We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel the second week of April 2013 for 6 nights, while I was on a business trip. I paid about 20 euro extra to have a double room since all single rooms were small and tiny (as I read other reviews here, and also most reasonable hotels in Amsterdam have tiny single rooms). The room and the hotel were clean at all times. The hotel offers all basic things that hotels offer (plus free wi fi in the room), and the personnel was friendly, polite, and helpful. It is within 4-5 minutes walking distance from the center and all attractions as well as nice restaurants and the tram station. I would definately stay there if I visit again. I did not have breakfast included because I thought no breakfast is worth 20euro each morning. There are plenty of restaurants nearby that offer breakfast at more reasonable prices!! Overall is a nice hotel. Also, from the airport to the hotel I took the shuttle Connexxion Shuttlebus Service (located outside the airport) and it cost me 16euro. It dropped me off right at the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a bigger room than a tiny single room, it is worth paying the extra (mine was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We thank you for your friendly words and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

P.S. When pre-booked we offer our guests our full breakfast buffet for 15.00 euro, otherwise 18.50 euro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    625
    350
    147
    100
See reviews for
110
690
86
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to the hotel and it was even better. It was for my husbands 40th and we were given an upgrade to an executive room with absolutely fantastic view of the canal.

Hotel is currently undergoing some outside work (scaffolds) but we experienced no noise. The hotel is very central to Rembrandt square but not right in it so doesn't experience the noise and hustle and bustle.

Breakfast was lovely with added bonus of it being served until 11am on he weekend which is a necessity when a lie in is needed after all the walking and sightseeing.

We were also lucky enough to be able to use the hotel wifi from the comfort of our own room.

All in all a lovely weekend and thoroughly recommended

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and that we could add to the joy of your husband's 40th birthday. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a short break to the city. The hotel is in a fantastic central location, we walked everywhere (its about 20 mins in either direction to Centraal station to the north or the Rijksmuseum in the south). However, for those that don't like walking the trams run close to the hotel.

Although the hotel is only just around the corner from Rembrandtplein, which gets very busy at night on the weekends, our rooms were quiet and we weren't disturbed by any outside noise, be it traffic or from clubs / bars.

The rooms were clean and modern. Yes slightly on the small side but this is a city hotel and I wouldn't expect anything else and provided a perfect base. Staff were friendly and helpful.

We didn't have breakfast as there are plenty of places nearby including a Starbucks just around the corner. The free wifi in the lobby worked perfectly although I do think these days free wifi should be a standard throughout hotels.

I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your positive review on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time while staying in our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

PS Almost all our rooms have free WiFi, at the moment we are taking care of the last section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel during our long weekend in Amsterdam. Hotel is nicely located just on the canal and 10-15 min walk from all the central attractions. Metro station Watelooplein is 5 min. walk, tram stop - 3 min. walk.
We had a standard room on the second floor with window overlooking the narrow lane between the hoses, virtually 3 meters from the nearest house. We were disappointed at first, but then realized that it is exceptionally quiet in the night. Only noises you can hear are from the neighbors and the cleaning ladies – walls are indeed paper-thin. But all that starts at 9-00 – enough to have a good sleep.
Room is small, but has all the basic amenities for a 3-star hotel – a mini-safe, shampoo and bath gel in the bathroom, a hairdryer. Bathroom is really very small and the glass door really does not hide anything , you can hear every sound and every movement as if you are inside the bathroom. Note that there is no kettle or teabags, but this is clearly stated in the hotel description for this type of rooms. Plastic glasses only if you want to drink some water, no free water, no minibar. Again - this is what you expect from a 3-star city hotel. Limited number of free TV channels, but good paid movie selection – Hollywood classics, blockbusters, etc for 12.5 euro per movie or 22 Euro for al paid package per day.

Sleeping quality OK but for awful pillow, and there is only one available per guest – so I had to ask for an additional one. To be honest this was brought within 5 minutes. Altogether reception is very nice, polite and helpful.
There is also an extremely efficient concierge in the hotel, he helped us to book an evening Candlelight Crouse (highly recommend!) and rushed a taxi for us when metro was broken and we were late for our train to Antwerp.
Breakfast is abundant, much more than you expect from a 3-star hotel, a good variety of cold cuts, chesses, bread and toasts and pastry, cereals, fruit salad, eggs, sausages and bacon, even smoked salmon, selection of coffee from a coffee machine (espresso, latte macchiato, cappuccino, etc.) of a good quality, freshly pressed orange and grapefruit juices. Breakfast room too small for the number of guests and too crowded, tables too small and too cose to each other.
Lobby bar is good and reasonably priced, we had a couple of cocktails to bring us back to life after a long day in Amsterdam, highly recommend the Eden special cocktail masterfully done by the barman – a friendly and helpful chap.
Will certainly return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you making the effort to write your extensive review for Tripadvisor, which is very helpful for us and other travelers. Of course, we are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam. Until then, we wish you all the best!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very fortunate to have been here for Queens Day and the "throne change" activities.......perfect location for everything !! Absolutely no problem with noise at any time; very helpful & kind front desk staff -- arrived at 10:30 and by 11:30 we had our room. Free wifi but no mini-fridge. If you want to be in the middle of it all and love walking, this is your hotel: everything to see and plenty of restaurants in the immediate area. ALSO: loved the illuminated tulip headboard !!

Room Tip: Room 302 is a gem: clean, spacious, comfortable, fabulous bathroom AND quiet...........However, coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Amsterdam six times, and I'd stay in this hotel again. It's been the best hotel for location so far.
The room was a great size and clean on the fifth floor, and we had no issues with noise from other guests or outside whatsoever. Not sure why but we only got plastic cups in the bathroom, when I would really expect proper glasses instead. That would be something to change.
The hotel has two entrances, one of which was shut during the Queens Day celebrations but that caused no problems at all and security was good during this time.
We had free wi fi in the room, which was fast and uninterrupted and saved a fortune on roaming charges!
We didn't have breakfast included in our package but due to its location we were able to get breakfast very easily elsewhere, and there are loads of options for you very close by as it's right on Rembrandt Plein (handy for trams and sightseeing by foot).
It's also about a 15/20 min walk to the main central station, and if the weather is good, worth walking it to see the stunning houses and buildings. Train is the easiest way to get to and from the airport (approx €4 each way).

There's a bar called Sopranos as part of the hotel, and that was always busy with live music going.
I would choose this hotel again on my next visit back here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you making the effort to write your review for Tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Got a great deal on Orbitz for 3 nights during Queens Day. Sister hotel to the Hampshire Rembrandt Square - they are joined together and this is where my room was. No issues with noise at all, surprisingly during the holiday. Very convenient to sights, trams, Metro. Also had no issue with the pay-for-TV and WiFi---both were free. Did not eat breakfast as it was too expensive for my taste. Room appeared to be newer or recently upgraded.
Electronic mini-bar available; who needs it when ice is free and beers are cheap outside of the hotel.
Pipas Bar - bartender seemed more into the computer music than keeping his bar clean---he would make drinks and not clean up behind hinmself, leaving limes, glasses, utensils out in the open until needed (or not) again. Other reception and concierge staff was very nice.

Would stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor.com. We will follow up on your remarks about our bartender, other than that, we are delighted you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and are happy to learn we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.