We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great room, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Conscious is located right next to the 197 bus stop which goes to and from Schipol Airport. Thanks to the bus and early flight we arrived at the hotel some time before check-in. The reception (which was always manned) took our luggage and we went for a look around.

There's a supermarket nearby where we filled up on sandwiches after the long day. Looking around, we easily found the Van Gough museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedjikmuseum and Bols Cocktail House. The trams that stop nearby can take you anywhere in Amsterdam and you can pick up a 24 hour pass from the reception (don't forget to check-in and out on the tram!).

We were given Room 306 which included a large, comfy double bed, bathroom, and large window doors which opened to a balcony that overlooked the courtyards and gardens behind the hotel. Other than the thunderstorms we had one night, it was really quiet. It even had a flat screen TV with channels that you would expect to pay extra for in some hotels - we had Comedy Central on whenever we were in the room. It was clean and cleaned again every day.

We had to leave our key with reception before leaving for the city which was a bit odd so we made use of the (free) safe to protect our valuables. That's not to say that we felt the hotel was rife with pickpockets - the receptionists and cleaners were all really friendly.

Oh, and there's free Wifi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    276
    69
    13
    15
See reviews for
107
255
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, then returned and stayed one more. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Courtyard was a nice escape and breakfast was plentiful. Staff were great about recommendations and allowing us to store our luggage at no cost while we made a side trip to Paris. Location is unbeatable- Rijksmuseum is right out the front door and Vondelpark a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I liked this hotel. I was here for 2 nights with colleagues. Comfortable bed. I like the Eco furnishings including the forest wallpaper! I had a room at the back with balcony and it was quiet and not hot despite the heat outside. Colleagues had rooms at the front so there was traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good quality and reasonable price. I loved the foyer with it's living wall of plants! I would stay here again on business or for leisure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Enjoyed the nice reception I got when checking in. It was super hot that day and they offered rooms on the "cooler" side of this non-air conditioned hotel. This worked out ok - the room was not cool by any definition, but certainly cooler than outside.

The first room offered was on the ground floor however, and it was quickly apparent that the noise from the lobby was going to be a problem. After moving upstairs, all was well - even on the street side of the hotel. (I wore earplugs at night - just in case)

This is a basic, clean hotel with few amenities beyond the normal ones. There was a good size safe in my room which made me feel better. The bathroom was clean, modern, and functional. The lobby area is large and clean and there's a patio outside.

All in all - not bad for the money in this convenient area. Oh, forgot to mention that the 195 bus to/from the airport stops very near by, allowing an easier trip than going to the central station and taking the train. It takes about 35-40 mins to or from Schiphol. (leave more during rush hour)

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with spacious rooms for three persons. Minimalistic in furniture, but loyal to the Environmental concept of Concious hotels. Very friendly staff with a positiv touch on everything. Parked at the P+R at the Olympic stadium. Remember to pay for the tram both ways to get the discount. For me two nights became €100. Close to everything, including the supermarket underneat the van Gogh museum. (No cards, only cash). Strange smell on the bathroom. Was Nice to have a fan at the room. Short walk to the sightseeing boats. We used the last departure to get into the heart of the city. Will return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Museum Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Please stay with us again soon and let us know if there is anything we can do for you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights this week, and had a pretty average experience

What's good : location - 10 mins to Rijksmuseum & Vangogh museum. 2 min walk to the tram and bus stop which take you pretty much anywhere within the city

What's not great : No AC (yeah I know I should have read the details before booking !!) , no electric kettle in the room , no refrigerator in the room ( we struggled massively to keep our baby's milk and other food) and over 100 euros a night tariff ! That's a lot of money for no facilities . We were first given a room at the back side of the hotel, and The room turned into a furnace by 9 am . We had to really plead wih the receptionist to get it changed to the front of the building which is slightly better. Normally when you travel with a young kid, receptionists are considerate and make such adjustments on their own. Not in this place !! Also , since they claim to be a "green environment friendly" hotel, they only have one key per room ( I don't know how this is environment friendly !!) and hence you need to leave the key at the reception on your way out each time . We were horrified to see our room door ajar when we returned one evening . I immediately called the reception to check what ws the matter, and all she could muster up was a "sorry" !

Overall, would not recommend this hotel , especially for those who have young children travelling with them. Strongly felt that the hotel uses it's "green" tag to not provide enough facilities . Beware !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly hotel in a residential neighborhood just south of the Concertgebouw and Museum Square. Convenient to public transport. In a most comfortable walking neighborhood. Lots of small shops and nice restaurants are just a block away. Adequately sized elevator and rooms. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. Rooms facing away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.