We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thoroughly enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ipswich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thoroughly enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel 1st - 5th March. Its location is away from the city centre in a nice area of Amsterdam. The Beethovens location is ideal if you are wanting somewhere to get away from the busy night streets of Amsterdam. The centre of the city is within walking distance approximately 40 minutes. The frequent trams are also very accessible with a stop virtually outside the hotel. Tram numbers from central station were numbers 5 or 24 usually every 10 mins at the outside. The rooms are basic but clean, bathroom was clean and tidy and well maintained. Staff were polite and very helpful. Overall i would certainly reccomend this hotel as a budget choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    120
    66
    15
    11
See reviews for
30
93
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

we stayed in this hotel in january this year ,i can say we really enjoyed it ,it was clean tidy and the staff were very friendly and helped us out with directions .if you get the train from the airport into central station just get the number 5 or 24 tram outside buy a ticket of the driver for a 24 or 48 hr this depends on how far your looking to travel we found that a 24 hr one at 7 euros did us well as we were not sure how far things are apart as we had spent most of our time around the city centre the no 24 tram takes you to the ann frank house and this is the same for the heinekiene expeience this hotel may be basic but it is in a good location for traveling about we were at the front of the hotel facing the street but it was still quiet would go back again to it .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Good location. Clean, well equipped, with very helpful staff. It is basic, as you would expect from the price, but better than many others in the same bracket. Quiet room, even though it was on the street side of the hotel. Basic self service breakfast but plenty of choice.
I would not recommend the pizza restaurant directly opposite. Overpriced, poor quality food, unfriendly to the point of rudeness, and when the starter I ordered had clearly gone off. I saw the chef taste the returned plate and immediately spit it out in front of customers, before throwing the rest of the container in the bin!Pasta was disgusting. Despite our clear dissatisfaction, the bill was still 50 euros. Try Fidelio's- I wish we had!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel while visiting Amsterdam. Staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean, and it is in a great location. However, I had a room which shared a wall with the not-so-quiet elevator. I would recommend requesting a room a little further from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Hotel is ok, although a bit run down. The lift is somewhat frightening, and the coffee for breakfast is one of the worse I've ever had. BUT: the location is excellent. Beethoven street offers good restaurants (try the Fidelio just around the corner) and some nice shops. The tram stops directly in front of the hotel and takes you to the city center in 10 minutes, and, reason for my stay: the RAI exhibition center is 15 minutes walk or 6 minutes by bus away.
My room was quite big and had access to kind of a roof terrasse to the back of the house. However, my colleagues had smaller rooms and complained of a tiny bathroom. So, if you are looking for accomodation just close to exhibition or for a city weekend and do not care too much for luxury, this might be a good place for you to stay. And good coffee is available just next door at a coffee chain.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

It’s all to do with your expectations and why your in Amsterdam in the first place. Seems OK for business but might not be great for couples? Hard to tell? Location was near enough to the centre of town and easy access via the local tram just outside the door. The hotel is quite non descript but I’ve stayed in worse. Don't go for the breakfast as it’s not good and there is a nice coffee shop next door that seems a better option.

Rooms were small and basic but as we were on business did the job. Would I stay again? I'd look for somewhere better but would happily saty again if I couldn’t'.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed here one night as we needed to be in the neighboorhood. Very average hotel, stains in the carpet, very soft beds. One of the cheaper options in Amsterdam, but 2 stars is more appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.