We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city break hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent city break hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My family (husband and I, two late teenage children) spent 3 nights in Amsterdam before Christmas. We wanted an affordable (3-star) hotel in a pleasant part of Amsterdam (away from the station area grot), with easy access to all the sights - plus a good Tripadvisor review! This hotel met these requirements and subsequently exceeded our expectations. Situated just beyond the Concert Hall, the tram stops virtually outside; Riksmuseum canal stop is about 5 mins walk and all of the 'lower' half of the city is an easy walk. Despite an early flight arrival, our rooms were ready at 9.30am. The Dutch hotelier on reception was incredibly helpful and welcoming. He gave us a map with highlighted tram routes (and info on where/how to buy/use tram tickets, often something we find tricky!), good places to eat, generally nice bits of the city to wander round etc; The rooms clean, well-fitted, decent size (ours was actually a large corner room, v nice); breakfast well-stocked (included in hotel price, unusual). Ok, maybe stair carpets a wee bit shabby, but this was a sightseeing break! Nothing too much trouble for staff, would definitely return to this hotel (note it's called 'Leidesplein' in Dutch.) We should also have used the hotel for taxi transfers to Schippol, which would have cost 32.50EUR each way. I made the mistake of pre-booking the Connexion hotel bus transfer via the City-Discovery website (World-Air-Transport) who charged 128EUR for four of us for return tickets with a face value of 21EUR each! (and we would have qualified for a further 10EUR group discount!) So much for a website 'guaranteeing best prices'!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really - although computer was apparently not working
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bryan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

This is a good hotel for a 3 star European hotel. The price is reasonable, it is very clean and the service is excellent. The rooms are not particularly spacious but they are much bigger than several hotels of the same category in big European metropolitan areas. The continental breakfast is an extra bonus, it includes a variety of breads, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, juices etc. For those who are looking for a cultural experience in Amsterdam and don't want to spend a lot of money in hotel, this is ideal. The hotel is located very close to the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum and the Concertgebouw. It is also easily accessible by tram or bus; but one can walk from the hotel to most touristic sites in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceloBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe, cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Great hotel, in good location. Staff friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble, gave good information on local restaurants and bars. Room spacious, clean and well appointed and the breakfast exeeded all expectations, set us up for the day! After last years terrible experience in the Hotel Mozart, would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elderslie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

This trip was taken by my husband and I (50's) for a 4 night stay, 1st time visit to Amsterdam. Having read the previous reports I had a feeling of disappointment that his was our accomodation. However, I found the Hotel exceeded my expectations.
LOCATION.
True it is a fair bit from the centre, but the public transport is good. We decided to walk everywhere and there is plenty to see to keep you going. We averaged 12 - 16 miles a day and had very sore feet after 3 days!!! It is near the beautiful Vondelpark, and is next to the museum and fashion quarter which houses all the upmarket designer shops ie Chanel etc. Keep walking and you will come to The Hard Rock Cafe and go a little further and you will come to lots of restaurants etc. For normal shops like H &M, C &A and many other recognisable names head for the streets of Dam Square. Be careful though as the Red Light District is on the other side of Dam Square, (and is well worth a visit)
ACCOMODATION.
The room was small but very bright and clean. The bathroom was modern. There was a fridge, a safety deposit box, a television, phone, kettle and a welcome pack of tea, coffee etc. The hairdryer was not present, there was a hole in the wall where it once hung but had been removed. This did not bother me as I took my own anyway. If I had reported it I am quite sure a satisfactory outcome would have occurrred.
STAFF
The staff were all lovely, friendly and very helpful.
BREAKFAST.
Fantastic and well worth getting up for. Wide range and would satisfy even the fussiest of eaters! The kitchen staff were lovely. There was a variety of cereals, fruit cocktail, fresh fruit, cream bacon, scrambled egg, rolls, toast, bread, meat, cheese, fruit juices, tea and coffee, biscuits etc
VALUE
As a place to stay for bed and breakfast it is certainly good value for money. However, if you buy crisps, coke, sweets etc these items are expensive. Better to go round the corner and opposite the Concert Hall to the Supermarket (not obvious you have to go down an escalator-beside a car park) where you will find things much more cheaply. At the moment as the Pound is doing so badly against the Euro we found Amsterdam very expensive.
PLACES OF INTEREST
There are lots of places to go. We visited Anne Franke's House , The red light district, Dam Square,Van Gogh Musuem, The Reijksmuseum, went on a canal boat, visited Madame Tussauds
and had a quick look inside a coffee shop which was a real eye opener!!! In short lots to do and lots of places to eat and drink. The Sottish bar off the main shopping street at Dam square is the cheapest in town. Say hello to Linda from Clydeband, Allan, Ray and Eddie who likes to be known as Brian!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff and breakfast!!
  • Disliked — distance from centre, although transport links were excellent.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Speaking from an American perspective this hotel is not all that great, but it's not bad.

Location: Awsome location - very very close to museums, Leidsplan, good restaurants. 15 min from Schipol

Staff: very nice & helpful

Breakast: not the biggest/nicest spread I've seen, but absolutely suitable for a good breadfast with hot and cold foods

Actual rooms/bathrooms: the worst part of the experience. the room looked worn & in need of a serious refurb. Carpet looked FIlthy - kept my socks on the whole time. Upon 1st glance the bathroom seemed ok, but upon further inspection was on the icky side.

