We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conscious hotel. Museum Square Amsterdam.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“conscious hotel. Museum Square Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked here because the Hotel is close to Amsterdam's Concertgebouw where we had booked a concert. The location could not be any better for this and it is also very close to the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum.. The Hotel's other selling point is it's eco credentials. they do keep telling you about it but why not- as far as I'm concerned it is an excellent feature. And what is it like as a hotel? We were very pleased with it. The receptionist went to a lot of trouble - without even being asked - to help us with a parking problem, and all the staff seemed friendly and efficient. Naturally, being Dutch ,they all spoke good English. The room was large and comfortable although there was no kettle for making tea or coffee. Perhaps it's an ecological thing!
We thought the breakfast was good and you could help yourself to plenty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    256
    63
    13
    14
See reviews for
101
235
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

First I'll state the problems with this hotel: it's on the expensive side for what it offers, and doesn't even include breakfast in the price. If you pay for breakfast, you get very little even compared to 3-star hotels, for quite a high price. There was also no refrigerator in our room (they charge extra for this!). There was no kettle in the room, maybe because they're trying to be environmentally conscious (not sure).

Other than that, I really have no complaints. The location is almost as good as it gets, it's close to the major museums of Amsterdam and a number of tram lines to the center (we mainly used 5, 16).

The rooms were large and clean, and everything looked new. There was a large bathtub and everything was provided for, with enough glasses, towels, etc. The aforementioned inconveniences posed significant problems for us, but it's hard to complain about something that seems to be acceptable in most Amsterdam hotels. Still, maybe this is something that all Amsterdam hotels should improve (learn from e.g. Italy) instead of tourists having to get used to it.

The staff members were helpful and we were able to acquire the iAmsterdam City Card at the hotel itself. The hotel has a large lobby where one can sit and plan the day's itinerary while talking to the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were an hour early than the check in time, so we had to wait for about 30 mins for our room to be ready which is understandable - so we just relaxed and hung out in the lobby which is close to the garden. It was calm, warm and beautiful.

The staff there were pleasant and extremely friendly. The Dutch speak perfect English and explained things very well so its not difficult to get by in Amsterdam!

The bathroom was modern and clean as well. The room was neat, tidy and stylish. Just the basic essentials at its best. They also have multiple fuse/plugs/outlets. Only complaint though is that the pillows were too soft that we had to fold it in two, but still.

Oh, and they have TVs with news channel in English and movies and the likes, we ended up watching Dr. Phil! In Amsterdam! Haha.

Location is just perfect. Halfway to the center and airport. Just take the 197 bus to and from Schipol. Don't worry about transportation cause there's trams and you could rent a bicycle. Plus its a small city so you could just walk.

All in all, a great hotel to just unwind in after a whole day's worth of walking. I felt pretty posh to have been there considering I was on a tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group across 5 rooms. Each room had just the right amount of space for its purpose and the eco approach was stylish but unobtrusive. Had the very British dissapointment of not having free tea and coffee facilities offered in the room but apart from that the staff were lovely and helpful, the location was great (not too central but city within easy reach) and through booking.com we got a very decent price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Boring rooms, boring bordering on rude staff and pretty average to below average rooms.
More like a motel really!
Dirty walls, moldy muffins left out on breakfast counter, no one cleaned the room and reception staff really not interested, I guess they have good job security because they are pretty lousy at there job.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We shared a triple with our 18yr old daughter. The layout suited us perfectly (room 403) and provided excellent value-for-money in an enjoyable location, with a number of excellent bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were delightful. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, prefering the cheaper option of the coffee stand in front of the Rijksmuseum, where husband and self sat outside under blankets and bought hot chocolate and croissant back to hotel for late-rising teenager!

My sole criticism relates to the pillows, of which there was a choice of two: rock hard and massive or wispily thin and soft - something in the middle would have been better - though it didn't stop our Goldilocks sleeping well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed the simplicity of the clean and spacious room.
If one does not need to spend a lot time in the room apart from sleeping - it is perfect.
I did not have breafast nor other meals, so no review on these items.
The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful.

A very convenient feature is the bus stop at Museumsplein where the Airport bus (line 197) stops.

I would book the hotel again.

Room Tip: rooms to the inner court are more quiet and have a nice balcony. Of course the privacy is limited si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.