We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nova hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nova hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend great location easy walking distance foe everywhere.rooms very clean showers great ,breakfast was excellent plenty of variety,staff very helpfully definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    256
    90
    24
    15
See reviews for
79
161
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam a couple of times, this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. Location is great. A couple of minutes walk from anything. No need for taxis or rickshaws. Service was good, room was clean and staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Nova Hotel for 3 nights while visiting Amsterdam for the first time. We took a taxi from the airport. The driver had some confusion about the hotel so one of our group gave him the address with a map. Upon arrival our rooms were not yet ready however, they had a secure room with safes for storing our valuables and luggage. We opted not to use the safe however, one in our group did. He had trouble getting it to work properly. He had to go get someone to assist him and it all worked out. The hotel is nice and conveniently located. There are nice restaurants nearby and Dam Square is a short walk away. There is also an Albert Heijn grocery store two blocks down on the way to the Square. The Anne Frank House, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museums are all within walking distance. However, if you have limited mobility or the weather is bad, you can take a tram or a taxi. There is a taxi stand located out in front of the grocery store. The trams normally run in front of the hotel but that section was closed for repair while we were there. The hotel staff is fluent in English and very helpful. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area. Breakfast is served daily and had enough variety and options to please most people. The breakfast staff were always cleaning tables and very helpful. The first morning, the breakfast coffee machine would not work. So two male staff members tried to fix it. When they finished, it produced coffee but it was not drinkable. Thankfully, it was fixed by the next morning. Another nice feature is the availability of free wifi. Often at the end of the evenings we would sit in the lobby to catch up on our email. We also could get wifi in our room at times though the signal was not always very strong. A computer is in the lobby and available for use. You can also use it to print your boarding passes which is a nice feature. There is a coffee machine located in the lobby and accessible 24/7. There are several coffee options available for selection. The cost is one euro and the cups are small but it satisfies those afternoon or evening cravings. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom and large fridge. It was located on the second floor toward the very back. There was a big sign on the door that said watch step. The first night this was not a problem. However, the second night I entered the room first and almost broke my neck. There is a large step down into the room and had I not been holding onto the handle, I would have fallen badly. Yes, there is a sign on the door, however the hallway was dimly lit and I was exhausted. I would suggest some kind of marking on the floor at the step down to help draw your attention. Thankfully, there is a lift that helps to greatly reduce the number of steps you have to traverse with your luggage. However, when traveling with a 50 pound suitcase and carryon luggage, all steps are a challenge. Now from what I understand, this is common in Amsterdam. So, if steps are a challenge for you, please investigate further to see if there are better options for you. Knowing in advance to prepare for the steps is better than having this surprise after an all night flight with no sleep. We had a great time at the Nova Hotel and highly recommend it. The price was reasonable given its great location. We hope to return some day and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtarfa malta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It has been a headache to choose a good hotel in Amsterdam Holland. Most hotels are expensive and the lower end hotels tend to be cheaper than usual but also slightly dodgy. So we opted to try out Nova hotel which had a very good price and the location was not so far from Dam Square. We were in for a very nice surprise as it turned out to be a good hotel for its 3 star rating. The room was huge and very comfortable. The staff is very nice to deal with and English is not a problem at all. Breakfast was also tasty and fresh and the choice is very good. Waiting staff in the breakfast room are always there to help you. Dam square is a few minutes walk away and from there you have Amsterdam within your reach. We would surely recommend Nova Hotel. Even to those with family and kids. Good Choice for sure !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was really pleased about this hotel. A combination between old and new. Big rooms plenty of space cor 3 people. Lcd tv with good selection of chanels. Breakfast was very nice and had a tasty selection to choose from. Wifi free and working all areas. 4 th floor last room but still great signal reception. Hotel has a place where you can leave your luggage in case you arive earlier or leave later than check in check out hours. There ade safe boxes there as well as in the rooms. Clean bathroom towels changed if needed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not the easiest of hotels to find, even the locals couldn't help. Once found first impressions from the outside were I must say -disappointing. However, once inside the welcome was warm and friendly. Our room wasn't ready, but we were able to use a secure store with safes provided for our valuables we didn't need to carry around. We spent one night to extend our mini cruise from Hull. The room was warm, clean and big enough for our needs. Not sure why a full size fridge was necessary though. Breakfast was served 7 - 10.30. There was plenty of choice - toast, bacon, eggs, croissants, cold meats, cheese etc with tea, coffee and a choice of fruit juices. Check out was 11, so we again used the safe storage for valuables until departing for our ferry.

This hotel is charmingly welcoming with all our needs provided including tourist advice and the facility to buy tickets to attractions. All the staff were helpful, warm and friendly. This goes for all the locals too. However, due to the labrynthitis of corridors and narrowness of the stairs the hotel may not be suitable for everyone. It is ideally situated for tourism and is of a good standard. I would recommend it as a base for sightseeing

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was not the best view but we slept well with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We wanted to be in the middle of the action. We were here for 2 days and wanted to make the most of it. Hotel is situated perfectly. Quiet location even though it seems like it might be noisy. Felt very safe. The hotel is well used but is efficient. Breakfast is nice welcome. Clean rooms. Service is thorough with information on what to do, where to go and how to do it. Good mix of clientele. Older and younger. All very respectful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.