We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to discover the delights of Amsterdam. The rooms are large and clean, breakfast is top class buffet, staff are very very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    257
    90
    24
    16
See reviews for
80
161
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I agree with many of the reviewers of this hotel; the location is perfect. No need for spending money on trams, buses or taxis. The hotel seems to have been refurbished not too long ago, and the bathroom was big, nice and clean. Our triple room was actually a very spacious four-bed room, including refridgerator, flat screen TV and safe. The breakfast buffet was good enough. To be really good it should have had more warm courses and maybe some more vegetables. The staff was helpful, efficient and friendly.The room price is quite high, but given the location and the standard I would say we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a central based hotel that is cheap and cheerful then the Nova Hotel ticks those boxes. We had a fab long weekend in Amsterdam and think a lot of that had to do with the great location of the Hotel. Breakfast is a basic continental, rooms were a decent size and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Nova before as its very handy for all the sights, shops, bars and restaurants as its just across the road from the palace and Dam square. This time we were not as pleased as it has gone more downhill than before. It was a bit grubby and the breakfast was quite poor for the high cost so I don't think we will be going back when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 8 days in Amsterdam and we stayed here at the Nova Hotel.

We had an amazing week and the hotel was a great base due to its convenient location a short walk from Dam Square.

The room was ok and comfortable. The wifi works well and unlike many other Amsterdam Hotels, it is free throughout the hotel. We had a big fridge in our room which was useful and unexpectedly big. The bathroom was fabulous and high quality. We used the hotel as a base and called back often do to it being so convenient. The trams to Central Station in one direction and various interesting destinations in the other. They are very frequent and cheap to use with multi day unlimited use tickets being good value.

Guests are also able to leave luggage which we did on both our arrival and departure days as it meant we could arrive early and leave late.

I guess the slightly high price is the trade off for the location and free wifi. We will.definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 102, which was a triple, so plenty of room. The hotel is in a quiet but really good location for all the tourist must sees. Service was always with a smile, even when l broke the room safe. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, which set us up for the days sightseeing. Only 3 minute walk to Dam Square, O'Reillys bar is only 2 minutes work away, if your a football fan this is the place to go. So in summary l would recommend this hotel to other travellers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Access to the room was up (and down) various steps, stair cases and 2 (maybe 3) fire doors to negotiate - terrible with luggage, room smelt strange and looked like drab cheap motel.
Bathroom was bizarrely fabulous, modern and very clean. Breakfast was good for a budget hotel.
If I had paid 30% of what I paid I would have been happy but it was a lot of money for such a low budget room.

Room Tip: Can not recommend 105, access is terrible with luggage. Smells strange, cheap looking drab room, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.