We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Save Saved
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
lancs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time for my 60th birthday. The staff were great as was the hotel the room was lovely and warm and the shower was great aswell if I tried to find a fault I couldn't i will definateley stay here again. And the airport bus stops right outside what more could you want

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    245
    62
    12
    13
See reviews for
96
230
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is outside the packed and touristy central area around the train station, but steps away from the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, and Concertgebouw, still very close to downtown, and on the express bus line to Schiphol. An eco-themed hotel, the place is clean, bright (no smoking whatsoever), and run by friendly staff. A comfortable level between luxury and mass-market touristy, this hotel offers good value and an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. It was clean and modern and really easy to get to from the airport on the 197 bus. The room was fairly basic but had a huge and very comfortable bed, plenty of space to hang your clothes and a balcony. Bathroom was clean with a really powerful shower. It was also a nice warm room (we visited in January). Very friendly, helpful staff available 24 hours. A pleasant 10 min walk to bars and restaurants or there is a tram stop just outside.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Perfect location and proximity to all museums and the Concertgebouw (home to one of the finer orchestras in the world)
Nice clean rooms with all the basics.
Service varied with the receptionist from ok to very good.
all in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Booked this hotel for a long weekend away for my wife's birthday. It is in a great location just 30 minutes on bus 197 from the airport $5 each. The bus stops straight outside the hotel. The rooms are quite basic but very clean, we only really wanted a bed and somewhere to shower and for the price we paid this was excellent. The staff answered any queries we had and were not too in your face all of the time. It is a little out of the main city but the trams run from just outside so not a problem at all.. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a double room to celebrate finding out we were expecting out first baby. I booked a double but have been given a twin. Asked to change rooms but was refused as we'd used the room for just over an hour (hadn't really clocked it was a twin til after showering.. We've been up since 3). So as compromise asked for double duvet.. They said they hadn't got one.. Asked if any doubles available tomorrow and was told we'd have to check in the morning, and depends if available... Surely he could have checked reservations. The room itself is clean and nice enough but no kettle or tea and coffee in rooms. Have to get from reception for £1.50. Seriously unimpressed and a bit upset by the way staff have not offered us any resolution.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in November having chosen it because of reviews, location and price and we were not disappointed. We arrived off an early flight at 10.30 a.m. and to our surprise found we could go straight to our room. The room was small but contained everything we needed, desk, 2 chairs, wardrobe with enough hangers for both of us. I thought the bed would be too soft when I sat on it, but stretched out and it was oh sooo comfortable! The shower was good too, powerful and plenty of hot water. Free wifi worked fine. Only downside was no hot drink facility in room and thought the breakfast was on the expensive side but the coffee was good! And all the staff we spoke to including the housekeeper were really friendly and helpful.

This little hotel is perfectly located for visiting the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and is a short bus ride away from the airport. It is within walking distance of the centre. We are in our 60s and I have a dodgy knee but we managed fine walking everywhere from here. Found some nice restaurants nearby too.

If I wanted to be near the museums on a future trip would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.