We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dismal, shabby Hotel with boring breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, Amsterdam 1077 HN, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dismal, shabby Hotel with boring breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Beethoven Hotel for 1 week whilst exhibiting at a major Trade Show (September 2013). When we opened the lift door on the 3rd floor, after we had Registered, we were met by a really vile smell that lingered on for three days before finally dissipating.
Our Double Room overlooked the back (no garden) so it was quieter than the front, but it was dismal and urgently required redecoration, like the rest of the Hotel!
There was no ventilation in the lavatory/bathroom so the towels did not dry, and it was only on the third day that we started throwing them on the floor to get them changed. Even the net curtain in the room was filthy, with what looked like a large blood stain on it!
There was very little storage space for clothes, and what there was required a ladder to reach!
There was no free Internet (in this day and age?) AND they wanted to charge us for it, even though we were staying for seven days!
Breakfast was abysmal, and unchanging every day. There was a poor selection of cereals, no Meusli, totally tasteless fruit salad, the scrambled egg was like rubber, their sausages were small and 'dubious', and the coffee was totally undrinkable.
Reception was dour, and whilst not actually rude, did nothing to make one feel welcome in the venue.
All in all, a tatty, dismal, unwelcoming venue, and best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for one at another hotel, but if you must stay there, get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    118
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
26
79
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Komatipoort, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amsterdam is an amazing city, and we loved staying at the Beethoven Hotel. The room was comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. We were a stone's throw away from the tram, so getting to all the interesting places we wanted to visit, like the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc. was easy. The staff provided us with tickets for the tram, and booked us on a day trip to Vollendam and Marken. We were picked up from the hotel by bus and taken to the central tour depot.
The "continental" breakfast included a choice of scrambled egg and sausage as well, which was more than adequate for a good tart to the day.
We loved the street we were in, as we could sit and have a good meal while we watched the normal Amsterdam life go by (mostly on bicycles!). It almost felt like we were part of the community, and we had good fun practising our Dutch phrases.

Room Tip: On arrival we were given the option of upgrading to a better room, which we did. It is a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good clean and comfortable hotel, in a good location. The street is pleasantly tree-lined, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and close to very pleasant walks by a suburban "green-area" canal. The tram stops (5 & 24) into the city centre are 2 minutes' walk away. We had a corner-room over-looking the street, with its trees and park-style benches, which was very nice. Yet there was surprisingly little noise from the street. A local supermarket was just round the corner.
The bedrooms are generous in size, the shower-toilets are well-kept. An electric kettle is supplied along with coffee & tea sachets, sugar & creamers. The wardrobes, however, were disappointingly narrow & small, with only a small amount of hanging space. The shelf space was so high up, that it was only usable by a tall person (I'm small), or someone with a set of steps. The rooms have air-conditioning that you can switch on & off at will. Very useful on a hot day or a warm, still night. The accoustic insulation seemed to be good, as we didn't hear a thing from other adjacent bedrooms.

The breakfast room was just behind the reception area, and was rather small. The TV is always on bringing you the latest international news in English. The buffet breakfasts were fairly good & filling, with cereals, tinned fruit & yoghourt to start with. But the same "boiled" mini-sausages, the same scrambled eggs (though this was nicely cooked), the same 3 sliced cold meats, the same 3 sliced cheeses - every morning for a week, did get a bit boring. A bit more variety would have been nice - e.g. fried bacon, mushrooms, hot tomatoes, small burgers, and perhaps a pot of hot beans. Still, everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff are pleasant & helpful.
It's strictly a No-Smoking hotel. You could be fined 50 Euros for smoking in the bedroom - even if you stand blowing the smoke out of the window; and you'll only get it back when you leave, if the hotel housekeeper is satisfied that no further smoking has taken place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked in to this hotel after our booked accommodation lost our booking and tried to raise the price.

Very good value, and convenient placed for public transport. Easy walking distance to the convention centre.

Rooms basic but very clean. Breakfast included and ample.
Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Beethoven for 3 nights early September. We found the room clean, comfortable and well maintained. The tram into the City Centre stops outside on the main road and travel was quick and easy. The service of the staff was excellent.
When a small issue arose, which could have developed into a major problem, the management were extremely quick to react and resolve the matter to our satisfaction. We cannot praise their efforts enough, they took appropriate action and more than made up to us what had gone wrong before.
Special thanks go to Ling who dealt with the matter, many thanks for an otherwise wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and used it as a base for seeing Amsterdam. It is located in an up market area in south Amsterdam about 5 minutes walk from the museum zone, away from the city. Our room was large, clean and very pleasant despite over looking the road. Noise was not a problem. Staff were good. The tram stop is right across the road which makes access into the city very easy, though we walked it a couple of times which was fine provided you like to walk. The south Amsterdam station is about 15 minutes walk away where you can get a train to Schipol in 6 minutes. Price was attractive as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Sad hotel with terrible personnel. Strange people always trying to find out what you do in your room. Once a day it could be fore times. Very dark and grey inside. More suitable for old grannies. Breakfast is everyday same, very small variety. Hotel it self more look like hostel, in rooms you can find out some doors, which is not main enterence, and someone is starting to open this door at 12 o'clock in the evening. I would not reccomend anyone this hotel even it is the last place in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, Amsterdam 1077 HN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.