We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, and extremely helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, and extremely helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, and one can easily access public transport, making it really easy to get to anywhere in the city. The 197 bus from the airport stops right outside too. The rooms were very comfortable (especially the beds!) and clean, and it was interesting to read about the ethos behind them, with the table made of recycled coffee cups and the shower pumping air to reduce the amount of water used. We stayed here for the Amsterdam marathon as it's pretty close to the Olympic stadium. Most of all though, the staff were extremely helpful, ready to give directions or print items for us, or help us with anything else we might need. Great hotel for a weekend break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    281
    77
    13
    16
See reviews for
115
263
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chose to stay in this hotel because of its position which was excellent for visiting the Rijks and Van Gogh museums. It is easily accessible by bus from the airport and by tram into the centre of Amsterdam.
The rooms have an eco theme and were comfortable, quiet and clean. The lighting was subdued which could make the room appear dark. The beds have memory foam mattresses which were lovely. Breakfast was not included in the price but was freshly prepared each morning. The staff were pleasant and friendly and happy to recommend restaurants in the area. There were plenty of restaurant choices in the area.
We are happy to recommend this hotel but we would have liked drinks facilities in our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the minute you walk in, this hotel lets you know they care -- about you, and the environment. The front desk staff could not have been nicer, rooms are pretty spacious, incredibly clean and the beds are divine! Each room on a floor has a whimsical sign (I won't spoil it by telling). The breakfast was organic -- eggs like you can't get anymore, yummy bacon, great breads and cheese, home made granola, etc (no, I didn't eat all of it) -- and fresh orange juice squeezed while you watch. Wonderful experience in every way! The purpose of my trip was to see the re-opened, revitalized Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum -- this hotel is in walking distance to all. And to the Concertgebouw as well.

Room Tip: Try for one NOT on the main street if you like to sleep with the window open. Tram runs late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being unfamiliar with Amsterdam I booked this hotel because of it proximity to the museum square. It is situated along a quiet street right next to the concert hall, so an added bonus was the proximity of a number of bars and restaurants which I assume are related to the concert hall. Its location provides acess to the three major museums but it is some distance from the historical section although I easily walked to both areas each day.
The organic breakfast was very nice, however the spartan decor of the rooms with furniture made from recycled materials,limited lighting in the rooms ,the shower with a limited drain that slowly drains the water and soap in a push dispenser took some getting used to. Frankly, I was unaware of the totally green nature of the hotel. The room was ,however, large clean and relatively quiet. The people at the front desk were competent, but varied in friendliness. There is a small outdoor courtyard adjacent to the breakfast area that adds to the ambience in nice weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

just stopped in Amsterdam for 2 days to check out the museum renovations and was pleased to stay at this eco-conscious small hotel

a three star but pleasant; very good but pricey breakfast

location can't be beat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and we weren't disappointed!
From central station you need to get the number 5 tram which drops you outside the concert hall on museum square and the hotel is just around the corner from there. Number 16 drops you off right outside the hotel, but I'd say you could easily get lost if you've not been before there before so leave that till your exploring without your bags!
When we got to the hotel the man on reception was so helpful! Gave us a choice of rooms & gave us a map of Amsterdam and highlighted the tram routes I spoke about above, this was so helpful for us and gave us confidence exploring the city. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was clean, everything we wanted.
Just by reception there was a fridge with beers and crisps which we could purchase even when we got back from a night in the city.
When we checked out the hotel kept our bags until we came back for them when leaving a few hours later. The city tax was 6 Euros so didn't break the bank.
Loved this hotel. Loved Amsterdam. Vowed to go back to Amsterdam and this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked this hotel due to good reviews from tripadvisor. Hotel is in nice quiet museum area off the busy bar area (leidseplein) and central tourisy area. Yet it's only a few train stops away or if you prefer, within walking distance ( central amsterdam is, after all, very small). Still there are restaurants and grocery stores around. Room is of ample size and we stayed on top floor (4th) facing the street. There seemed to be no problem with house keeping per other reviews somehow we ran into problem. The first morning, room was not make up at all! 2nd morning, only old towels and trash were removed, nothing else!!!! Third morning was ok and 4 th day, we left. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast is all organic. If you need a taxi to the airport, front desk can get you a small electric taxi at fix rate of €30 (vs around €50 normal rate). Leaving the hotel key by the front desk is mandatory when you go out and the in-room safe key is tricky to maneuver.

If it is not of the house keeping problem, I would have give the hotel a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.