We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 days and found the room to be clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom could have been larger but was again clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor but your in a good area to venture out and find better.
The hotel lacks a bar but luckily there is a great bar with good food 50m away, turn left out of the hotel.
Wifi is available for 3euros a day for roughly 5mbps, free in the lobby. However with no bar you'd have to sit at a breakfast table to use it.
For a 3 star it's not bad, you get everything you'd expect for the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    115
    60
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
90
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly hotel. Clean, and spacious room. Well situated if you want a healthy, interesting walk into the city each day. Public transport on the doorstep. Lots of breakfast choices if you go to local bakeries or cafes. (we chose to eat out) Interesting shops in the neighbourhood. A good choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hi,
I was stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during July 2013, with my two kids.
The room was very basic, like youth-hostel, quite noisy, very small bath room, and without refrigerator in it.
The location - not so close to the city center as they say (and despite the high price...!)...you have to take a 25 min. Tram to get to all the nice places and to the central station.
Breakfast - was quite suprising! we always found something to eat.
The service - was great. The staff were very freindly and helpful when we needed their help.

So...basic hotel, don't come with high expectations and you will enjoy it! :)

Thanks and enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Easy to get from Schiphol to the hotel via train to Station South and number 5 tram, which stops 25 metres from the hotel entrance and continues on to Central Station. Nice room with comfortable bed, helpful and friendly staff and a great breakfast. Stayed at the rear of the hotel in room 320 and it was very quiet. Overall value for money & I would definitely stay there again. Good place to explore a wonderful city from. Great bakery on the corner. Could provide free wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: We were in room 320 at the back of the hotel, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here, rooms largest I have stayed in Amsterdam. Bathroom tiny, massive noise from trams outside from 7.00am. No air conditioning but free coffee in lobby 24H. You must pay for wi-fi in your room per day, free in lobby, staff helpful and kind, bedclothes clean but roorms needs refurbishment. It is a 3* hotel so u would expect this. Lots of bakerys nearby and a few restaurants. Trams 5 & 24 take u to Central Station from outside front door.

Room Tip: Get a room at back of hotel. Front rooms are toooooooo noisy. U will be awake at 7.00am for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid 3 star place with 5 star service. It is a bit out of the city center but the tram service is close n convenient. The area has a lot of amenities.

My only gripe is that you have to pay for wifi and can only log 2 devices on it.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would stay here again unless I found a olace that offered free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Beethoven is very well located in south part of Amsterdam in Beethovenstreet. It is only 10-15 minutes by taxi from the airport Amsterdam Schiphol. It is good starting location to go to the city centre - direct connection by tram (i mean only 5 stops) which has the station very near to hotel. Near to the hotel there are many different stores (supermarket Albert Heijn - open till 10 p.m., fashion, drugstore) and restaurants (next to the hotel good chinese restaurant, Starbucks, various pubs).

From the entrance door the hotel looked very traditionaly. The reception is small and very cosy. And this is the main disadvantage - although the hotel is very cosy, everything is too small. The receptionist was very kind and very eficient. Although we were a group of a few people, check-in was very fast and efficient. In the hall it is available free wifi.

My room was in the first floor. You can use stairs or 1 elevator. Access to the room is by the card. The room was realy tiny. I can't imagine that in this 2-bed room can be accomodated 2 persons. There is hardly space for 1 person. The room looked very old-fashion but on the other side it was cosy (see picture). It was average equiped - sat-tv (also possible buy paid tv channels), telephone, alarm clock, safe. Wifi is not free (free only in reception) but you can buy access to internet for some 3,50 EUR/24 hours/2 devices. I bought myself wifi-access for both 2 nights what I spent in the hotel. But first day there were serious problems with wifi coverage and I nearly couldn 't use it. The surprise was that the next day it was without any problem.

If I wrote that the room is too small, the bathroom is really very very small. Wc, shower corner - everywhere to less space. But what is positive - all lights there are modern led technology so it means the hotel takes care about enviroment.

Other disadvantage I see in the fact that the hotel doesn't have any restaurant opened in the evening. If you want go for some dinner you must go search for any restaurant nearby. Breakfasts are served in small hall in the ground floor. I must tell breakfasts are average or slightly above average. Good choice and perfect quality of products. Overall I was very satisfied with the breakfasts.

I see the hotel Beethoven very suitable for business stay. If you travel alone you can use it also as a great starting point to go to the Amsterdam centre. For travelling in pair there are too small rooms in the hotel. From my point of view the hotel is not very cheap - but everything in NL is not very cheap. So overall it was not bad stay there.

Room Tip: My room had windows to the street. And there was no noise from the traffic or trams. It was very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.