We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Amsterdam this past February as our first European adventure. When we arrived at the hotel it was around 9:30 am (their time) and our room was not ready so they offered us an apartment at the Eden apartments right next door to the hotel. It was perfect! It had a living room area, a little kitchenette and a beautiful view of the canals. The hotel is situated right around the corner from Rembrandt square so that was really perfect because there's coffeeshops and bars and places to eat a stones throw away from the hotel. We also did the ice bar experience which was right up the block from the hotel. My husband and I booked two tours through the hotel which uses Lindbergh tours. We did a day trip to Bruges, Belgium and a trip to the Dutch countryside. The tours were wonderful, the tour guides speak English so there wasn't a communication problem. The Dutch countryside tour was awesome; we went to Volendam, Marken-where they make the clogs and Zaans Schons where you see windmills and they make cheese and the air smells like chocolate! The Bruges tour was equally awesome because you go to a UNESCO world heritage site and you can walk around, shop, see old buildings and churches. Go to the beer museum if you do this particular tour, it really has thousands of beers! We navigated around Amsterdam with no problem, we mostly walked but there are plenty of rail cars and buses to take you to where you have to go. There's also a hop-on, hop-off bus you can catch a block away from the hotel. Watch out for the bicyclists, every Amsterdam city-dweller rides/owns a bike and they flick their bell at you when you're in the way. You could also rent bikes as well. We walked through Vondel Park which is huge but beautiful. We went to the Heineken experience which is a tour through an old Heineken brewery and you get two beers at the end of the tour. We also went to Rijks museum and looked at Rembrandt paintings. There is also the Van Gogh museum and we went to the Gassan diamond cutters for a tour. They show you all different cuts and grades of diamonds on this tour! We went and visited the Anne Frank house, that was eery but well worth the wait; the line was around the block! We also did a candlelit wine and cheese canal cruise on my birthday! That was wonderful, you board the cruise by centraal station and they take you through the canals and you get to see the house boats up close and all the apartments overlooking the canals; everyone leaves their shades open so you can see inside their apartments, they are absolutely beautiful! Overall, we had an excellent stay and we would return without question!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    578
    321
    141
    95
See reviews for
104
644
81
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

First hotel room (247) smelt of sick, but we were moved to 240 with no problems. Rooms are small by other city standards but average for Amsterdam.

Bar was great.

Location was superb. 20 min walk from Central station, or 5 mins from subway.

As another reviewer mentioned, we booked through hotels.com, and were under the impression that taxes had been paid but got stung about €4 a night when we checked out.

Overall would deffo stay there again.

(noticed that the hotel was offering much cheaper prices booking directly a few days before check in compared to hotels.com/expedia etc etc)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

There are a few hotels in Amsterdam with "Eden" in the title. I haven't stayed at them but this one is a good one.
The location was good. My girlfriend and I enjoy walking and we walked everywhere.
The staff were nice and the concierge was very helpful and helped us get tickets to museums and other events.
We stayed for a week and were given a complimentary room upgrade. It was a nice surprise and because of that the hotel turned out to be one of the better value for money choices we made in our 6 week holiday through Europe.
There is also a very nice gym nearby that has a deal with the hotel, which I found really nice. There is a cost for each visit though.
Apparently no wi-fi in the rooms but we managed to still get a connection.
The hotel breakfast was also really good. Great range and hearty. For us, this place was hard to fault.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Really nice hotel, staff were friendly even letting us check in early at no cost.
Rooms are nice, good showers too!
10minute walk to the red light district and shopping.
only thing that was a bit annoying was having to leave a 50 euro deposit on the room, which wasn't mentioned anywhere.
all in all great value for money

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are best avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 2012 for 3 nights. our stay was very pleasant, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a great location within walking distance of everything.

The rooms were modern however the standard of cleaning was not the best, there were a few stains on the carpet and hairs in the bath.

Having said that it was perfect for what we were looking for and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.