We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly hotel in a residential neighborhood just south of the Concertgebouw and Museum Square. Convenient to public transport. In a most comfortable walking neighborhood. Lots of small shops and nice restaurants are just a block away. Adequately sized elevator and rooms. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. Rooms facing away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    276
    69
    13
    15
See reviews for
107
255
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am currently staying here an the temperature is 30degrees. No fans, no air con, no fridge to keep water cold, cheaply decorated and furnished. If Eco means not spending a penny on creature comforts for your guests then this place has it cracked.
Makes Premier Inns seem 5* and no less environmentally friendly, at least it is close to the museums so we can walk - don't stay here, it is a complete dump and not worth half of what I paid.

Room Tip: Only have an air con room if they have one but stay somewhere else instead. AVOID.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

...... as long as you are not looking for 5* amenities with hot and cold running flunkies, but want clean, bright and environmentally friendly accommodation.
Location is excellent, within 2 minutes' walk of the airport bus stop, numerous trams and the Concertgebouw, and 5 minutes' walk of the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, and the Vondelpark.
First impressions are not great, especially for evening arrivals, and after a ride up in the distinctly creaky lift, we were apprehensive, but immediately delighted with the bright and spacious room with comfortable beds and excellent bathroom. How they manage to save 35% of the water when the shower has such a good flow, I cannot imagine. They even provide firm pillows in the wardrobe for those who preferred them to the soft ones on the bed!
Breakfast was not cheap, but well worth the money, including everything you would expect from a good Dutch breakfast with the addition of freshly squeezed orange juice.
Staff were helpful, attentive and "hands on".

Room Tip: If you don't like the pillows, look in the wardrobe; they have everything here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, about 30 mins from the airport by tram and train. It is literally 15 minutes walk from the Art museum which makes a great location to stay.

The service on check in was not the most friendly experienced, but we all have bad days!

Once in the room, it was quite basic, but perfectly adequate for a stay as a tourist. The beds are all very clean with premium grade linen, and there are spare bed linen and pillows in the cupboard.

The bathroom again clean and well stocked.

It is an environmentally friendly hotel, apparently, but I am not sure why or how, as there was nothing that stood out as being "green".

My only complaint of the hotel was a lack of fresh water bottles, and coffee and tea facilities in the room. We therefore purchased tea and coffee each morning from the restaurant, but it was overpriced and small portions.

All in all, it is a good hotel and location, and clean which is all one needs when you are a tourist in a lovely city where you are out and about most the day anyway. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Conscious Hotel Museum Square for three nights in June 2014. We arrived at the hotel well in advance of the check-in time due to an early flight, but the hotel staff very kindly assigned us our room right away. Considering the small size of rooms in Europe, this hotel had decent sized rooms which comfortably accommodated several suitcases we were carrying. Housekeeping was good, and since we were on the highest floor, we were glad to have an elevator in the hotel. The best part was the staff who were very helpful in explaining the area as well as advising on public transport which was easily accessible from the hotel. If flying into Amsterdam, you can take bus 197 which arrives directly in front of the hotel at the Museumplein stop. More importantly, if you are in Amsterdam for a show at the Concertgebouw, you can't live closer than this. Overall, we loved the location and the service we received, and would gladly return to this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Welcoming and helpful staff, they advised us on everything we needed. Room was quiet and everything really clean. We paid an extra for breakfast but it was totally worth, with a lot of fresh drinks and food. Great location, close to some of the best museums and to Vondelpark, one of the most beautiful park in Amsterdam. Bikes for rent available too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A nice hotel in a good location. Close to the city but still not in the worse tourist areas. The tram leaves almost just outside the hotel, which can take you more of less everywhere in Amsterdam. Might go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.