We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I´ve stayed at this hotel with a friend for 5 days and we loved it. The Nova Hotel is located near Dam Square, so you can walk to every important place in Amsterdam by foot (Central Station, Damrak, Anne Frank House, Red Light District)) or taking a tram (there are 2 stops near the hotel - Spui and Raadhuisstraat).
The breakfast was great, and the area where the hotel is located is very quiet.
The hotel staff was very young and nice , polite and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    351
    127
    26
    23
See reviews for
136
228
58
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We struggled to find a hotel that could accommodate three people in one room, and the Hotel Nova had a very well accommodating room for three of us. It's location is amazing almost across the street from Dam Square, plenty of entertainment and eateries nearby. Many sightseeing venues within walking distance with a tram stop in front of the property. The hotel staff is absolutely amazing in their guest service - almost providing the feel of a B&B (by the way breakfast is included). Bathroom updated and clean. Only downside we noted is one which is common to 3 star hotels in Amsterdam - no air conditioning. We understand this is only a concern about 10 days a year, but we happened to be in Amsterdam during those 10 days. That said, I would not have paid the price differential for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ideally located on a quiet spot just outside of the busy center of Amsterdam. The hotel looks small from the outside, but once you enter it's quite big. And once you enter your room, you will see that it has huge rooms.
Very good beds, clean room and bathroom and great breakfast. Definitely one to keep in mind whenever you travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have spent one week.
complete breakfast: cheese, Cooked ham, sausage dried. To drink: orange juice, liquid yogurt... one of the best breakfast I never have eaten at the hotels I have been.
Good location in Dam square.
recomended 100%

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed last week at the Nova ,super place to stay clean,safe a great shower,quiet and a super breakfast .We were met by a lovely friendly guy Paul in reception,gave us lots of info .No charge for safety deposit box even on the day we were leaving and also we were able to leave our luggage until taxi came at 6pm .Super location for all the sights I would recommend it highly to any family hope to go back at a later date .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to Magna Carter shopping centre and Anne Franks house. Amsterdam museum is literally down the road and close to local coffee shops. A little far away from the airport. The location is very quiet which I loved. Only problem I had is our bathroom had a rancid smell coming from it when we first walked in. However, once notified, the receptionist rectified the problem straight away. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. There is alot of choice. Free wifi & discount cards in the reception meant we had money off when we dined out at night. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Visited there with friends and the reason was them being one if the only central hotels offering a 3 beds room.
The room was basic, had all you need from a room except AC.
Staff was very helpful and always available.
Location is great, 2 mins from Dam square and any other central location in the city

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#146 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#168 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#156 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#158 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#199 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.