We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend.
Reception staff were great & check in swift.
The route to the room was rather convoluted but I think it's several buildings cobbled together!! The room itself was large with a decent bathroom, fridge & safe.
Breakfast was fairly standard continental buffet each morning & everything was kept topped up.
The location is great & we walked everywhere we wanted to go easily.. It's very close to Bier Temple which was a bonus!!!
About a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal or a short tram hop..
It's not the Ritz but its a more than adequate budget hotel & I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    257
    90
    24
    16
See reviews for
80
161
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Nova 8/9/10 Feb. Great location, staff welcoming & very knowledgeable.
We had a large bright spacious room on 4th floor. Beds very comfortable, beautiful modern shower room. Breakfast very good. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 40 4th floor at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our overnight stay in Amsterdam was perfect due to the high quality location of the hotel. Everything you need is nearby and if not there is a tram 1 minute away from the hotel. The rooms are spacious. We had 4 beds while we where only with the two of us. That was just luck I guess but the room contained everything needed. The bathrooms are brand new. I am sure they are not older than one year. For us the bathroom is quiet important because hygiene is important to us especially in the bathroom. We stayed at the street side of the hotel and we did not even notice the tram passing by every couple of minutes. The breakfast was plentiful and of a good quality. As soon as somehting had run out it was stocked again, so the food stayed fresh anytime. Had a really good experience and real value for money. I would tip this hotel for anyone staying in Amsterdam to visit the center.

Room Tip: It did not matter to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first trip to Amsterdam was exceptionally good. From the ease of landing at Schipol then catching the train to Amsterdam main railway station, it was then an easy walk (12 - 15 minutes) to Hotel Nova foopm Amsterdam Centraal.
Once there, this three star hotel - and you have to remember it is a three star hotel - provided everything that we would have expected. Its location, in the really quaint and lovely old part of Amsterdam, was excellent and the help and service offered by staff was always very good. My wife's only concern was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in what was a spacious and clean room, but there was a coffee machine in the lobby. The room also had a safety deposit box and a TV offereing a huge range of channels. Breakfast was buffet/continental style, with a range of cereals, fruit, yogurt, scrambled egg, bacon, hams and cheeses and a big selection of breads/buns, rolls and sweet pastries. No matter how quickly these stocks disappeared, they were replenished immediately.
Clean towels were provided every day - albeit we did not ask them to be replaced - and even though we only stayed four nights, the bed linen was changed too.
We stayed on the fourth floor, but the lift ensured no difficulty getting luggage up to that floor.
Check out on departure day was at 11 am, so we had quite a while to pass before we went back to Schipol Airport, but the staff in the hotel offered us the use of a luggage store where we could leave our cases and collect them later in the day.
The hotel is surrounded by so many eating and drinking places that you don't have to venture far for your eating/entertainment at night. Lots of interesting sights closeby too. Real value for money, assuming you are not looking for 5 star luxury.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We really loved staying at this hotel. It was so close to everything - large shopping centre just down the road, Dam Square just around the corner and trams right in front of the hotel. Moving around the hotel is a little interesting due to there being a few house joined together.. , stairs in places were very steep and you needed to watch your head! There is also a lift available so you're not having to drag your luggage up and down the stairs. Some rooms are certainly nicer and cleaner than others - ask for one towards the back of the hotel so you don't get too much street noise on the weekends. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious every morning; excellent wifi throughout the hotel and very pleasasnt staff. Would highly recommend this stay to anyone considering travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

It has been a problem I have with Tripadvisor contributors who book a cheap hotel and then whinge that they did not get four star service. Sometimes I have been lucky enough to get a great deal in high grade hotels and evaluated it according to its grade and not it bargain price.
The Nova Hotel in Amsterdam is right behind the Royal Palace in Dam Square. It is bang in the centre of old town, within minutes of Damrak, a tram hop from outside your door to the Central Station, and if so inclined a short walk from Amsterdam's most famous zone by the canals. So how much is such a central location worth ?
OK so the Krasnapolski Hotel 5 star is in Dam Square, five minutes away, if your budget is up to it, if not then you have to decide. I chose the Nova because in the equazion of location versus budget it fitted the bill.
The street entrance is three steps down from footpath level and does sort of seem unorthodox until you accept that you are in Old Town Amsterdam and the architectural style is intrinsic to its charm. The reception area is comfortable and the reception desk was serviced by staff who were cheery and helpful and more importantly dealt effortlessly with guests in an array of languages. A room for baggage was available for early arrivers.
The hotel is basic. It is hampered by the fact that it is an amalgam of three buildings each hundreds of years old that have been combined to make the hotel. The levels of each building are different so lots of quirky stair turns as you travel upstairs to the accommodation. I was room 302 but it was on the second floor.
No lush pile carpets but clean functional industrial style carpet was in my room. The bed was comfortable and the en suite was ok with clean towels and clean functioning facilities. No kettle but there is a machine in the foyer if you feel so inclined.
Breakfast is in a quasi basement, I mean partially below the level of the pavement . Lots of up and down steps as you pass from one building to another. It made me smile ryely as I traversed the undulations !
I was in Amsterdam for a trade show. I needed a base with a bed, within a budget and near to eateries and bars for my evening enjoyment. Is the Nova Hotel value for money; yes. Is it clean; yes, is it central; yes, is it 3 star; probably not but what do you expect for 65 euro in the centre of one of the busiest and expensive cities in Europe. I got all I wanted and more than I paid for from the Nova Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a rear room which was spacious ,clean and quiet.The stairs are very steep but there is a lift.Breakfast was adequate with an average selection,we were happy with it.
We found that most sights we wanted to see were within an easy walking distance.
Overall we thought the hotel was value for money and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.