We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located clean, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well located clean, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A good hotel located on the tram line which makes it easy to get to from the airport and to go to the centre. The hotel itself is nice and the room I stayed in was compact but adequate. The main problem with the hotel Is the noise level, ok as I was getting up early anyway but would not be good if one wanted to sleep late. I did not have breakfast but there is a coffee shop and bakery next to the hotel and a supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    105
    57
    14
    11
See reviews for
27
81
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed in the Beethoven for one night in April 2012. I am astonished at the positive reviews for this hotel. Our room was so tiny that the (pushed together twin) beds took up almost all of the floorspace. There was no place to put the suitcase except on the floor in front of the door. The hotel is immediately beside a tram stop, but after taking the tram to downtown, we found ourselves waiting for a ride, in the cold rain, for over 30 minutes twice. Customer service was fine during the day, but the evening clerk was worse than rude. The Internet is a joke. I was never able to log on, and there was no one to help. I have stayed in hotels in Europe, Asia, Australia, North America and South America during the past year (multiple times in most of these locations), and this was the most expensive hotel, with the smallest room, and the most offensive clerk I have ever experienced. As an added disappointment, we saw very few tulips, except for the ones for sale in the stores, and this was in mid April.

Room Tip: Get room and bathroom dimensions before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've just returned from this hotel after a break with my husband. We felt that it was a nice Bed and Breakfast style hotel but a little overpriced for what was on offer. It's location was alright but not as near to the museum area as described but the tram system is excellent in Amsterdam and with an Iamsterdam card it was easy to get about. There was not too much noise from the cars and trams through the night but either the lift or main doors woke us up by 6.30 am.- the noise seemed to come through the floor. At least we got an early breakfast and was in Amsterdam nice and early! Another slight problem was the limited area for breakfast - just not enough seating for everyone when a few of us arrived at the same time. There was a television in the bedroom but you had to pay at reception for a card to access any programmes at all. We found this strange that no programmes were available for free.
Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Avoid this hotel if you can. The room I am in is okay but the windows are crap and I couldn't sleep because of the tram and traffic noise outside. Breakfast is okay although the coffee is awful. What annoyed me the most is that they rip you off big time with using the internet in the room. It costs an outrageous 10 Euros (per day!) to use the internet, a service that costs them nothing to provide but they nevertheless charge you excessively for it. The internet ought to be free these days, it is such a basic service. Even if they charge something, 10 Euros is excessive and nothing but a huge RIPOFF. I hate being ripped off and therefore I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel 1st - 5th March. Its location is away from the city centre in a nice area of Amsterdam. The Beethovens location is ideal if you are wanting somewhere to get away from the busy night streets of Amsterdam. The centre of the city is within walking distance approximately 40 minutes. The frequent trams are also very accessible with a stop virtually outside the hotel. Tram numbers from central station were numbers 5 or 24 usually every 10 mins at the outside. The rooms are basic but clean, bathroom was clean and tidy and well maintained. Staff were polite and very helpful. Overall i would certainly reccomend this hotel as a budget choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

we stayed in this hotel in january this year ,i can say we really enjoyed it ,it was clean tidy and the staff were very friendly and helped us out with directions .if you get the train from the airport into central station just get the number 5 or 24 tram outside buy a ticket of the driver for a 24 or 48 hr this depends on how far your looking to travel we found that a 24 hr one at 7 euros did us well as we were not sure how far things are apart as we had spent most of our time around the city centre the no 24 tram takes you to the ann frank house and this is the same for the heinekiene expeience this hotel may be basic but it is in a good location for traveling about we were at the front of the hotel facing the street but it was still quiet would go back again to it .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Good location. Clean, well equipped, with very helpful staff. It is basic, as you would expect from the price, but better than many others in the same bracket. Quiet room, even though it was on the street side of the hotel. Basic self service breakfast but plenty of choice.
I would not recommend the pizza restaurant directly opposite. Overpriced, poor quality food, unfriendly to the point of rudeness, and when the starter I ordered had clearly gone off. I saw the chef taste the returned plate and immediately spit it out in front of customers, before throwing the rest of the container in the bin!Pasta was disgusting. Despite our clear dissatisfaction, the bill was still 50 euros. Try Fidelio's- I wish we had!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;