We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and green” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, friendly and green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in November having chosen it because of reviews, location and price and we were not disappointed. We arrived off an early flight at 10.30 a.m. and to our surprise found we could go straight to our room. The room was small but contained everything we needed, desk, 2 chairs, wardrobe with enough hangers for both of us. I thought the bed would be too soft when I sat on it, but stretched out and it was oh sooo comfortable! The shower was good too, powerful and plenty of hot water. Free wifi worked fine. Only downside was no hot drink facility in room and thought the breakfast was on the expensive side but the coffee was good! And all the staff we spoke to including the housekeeper were really friendly and helpful.

This little hotel is perfectly located for visiting the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and is a short bus ride away from the airport. It is within walking distance of the centre. We are in our 60s and I have a dodgy knee but we managed fine walking everywhere from here. Found some nice restaurants nearby too.

If I wanted to be near the museums on a future trip would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    289
    82
    13
    16
See reviews for
119
274
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

A small and clean hotel with a very helpful and friendly reception. My room has been upgraded for the entire stay due to lack of free rooms! Basic fresh breakfast but not included in the room rate. Downside is a bit out of central Amsterdam and the taxi drivers were ripping us of with a different tariff every time anywhere between 16 and 22 euros each way back and forth to central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, and despite having a great time in the city, this hotel was a little disappointing. We were upgraded to a spacious room with a nice view toward the south, but the standard overall, including the bathroom, feels faded, several years old, and the service ranged from mildly indifferent to outright rude (the breakfast guy must dislike his job). The breakfast was good but basic. The organic touch and general eco concept is nice, but this hotel is far from boutique or stylish - rather a decent value city hotel in a convenient location for Museumkwartier.

Room Tip: Ask to face south / backyard on upper floors (3-4) for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes,I agree with most of others reviews, this is a very comfortable hotel for family staying
If you wish for a short break in Amsterdam, so having stayed at this hotel will be lovely. Very comfortable rooms, and staffs there very helpful and informative. The Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum is very nearby, and nice restaurants either.Love to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We chose to stay in Conscious hotel next to the Museum square as it was centrally located to most of the attractions, a single bus journey from the airport, a single tram journey from Amsterdam RAI exhibition centre( yes I went for work) and a walking distance from Leidsplein. To tell the truth i was a little sceptical about a eco hotel, but these people were really good. The rooms were larger than most other properties i have stayed in europe for the same fare. Clean and crisp. And the best part was the women at the reception as they were always ready to help us out with anything we wanted. Always ready with suggestion on the restaurants , drinking holes, what to avoid,They had kept stock of the tram tickets, day passes,maps, etc. We could even rent a bicycle from there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were looking for a cheapish hotel close to Museumplein and couldn't have chosen better! We had a third-floor room at the back of the building which was large, quiet (apart from a few lift noises as we were almost next door to it), and the twin beds were amazingly comfortable - the best I've ever slept in. Very easy access to Schipol on the 197 bus, and plenty of trams nearby (nos 5 & 16 go to/from Central Station) though Amsterdam is a small city and everything we wanted to do was easily walkable (though all the bikes make this a bit hazardous!). We liked all the green credentials, and the staff were friendly and knowledgable about transport, sights, and local restaurants. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel and took a travel kettle so we could make hot drinks in our room (but you can buy coffee from a machine in the breakfast room for €1.50). The courtyard garden must be lovely in summer. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet - those at the front might be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having read previous reviews on here I booked two nights in November. I was expecting something special but found the hotel to be quite basic. The bed was comfy but the lack of facilities within the hotel to get a warm drink was disappointing. The rooms are quite small, there aren't any chairs.

Location is very quiet, particularly at night. I wouldn't stay here again as it was quite expensive and not really worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#107 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#87 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NL-Hotel Museumplein
NL-Hotel Museumplein
#100 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#83 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.