We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aljezur, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We got off to a bad start when they wanted my passports (this is the EU, go away) and got worse when they wanted to charge me for WiFi. I almost left. Glad I didn't, it's a bit old and due for a refurb (hence the ancient systems) but it is comfortable, works, is cheap, and is a longish walk or a short tram to the centre. Staff proved very helpful. In the end, I liked it. Check the date of the review dear reader, I suspect soon it will have a total makeover and cost double. For now, it's a bit of a bargain. Comfortable and even mildly luxurious in a faintly pealing and appealing way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    131
    72
    15
    12
See reviews for
32
104
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The two highlights of this property were the front desk staff and the proximity to the tram. The front desk was extremely helpful, and eager to help, with everything from buying tram passes, to train tickets out of the country to directions, etc. I was very impressed with that. They let us keep our luggage at the property on our last day after we checked out as well. The tram stop is just outside the hotel and down the street a few steps. This made getting anywhere extremely easy and efficient. The room itself was not great, but not awful. The bathroom was the smallest thing I have ever seen. I am not sure I could have shaved my legs in the shower if I tried. There was A/C but it was too noisy to use. We let it cool down the room while we were gone (which it attempted to do, but didn't do all that well) and then turned it off when we returned. I think the hotel was overpriced for the quality of the room, but it seemed the norm for Amsterdam at the time we traveled.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights, 3 adults in a room with 3 single beds. The room was tired , poor quality carpet(more like carpet tiles), no liners on the bed. Arrived to a friendly welcome, paid the additional tax bill , plus some more for the wireless and realized that it didn't include breakfast. My mistake, just thought that for over 100e a night it would be included.
The room was basic, but did have air-con. The location is good , close to the tram stop and there is a bakery next door which is excellent. The linen and towels were changed daily , which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not a lot of character here but it's location will appeal to both business visitors and tourists alike. It's about 20mins walk from the RAI so if you're attending a conference there then this hotel is a good choice. Also just a quick tram ride from the main sites in Amsterdam. Excellent little cafe across the road serving artful and extremely delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me & 3 girlfriends stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is in a good location in the museum quarter. The tram stops in front every 15 mins.and easy access to the central station.roughly 5 mins. to station zuid. Our room of 4 beds was clean, tidy and decent sized. fresh towels and toiletries were provided everyday. We paid 10 euros for a buffet breakfast comprising of choices of ham and salamis, eggs, cheese ,fresh breads and yummy croissants.There's a nice bakery a few steps from the hotel and a nice Chinese restaurant that opens really late but kitchen closes really early which sucks, nevertheless the food are yum! The great thing about the hotel is the staff. I would like to specifically mention Arthur at the front desk, who patiently, tirelessly navigated me to the Schipol airport route and showed me the bus stop even in the pouring rain.Arthur is an asset to the hotel and def.deserves a rise of pay :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great hotel, great location (shops/restaurants nearby, tram stops in front; 5 min ride to Leidseplein/shopping area), nice, clean and tidy rooms, great staff, very helpful and professional. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A bit pricey at 100 pounds a night for 3 Star Hotel, but nothing cheaper for the dates. However, quite adequate and friendly staff. Shower worked well and at least there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast extra at 10 pounds each, but a nice cafe across the road (can't remember the name) did a nice healthy, organic option and in fact cheaper.
Convenient for trams into town centre, although a 20 minute walk to Rijsmuseum, plus Van Gough museum.
We found a good Chinese restaurant in Veedijk Straat, called Kam Kee, apparently the most dangerous street in Red Light Area, but now Chinatown. Food was good in a basic place, at 25 Euros for lunch, compared to 50 Euros for 2 at a Sushi place.. .

Room Tip: Room number 303 on 3rd floor, facing street. A bit noisy because of trams, but no problem. Wifi at 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.