We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service, clean, very near to RAI exhibition centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aachen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice service, clean, very near to RAI exhibition centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

very friendly hotel staff, especially Aziz who helped whenever needed. reasonable prices also during exhibition period. very near to RAI exhibition centre (5 min wich cab, 15-20 min walk). nice Argentinian restaurant next to the hotel and far more in direct neighboorhoud. i would recommend this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    115
    61
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
90
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped here for work a few nights and I really love the location. Stayed in Amsterdam a few times previously and this is the best area yet. Beethovenstraat is a stylish and classy neighbourhood with some good shops, bars and spots to eat, and this hotel is smack in the centre of it. worth mentioning here that here's a place at the end of the block called Fidelio Cafe that would make a brilliant local in any city with it's atmosphere, good beers and even better food, but sadly the same can't be said for the Beethoven.

If it was a colour it would be beige. Everything looks like it could do with a facelift.

That said, when you break it down into the raw materials of a hotel for a business trip there's nothing much to grumble about. My room was a good size with a decent bed, a great shower, good sized telly and plenty of natural light with views up and down the main road. The road's quite noisy but it didn't bother me overly. Breakfast was fairly poor but there was fresh bread and fresh juice and I've had worse.

It felt like they'd listened to reviewers advice and improved some of the essentials and this certainly made all the difference for my stay, but there's just no escaping the overwhelming blandness waiting around every corner. It's got zero character. You won't want to come back, but the charm of the area and the fact that it doesn't quite manage to upset you might just mean you forget you didn't really rate it and book another stay next year. Clever Beethoven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for four nights. the room had enough space for two. The small problem was the bathroom door, which was sliding and didn't actually isolate /seal / from the rest of the space. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found it comfortable enough for our stay. Nearby were a lot of shops , cafe and restaurants which was very convenient. Transportation was very good, since the tram station was a few meters next to the hotel. I would rate it 3+.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Beethoven Hotel for 1 week whilst exhibiting at a major Trade Show (September 2013). When we opened the lift door on the 3rd floor, after we had Registered, we were met by a really vile smell that lingered on for three days before finally dissipating.
Our Double Room overlooked the back (no garden) so it was quieter than the front, but it was dismal and urgently required redecoration, like the rest of the Hotel!
There was no ventilation in the lavatory/bathroom so the towels did not dry, and it was only on the third day that we started throwing them on the floor to get them changed. Even the net curtain in the room was filthy, with what looked like a large blood stain on it!
There was very little storage space for clothes, and what there was required a ladder to reach!
There was no free Internet (in this day and age?) AND they wanted to charge us for it, even though we were staying for seven days!
Breakfast was abysmal, and unchanging every day. There was a poor selection of cereals, no Meusli, totally tasteless fruit salad, the scrambled egg was like rubber, their sausages were small and 'dubious', and the coffee was totally undrinkable.
Reception was dour, and whilst not actually rude, did nothing to make one feel welcome in the venue.
All in all, a tatty, dismal, unwelcoming venue, and best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for one at another hotel, but if you must stay there, get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komatipoort, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amsterdam is an amazing city, and we loved staying at the Beethoven Hotel. The room was comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. We were a stone's throw away from the tram, so getting to all the interesting places we wanted to visit, like the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc. was easy. The staff provided us with tickets for the tram, and booked us on a day trip to Vollendam and Marken. We were picked up from the hotel by bus and taken to the central tour depot.
The "continental" breakfast included a choice of scrambled egg and sausage as well, which was more than adequate for a good tart to the day.
We loved the street we were in, as we could sit and have a good meal while we watched the normal Amsterdam life go by (mostly on bicycles!). It almost felt like we were part of the community, and we had good fun practising our Dutch phrases.

Room Tip: On arrival we were given the option of upgrading to a better room, which we did. It is a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good clean and comfortable hotel, in a good location. The street is pleasantly tree-lined, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and close to very pleasant walks by a suburban "green-area" canal. The tram stops (5 & 24) into the city centre are 2 minutes' walk away. We had a corner-room over-looking the street, with its trees and park-style benches, which was very nice. Yet there was surprisingly little noise from the street. A local supermarket was just round the corner.
The bedrooms are generous in size, the shower-toilets are well-kept. An electric kettle is supplied along with coffee & tea sachets, sugar & creamers. The wardrobes, however, were disappointingly narrow & small, with only a small amount of hanging space. The shelf space was so high up, that it was only usable by a tall person (I'm small), or someone with a set of steps. The rooms have air-conditioning that you can switch on & off at will. Very useful on a hot day or a warm, still night. The accoustic insulation seemed to be good, as we didn't hear a thing from other adjacent bedrooms.

The breakfast room was just behind the reception area, and was rather small. The TV is always on bringing you the latest international news in English. The buffet breakfasts were fairly good & filling, with cereals, tinned fruit & yoghourt to start with. But the same "boiled" mini-sausages, the same scrambled eggs (though this was nicely cooked), the same 3 sliced cold meats, the same 3 sliced cheeses - every morning for a week, did get a bit boring. A bit more variety would have been nice - e.g. fried bacon, mushrooms, hot tomatoes, small burgers, and perhaps a pot of hot beans. Still, everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff are pleasant & helpful.
It's strictly a No-Smoking hotel. You could be fined 50 Euros for smoking in the bedroom - even if you stand blowing the smoke out of the window; and you'll only get it back when you leave, if the hotel housekeeper is satisfied that no further smoking has taken place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked in to this hotel after our booked accommodation lost our booking and tried to raise the price.

Very good value, and convenient placed for public transport. Easy walking distance to the convention centre.

Rooms basic but very clean. Breakfast included and ample.
Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.