We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Gwann, null, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

its too old need of a referbisment no a/c in the rooms and it was too hot in summer we couldn't sleep and when you open the window it was too noisy but the rooms are clean and the breakfast is good even the staff is friendly

Room Tip: don't open the window at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    285
    103
    25
    18
See reviews for
98
187
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We did a pre tour package and stayed 3 nights at the Nova Hotel. The hotel is very welcoming and fairly centrally located to all the Amsterdam "must sees".
We arrived before our room was ready and were able to secure our luggage in a locked room so we could start sight seeing right away.
Conveniently, there is a taxi stand 1 block away as well as a tram stop. We chose to walk to all venues/sites -but did cab it once because of rain. Great restaurants within walking distance.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size and beds comfy. Depending on where your room was located, steps may be involved! The morning buffet gave a nice variety of breakfast choices. The free wifi in the lobby was great-and even had a weak signal in the room. Had to get used to turning in room key before leaving hotel, but kind of nice having one less thing to worry about. Also had a 24 hour vending coffee machine and soda machine (with beer) in lobby. Room was cleaned/made up quickly after leaving for the day. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend great location easy walking distance foe everywhere.rooms very clean showers great ,breakfast was excellent plenty of variety,staff very helpfully definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam a couple of times, this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. Location is great. A couple of minutes walk from anything. No need for taxis or rickshaws. Service was good, room was clean and staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Nova Hotel for 3 nights while visiting Amsterdam for the first time. We took a taxi from the airport. The driver had some confusion about the hotel so one of our group gave him the address with a map. Upon arrival our rooms were not yet ready however, they had a secure room with safes for storing our valuables and luggage. We opted not to use the safe however, one in our group did. He had trouble getting it to work properly. He had to go get someone to assist him and it all worked out. The hotel is nice and conveniently located. There are nice restaurants nearby and Dam Square is a short walk away. There is also an Albert Heijn grocery store two blocks down on the way to the Square. The Anne Frank House, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museums are all within walking distance. However, if you have limited mobility or the weather is bad, you can take a tram or a taxi. There is a taxi stand located out in front of the grocery store. The trams normally run in front of the hotel but that section was closed for repair while we were there. The hotel staff is fluent in English and very helpful. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area. Breakfast is served daily and had enough variety and options to please most people. The breakfast staff were always cleaning tables and very helpful. The first morning, the breakfast coffee machine would not work. So two male staff members tried to fix it. When they finished, it produced coffee but it was not drinkable. Thankfully, it was fixed by the next morning. Another nice feature is the availability of free wifi. Often at the end of the evenings we would sit in the lobby to catch up on our email. We also could get wifi in our room at times though the signal was not always very strong. A computer is in the lobby and available for use. You can also use it to print your boarding passes which is a nice feature. There is a coffee machine located in the lobby and accessible 24/7. There are several coffee options available for selection. The cost is one euro and the cups are small but it satisfies those afternoon or evening cravings. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom and large fridge. It was located on the second floor toward the very back. There was a big sign on the door that said watch step. The first night this was not a problem. However, the second night I entered the room first and almost broke my neck. There is a large step down into the room and had I not been holding onto the handle, I would have fallen badly. Yes, there is a sign on the door, however the hallway was dimly lit and I was exhausted. I would suggest some kind of marking on the floor at the step down to help draw your attention. Thankfully, there is a lift that helps to greatly reduce the number of steps you have to traverse with your luggage. However, when traveling with a 50 pound suitcase and carryon luggage, all steps are a challenge. Now from what I understand, this is common in Amsterdam. So, if steps are a challenge for you, please investigate further to see if there are better options for you. Knowing in advance to prepare for the steps is better than having this surprise after an all night flight with no sleep. We had a great time at the Nova Hotel and highly recommend it. The price was reasonable given its great location. We hope to return some day and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtarfa malta
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It has been a headache to choose a good hotel in Amsterdam Holland. Most hotels are expensive and the lower end hotels tend to be cheaper than usual but also slightly dodgy. So we opted to try out Nova hotel which had a very good price and the location was not so far from Dam Square. We were in for a very nice surprise as it turned out to be a good hotel for its 3 star rating. The room was huge and very comfortable. The staff is very nice to deal with and English is not a problem at all. Breakfast was also tasty and fresh and the choice is very good. Waiting staff in the breakfast room are always there to help you. Dam square is a few minutes walk away and from there you have Amsterdam within your reach. We would surely recommend Nova Hotel. Even to those with family and kids. Good Choice for sure !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was really pleased about this hotel. A combination between old and new. Big rooms plenty of space cor 3 people. Lcd tv with good selection of chanels. Breakfast was very nice and had a tasty selection to choose from. Wifi free and working all areas. 4 th floor last room but still great signal reception. Hotel has a place where you can leave your luggage in case you arive earlier or leave later than check in check out hours. There ade safe boxes there as well as in the rooms. Clean bathroom towels changed if needed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.