what we paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you making the effort to write your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good location, clean and has all the necessities. The hotel staffs are also friendly and helpful to provide direction and arranged transportation for me. As this hotel is located strategically near Damrak, it is actually quite convenient to walk which you’ll see quite a lot of Amsterdam and all the main attractions. There’s also the Ice bar a few doors away if you need to have some drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, Amsterdam 1017 AE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.