We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to sleep at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great location with a Tram stop just outside the hotel. Zuid station is 2 stops away which should give you a fairly good idea if you wish to take a train from the Shiphol airport to Zuid and then reach the hotel.

Decent sized rooms (request for those overseeing the road) with basic amenities. While it does not have a minibar or a snack counter in the room, the location of the hotel is such that there are grocery stores (on its right as you step out of the hotel) as well as series of eateries - just get out and take a walk towards the left. Breakfast is free - though there isn't any variation, I wouldn't mind it if I got to stay there for a business trip for a week or so. And, if one is staying for a week, the hotel offers one of the best deals in that location.

What I loved most was the friendly staff at the reception. They are always ready to help out be it with directions, suggestions for eateries, etc. I will stay there in my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    131
    71
    15
    12
See reviews for
32
103
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Me and my friend went for my birthday, very nice hotel, from the airport the taxi charged us nearly 40 euros. If i would have known how easy it was to get there on public transport i would have gone for this. WE had room 406 on the 4th floor, a bit annoying that we had to take the lift to the 3rd floor then take stairs, but overall the room was very spacious, bathroom had bath with shower, tea and coffee in room and towels changed daily.The hotel is located not in the central but trams are regular and you can buy a 24, 48 and 72 hour iamsterdam card from reception. There is a little supermarket shop a couple minutes walk away that you can go and buy things which you would like, theres a starbucks and a couple of coffee shops around, couple of resturants also. For nightlife we went to liesbein friday night and ra 2nd night which are both ok theres alot of bars and resturants there they play a lot of dance, hypno kinda music so if thats what you like then you'll be in heaven. You get barged a lot with no sorry so be prepared to drop a couple of drinks bars and clubs, i think its the nor there, drink are so expensive so basically it would be better to drink before going out. There was a night bus 358 which was every hour i think it was perfect because you can use your iamsterdam card.
Theres plenty of places to go during the day depending on what your into, and easily reachable from the hotel.
On the way back to the airport we caught tram number 5 for 2 stops which brought us very close to the train station just a couple mins walk the train ride was about 10mins, so very easy to get to. VERY NICE BREAK AND HOTEL. Also the reception staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nice clean room, towels changed everyday , kettle for tea and coffee included. You can pay extra 10 euros and have breakfast there, tram stop right outside for centre (10 mins) supermarket 50 yards away from hotel. if you want to see the sites buy a Iamsterdam card they are for 24, 48, or 72 hrs you can use the trams, buses ,metro and trains and canal ferrys free for your duration, plus you get free admission to most museums and the zoo and also get a large discount on canal trips .we even went around the ajax stadium free. As trams are minimum 2.80 and attractions are from 15.00 upwards so well worth investing. Quite expensive to eat the nearer to the centre you are lager prices ranged from 5 to 8.50 a pint. BEWARE you have to pay to visit toilets 50 cents really loved the break would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friends and I recently stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was extremely helpful and very kind especially staff member named Aziz. The rooms were a nice size and very clean and comfortable especially for a longer stay. The beds were very comfy and there was a lot of space to move around the room. The bathroom was nice and clean as well. Breakfast was included for us, which was nice so we didn't have to go find a place for to eat in the morning. There is a great bakery next door as well as a Coffee Company and a Starbucks location. We also found the supermarket down the street to be very convenient. The neighborhood that surrounds the hotel is extremely safe and also very nice. The hotel is in a great location. It is convenient to get to and from the airport as well as the City Center, Museumplein, Leidseplein, and Dam Square (basically any tourist attraction). Bike rental is also down the street and the tram stops right in front of the hotel. Free WiFi in the lobby, but if you want WiFi in the room you do have to pay for it. Overall, this is a really a great place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, despite some of the marketing material, this is not a City centre hotel. It's a good 20 minute walk into the centre and we don't hang around when on foot.
That said there's an excellent tram service (No's 5&24) into and out of the centre, from just outside the hotel. A day or multiple day ticket is good value and can be used on all routes.
The hotel was clean, our room it seemed recently refurbished with the usual requisites, for example clean bedding and towels, king sized bed, tea/coffee making facilities, free wi-fi (in reception) etc.
Breakfast was typically continental with ample food to stock for the day.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, providing useful advice when asked.
Amsterdammers celebrate New Year so don't expect too many restaurants and non city-centre bars to be open, particularly on New Years Day. We found some little gems in the De Pijp area of the the City, again within easy reach by tram.
Overall a good stay if not a little expensive for what you get (then again it was New Year so expect to pay more).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed here twice on business trips. Once with the wife and baby too. I work in the WTC, so its a nice 10 min walk from the hotel. The tram takes you into centraal too.

The rooms are nice (I always choose deluxe) and clean, bed is comfortable.

The cons are the toilet is very narrow, if you are a large person you will not like it.

Also the showers are good and powerful yet there is a major design flaw which could be dangerous. If you accidentally turn on the hot water on the shower first ,it is boiling hot water, you cannot access the cold tap as you will get burnt and there are no mains in sight. This happened to me, and i had to wrap 3 towels around my arm and reach the cold taps with my hand. There is a glass which swing in to protect the floor from splashing but as the toilet is right there you cannot access the taps by moving the glass.

4* rating for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed the night going and coming through Amsterdam. Very satisfactory, in a neighborhood close to Schiphol by taxi. Trains also go to RAI station, a stone's throw away and a short taxi ride, if needed. Accommodating young staff, clean, quiet rooms, comfy bed, and all the necessities for about 70 euros a night...much less than the airport hotel which wanted 290 euros and would not try to accommodate an early check-in without insisting on an extra 290 euros if I needed to get into the room before 3. The location is on the tram line, with a straight shot to the major musical attractions. Not glamorous, but very reasonable and good for that needed rest after a long trip. On way back, needed 5AM check-in, so guaranteed a bed by booking extra night. Still, all 3 nights did not add up to cost at airport. Great value.

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter, but I was in front and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.