We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location to Visit the Museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Save Saved
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Warrington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Great Location to Visit the Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I travelled to Amsterdam with a friend who wanted to visit the Rijksmuseum which reopened it's doors in April following 2 years of renovations.

The hotel is well located to the museum quarter and is only a 5 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and has plenty of restaurants around the corner from the hotel. It's about a 30 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam and there are plenty of stop off points if you want to plan your sight seeing routes around a cup of coffee etc. We booked our transfers for 54 euros with the airport shuttle bus online, taxis are around 40 euros each way so a good saving if you use the shuttle bus. There is a bus stop for the airport bus not far from the hotel (bus 197) if you want to do this but as we wanted to make the most of our short stay the shuttle bus was a good option for us.

The hotel is very modern and eco friendly it has everything you need but no frills, the reception staff were welcoming. Breakfast isn't worth the 13 euros cost and the hotel could improve this if they really wanted to, we didn't see many people eating breakfast in the hotel. We bought fruit and juice at a local supermarket and had this in our rooms which enabled us to get an early start on our sightseeing.

My room was on the ground floor (room 20) which meant I wasn't able to leave my curtains open as everyone could see into the room as they walked by and I wasn't able to open the window. My room was very noisy as the reception area and cleaning cupboard back onto the room and there is a main tram line directly outside the hotel, so I wouldn't recommend this room if you want a good nights sleep. The hotel need to add some soundproofing to the wall between the room and reception etc as the headboard of the bed directly backed onto the reception area walk and I didn't appreciate being woken up at 3.15am by people chatting and again at 6.30am when the switchboard is turned on. My friend had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden and didn't experience any problem with noise at all. Bathrooms have a walk in shower which was very good, bring your own shampoo shower gel if you are fussy about what you use. Rooms have a great hairdryer and flat screen TV.

We booked our museum tickets on line so didn't have to queue very long including the Ann Frank museum, good job we did this as the queues were right around the building and it was too hot to be standing in a queue for over an hour. If you book online you also get a 30 minute pre tour talk which was very interesting. We did a canal tour which lasted 75 minutes and cost 15 euros great value.

Restaurants prices are very reasonable and we had a main meal and a glass of wine for around 20 euros each, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from with something to suit everyone.

We spent a couple of hours in Vondelpark looking walking around looking at the statues etc.

A great visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 20 or a room at the front of the hotel request a room at the back of the hotel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    251
    63
    12
    14
See reviews for
99
232
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a stay in Amsterdam out of the hustle and bustle of the centre. The hotel is very conveniently located next to the bus stop for the 197 airport express bus so is really easy to get to and find. The staff are mostly pleasant and helpful. The rooms are lovely and spacious and bright with lots of quirky eco features. They are very comfortable with lots of room to get ready in and a lovely comfy bed, just what is needed after a hard day's walking! The bathroom was also very nice with a powerful shower. The only negative was that sometimes the room could get quite hot. The restaurant is located close to many places to eat and there are lots of things to do close by such as the museums and parks. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Museum Square, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hey thanks for taking the time to share your experiences.

Hope you've enjoyed your stay and that we can welcome you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Conscious is located right next to the 197 bus stop which goes to and from Schipol Airport. Thanks to the bus and early flight we arrived at the hotel some time before check-in. The reception (which was always manned) took our luggage and we went for a look around.

There's a supermarket nearby where we filled up on sandwiches after the long day. Looking around, we easily found the Van Gough museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedjikmuseum and Bols Cocktail House. The trams that stop nearby can take you anywhere in Amsterdam and you can pick up a 24 hour pass from the reception (don't forget to check-in and out on the tram!).

We were given Room 306 which included a large, comfy double bed, bathroom, and large window doors which opened to a balcony that overlooked the courtyards and gardens behind the hotel. Other than the thunderstorms we had one night, it was really quiet. It even had a flat screen TV with channels that you would expect to pay extra for in some hotels - we had Comedy Central on whenever we were in the room. It was clean and cleaned again every day.

We had to leave our key with reception before leaving for the city which was a bit odd so we made use of the (free) safe to protect our valuables. That's not to say that we felt the hotel was rife with pickpockets - the receptionists and cleaners were all really friendly.

Oh, and there's free Wifi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, then returned and stayed one more. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Courtyard was a nice escape and breakfast was plentiful. Staff were great about recommendations and allowing us to store our luggage at no cost while we made a side trip to Paris. Location is unbeatable- Rijksmuseum is right out the front door and Vondelpark a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I liked this hotel. I was here for 2 nights with colleagues. Comfortable bed. I like the Eco furnishings including the forest wallpaper! I had a room at the back with balcony and it was quiet and not hot despite the heat outside. Colleagues had rooms at the front so there was traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good quality and reasonable price. I loved the foyer with it's living wall of plants! I would stay here again on business or for leisure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Enjoyed the nice reception I got when checking in. It was super hot that day and they offered rooms on the "cooler" side of this non-air conditioned hotel. This worked out ok - the room was not cool by any definition, but certainly cooler than outside.

The first room offered was on the ground floor however, and it was quickly apparent that the noise from the lobby was going to be a problem. After moving upstairs, all was well - even on the street side of the hotel. (I wore earplugs at night - just in case)

This is a basic, clean hotel with few amenities beyond the normal ones. There was a good size safe in my room which made me feel better. The bathroom was clean, modern, and functional. The lobby area is large and clean and there's a patio outside.

All in all - not bad for the money in this convenient area. Oh, forgot to mention that the 195 bus to/from the airport stops very near by, allowing an easier trip than going to the central station and taking the train. It takes about 35-40 mins to or from Schiphol. (leave more during rush hour)

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great hotel with spacious rooms for three persons. Minimalistic in furniture, but loyal to the Environmental concept of Concious hotels. Very friendly staff with a positiv touch on everything. Parked at the P+R at the Olympic stadium. Remember to pay for the tram both ways to get the discount. For me two nights became €100. Close to everything, including the supermarket underneat the van Gogh museum. (No cards, only cash). Strange smell on the bathroom. Was Nice to have a fan at the room. Short walk to the sightseeing boats. We used the last departure to get into the heart of the city. Will return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Museum Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Please stay with us again soon and let us know if there is anything we can do for you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.