We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Central Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Central Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Rooms are so small and the Toilet is even smaller. This is the smallest ever room that I have ever stayed in. Just about a foot distance from the bed to the wall and the Toilet dont even talk about it. On the other hand very clean and neat. Paid Eu:70/- for a single room with no Breakfast or Internet. Location is city center just infront of Rembrandt Square, 5mins. walk to the flower market, 4mins walk to shopping street & 7mins walk to Dam Square. If its just a room to stay the night while your out the whole day then this is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are small. Book online for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    577
    321
    140
    95
See reviews for
104
642
81
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

A great location by the Amstel river/canal. A pleasant experience though first room we were offered was extremely small & dull in all respects - this was a comfort room. Upgraded to a better room & enjoyed our stay. Nicely equipped hotel friendly concierge & staff.

Dissappointed to have to pay a Tourist tax on hotel room - doesn't exactly attract me to a return visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Avoid comfort rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good hotel in excellent location. I rang before we arrived and commented on the "dirty shower" review on Trip Advisor. We had a lovely room overlooking Amstel. We booked Room only so breakfast was expensive but provided excellent choice. Good cafe next door for cheaper start to the day. Stayed 4 nights, all staff very pleasant and helpful. Good tram connections in Rembrandt Square you can easily take train from airport and tram from Central station. We would definitely stay again.. Did a guided bike tour which I can recommend. Saturday night was quite noisy ..lots of revellers ..If you sleep lightly ask for a room at the back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights great location with easy access from central station by tram, front desk staff helpful and polite, free wifi added bonus, room overall in good condition bed comfortable. Easy access to most sights and eateries around central area. Only issue carpet and chair needed a bit of a clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel has an excellent location. Our room was clean and quiet. Room location makes the difference. Close to all attractions. "Coffee shops" on one side and Gay bar on the other. A lot of fun with a live and let live attitude. Be careful of bicycles. They have priority.
Go early morning to see Anne Franks house. Line up can be quite long. Book with easy jet and get a combo rate. That was our case. Overall, great location to see Amsterdam and experience a liberal attitude.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Lovely hotel, rooms very clean, and right in the heart of Rembrandt Square. Would recommend this hotel, we arrived at midday, and was able to go straight to our room.
The rooms are reasonably small, but you don't go to a fantastic city like Amsterdam to sit around in your room all day.
Breakfast was good value, with a choice of breads, smoked salmon, salads, cooked, and fruit.
Lovely comfy beds and pillows too!
Anne Frank house a must, very moving!
And obviously the famous Red Light District is an eye opener!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Spent almost a week here middle of August.

Right in the Amstel area & hopping distance from Rembrandtplein where there are tons of restaurants/bars and transit options. Was very surprised at how middle of the city it was located when others say its not great. Had to take a taxi from Centraal Station due to luggage and cold and during rush hour - very expensive.

Entrance of hotel is nice. I read here there is a new section and and old one. I of course got the old one and you could tell. I wore my flipflops constantly in the room as carpet was pretty old and floors in shower were full of dirt/mildew etc. However, hotel totally full and was on a month long stay of Europe and didn't want to fight the fight when staying in multiple hotels.

Lobby staff helpful. The newer Eden is on the back side of the hotel through the lobby which I discovered on the last night! The buffet restaurant is really expensive for breakfast so didn't use it. Found tons of quickee places for a bagel/croissant/juice/coffee just a couple of streets away there were fraction of the cost.

Since there are so many options in Amsterdam I will look for another one next time but if you are looking for eaee of location, its for you.

Room Tip: Demand to be in the newer section on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located Hotel housed in building dating from 1780 overlooking Amstel River, near the Rembrandtsplein. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.