We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in May 2011. It was clean, spacious (for a European hotel), friendly, and pleasant. The location is excellent..around the corner from the Concertgebouw and directly on a major tram line. Staff was friendly and informative. I would definiteiy return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    263
    67
    13
    14
See reviews for
103
243
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

the hotel is in a very nice neighbourhood and is a few meters away from 2 major tramlines. the rooms are clean, the beds are big and comfortable. the employees are also helpful and kind. the only issue we faced during our visit was the WLAN - in the upper floors it was not working properly. In the lobby internet access was fine. One tip; ask for a hair-dryer while you are checking they are not in your room by default but are lended to you during your visit.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Visited Amsterdam for 3 days in May with my wife. At first we thought we had made a mistake in choosing this hotel but quickly learned otherwise. Just 2 blocks to 2 major tramlines that circle all of the areas visitors are most interested in. Some rooms (ours) are small so request a larger one but they are all comfortable. Front desk is very helpful with information and guidance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The location of this hotel is good -- it is a 15-25 minute walk to the heart of Amsterdam from the hotel, which may or may not be so good for some people. It IS close to Vondelpark, the Van Gough Museum and the Rijksmuseum (museumplein) so if you want to visit those places, it is very convenient.

The size of the double room and bathroom was very spacious for Amsterdam.

I appreciate their commitment to the environment, I really do. However, the bed was weird and the pillows were lumpy, and the towels were thin and rough. There is such a thing as eco-luxe but maybe this is too much for the price range of this hotel?

I could tell that originally the mattress must have been awesome -- all soft and fluffy. But after god knows how many guests, the middle of the mattress was worn down and it was kind of like sleeping in a hammock or canoe. And those lumpy pillows -- what is up with those?? Not comfy at all. And the spare ones in the closet were only marginally better. They were soft, but too soft and don't support your head or neck properly.

The room itself was very clean, as was the bathroom. They claim the carpets are eco-friendly, but how clean can they really be when people are trekking in shoe dirt from Amsterdam?

Also, although free wi-fi is advertised in their literature, if you are staying on the 4th floor, you will just not get wi-fi at all, on a laptop or on your mobile. You will have to go and sit in the lobby for a signal. The lobby is nice and comfy and all, but I'd rather sit in my room and use the internet.

There were no amenities in the room in terms of food or drink. If you wanted a coffee, you could go down to the lobby to get one, but they will charge you 1.25 euro for it. There were very few toiletries (hand soap, shampoo) for amenities in the bathroom.

One more thing: I wouldn't say the hotel is quiet since the walls were kind of thin, and the hotel is located next to a school. I could hear my neighbors' music, conversations and cavorting, and in the mornings I was awakened by screaming schoolchildren playing outside.

It wasn't a bad hotel, I just don't know if I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want wi-fi, get a room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Have just come back from a stay at the Conscious Hotel and for the price I paid I was impressed, I've spent a lot more in Amsterdam to stay in worse. The staff were great, so friendly and helpful. The room was simply furnished and in some ways basic but very comfortable and did the job. It had a desk if you needed it and lots of space.
I have two complaints, although there was free wifi in the hotel, it was only available in the hotel bar and probably in the rooms on lower floors but as I was on the top floor, I didn't get a signal, also there was no wired access in the room either, so if you need wifi, ask for a room on a lower floor. Other complaint is about the pillows, the ones out as standard on the bed were shocking, quite hard but also very lumpy, luckily there was another set in the cupboard but even those weren't that great, which was a shame because the bed was really comfortable. So if you're reading this Conscious Hotel, get new pillows!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Located nearby Vondel Park, which makes it about 15 min to the city center by foot - a good location if you are driving there - 24 euros/day to park the car on the public streets. The room had a decent size and it was clean. The bed was pretty good. The staff was appropriate and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

stayed here 21st april for husbands birthday, was supposed to be staying at hotel next door but they were a complete sham, this hotel however was polar opposite, they couldnt help us enough in finding alternate accomodation as they only had rooms for one night, they hotel was fantastic and the staff couldnt do enough for you will be going back again and again thanks again museum square!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conscious Hotel Museum Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.