* I could hear all the comings & goings of my neighbors - in fact I thought my room was being broken into mutliple times b/c when the room next to me tried to open their door it was like it was my door.
* they take your key from you whenever you leave the hotel and you get it back upon your return. They never ask for an id in order to get the key, you just say your room number. The hotel is small, but not small enough for the rotating staff to know who you are each time you come/go

Bottom Line: stay somewhere else if you can afford it - if not, you'll survive but not be thrilled.

Check out my actual room pics...although I'd say it looks cleaner in the pics than it did in person.

  • Liked — staff & breakfast
  • Disliked — room/bathroom/cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casey9464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday with 3 other people and we were looking for a hotel that was reasonably priced within the Liedesplein/Vondelpark district. I had personally read the reviews which all appeared to be favourable and I can honestly say that in no way were we disappointed with our choice. The staff/owners were exceptionally friendly, helpful and very willing to provide maps on which they highlighted tram routes and generally where places of interest were located.

The rooms were a good size with a TV and a fridge which was "for our convenience" which I thought was a lovely touch. Most importantly, the bed and pillowswere superbly comfortable and whereas our room at the front of the building on the 4th floor was a little noisy with the windows open, because it had air conditioning we were able to close the windows and sleep peacefully without being too hot. Another member of our party was at the back of the building on the 1st floor which was lovely and peaceful but didn't have air con, however there was a large door/window that could be opened to allow air into the room. This basically meant that wherever you are in the building, you will have a good night's sleep!!

We didn't order breakfast as it was continental and we wanted a bigger meal to set us up for the day so I cannot comment on how good/bad/value for money it is, however at the time of our visit, the pound was very weak against the euro which did make everything just that little bit more expensive than I had seen before however this isn't any reflexion on this hotel in anyway.

The hotel is within a 5-10 minute walking distance of the beautiful Vondelpark which is wondeful to sit and relax in on a summer's day. There are 3 tram lines within walking distance of the hotel which are Nos 5, 16 and 24 and Leidesplein is only a couple of stops away on tram 5 however Dam Square is only about 10 minutes which meant for us, Museum Square Hotel was ideally situated.

On our first night we arrived later in the evening so we opted to eat just around the corner from the hotel and we enjoyed a beautifully cooked steak with sauce, fries with a very pleasant and welcome service.

For my birthday we went on a Dinner Cruise which we booked in advance through www.viator.com and cost £110 for 2 people but we both considered it to be worth the money once you compare the cost of this to cheaper cruises that do not serve dinner. The cruise began at 8pm so we were able to enjoy the daylight, dusk and nightfall and the beautiful colours of the red light district and lit up bridges reflected in the water during our 2.5 hour trip. The food was gorgeous and we were given complimentary glasses of sparkling wine followed by beers, wine or soft drink which were also included in the cost. If you have the money to spare and would like a romantic evening, this is definitly the way to go, however if you would like to enjoy the sights at a more reasonable cost, there are candlelit cruises for £22 per person that last 2 hours.

I have visited Amsterdam a few times over the years but mainly in the autumn/winter and as this was my first summer trip and the sun was shining, we chose to treat ourselves and take a 30 minute horse and carriage ride around the cobbled streets which we caught from Dam Square and cost 45 euros regardless of how many people are in the carriage, as there were 4 of us, this worked out relatively cheap and was one of the highlights. You can hire them for longer (an hour) or for less but we felt 30 minutes was perfect.

Overall we found the Dutch to be very friendly, helpful and with a laid back un-hurried approach that was conducive to a relaxing time despite the apparent hustle and bustle of a vibrant city. When we return again in the future, myself and the other 3 members of my group will definitly be staying at the Museum Square Hotel again.

  • Liked — Difficult to choose between the location, friendliness and comfort of the hotel
  • Disliked — One small bug-bear that we were at the front but this didn't put me off and I would stay in the front again
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This really is a good hotel. It looks quite expensive, but first Amsterdam hotels are expensive generally and second it's worth every cent. Just as the other reviewers, I was amazed at how friendly the staff were, it feels like a real family hotel. And we got free coffee on arrival, too.
The room is spacious, quiet in spite of the trams outside and clean. It's nice that the minibar is just a fridge for stuff you buy yourself (and of course you're told where to buy stuff the minute you just think of it) and not a load of overpriced drinks you don't want.
It's not smack in the centre, but that's probably a good thing. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are just ten minutes' walk away, and Leidseplein (for the nightlife and restaurants) only twenty, and of course you can take the tram. The neighbourhood is nice and quiet, with more than a few cafes and a convenience store: look for the AH logo near the entrance to the underground parking on van Baerlestraat near the Van Gogh Museum. For shoppers, PC Hooftstraat is just ten minutes' walk away.
Transportation tips: if this is your first time in Amsterdam, your best bet from Schiphol is the airport shuttle minibus: look for the green Connexxion shuttle and ask the driver where to buy tickets. If you feel comfortable with Amsterdam's public transport, it is faster (and much cheaper) to take the train to Amsterdam-Zuid (there are loads) and then tram 5 to Concertgebouw, rather than going all the way to the Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Edricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#100 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing