We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, convenient, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, convenient, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nova features an ideal location for visiting Amsterdam. It is located 200m from the center of it all, with close access to most popular tram lines and shops. Rooms are spacious, clean and have a good size fridge. Breakfast is sufficient with cold and hot dishes. I would recommend the management adding some fresh veggies. Staff is friendly and efficient.

Why, then, only 4 stars: technical maintenance is a bit missing: difficult to open window, bath spigot loose even after they tried to fix.

Generally, recommneded

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    314
    116
    26
    19
See reviews for
110
203
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great base to crash at night and explore the centre of Amsterdam. I booked a single room and got a good sized very clean double room with TV, modern en suite, fridge. Receptionist was friendly and welcoming, offering me a choice of staying at the back or front of the hotel (I chose the back as there are tram lines right out front). I was given a free city map with the hotel marked on it.

Breakfast was standard continental with a couple of hot items - breakfast room got a bit busy and staff struggled a bit to replenish some of the more popular items. Food was all good quality.

The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is about 2 minutes walk to Dam Square, and in the opposite direction about the same to the first of the canal rings. It is worth walking a short way northwest across the canals to the Jordaan district which is lovely. The street the hotel on is quiet at night (at least from the back of the hotel!)

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is quite costly, but so is most of the accommodation in Amsterdam - the location is excellent and my room was bigger than in a lot of Amsterdam city centre hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel aren't affected by noise from trams early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A very low rate budget hotel. Steps to go down to get in then steps up long hallways with steps. altogether a nightmare of a place to access.
Breakfast room down more steps below street level, and a very medioca breakfast.

Room ok reasonable clean.

Receptionist very friendly on check in.

Room Tip: make sure room is on lower level and not far from front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the family room as we had 4 adults and 2 children - spacious enough for all of us and it wasn't too noisy in the night. Only real noise was the trams but that wasn't too bad. Our room was nice with a really spacious bathroom - no bathtub, just shower. Continental breakfast was served in the morning as well.

The hotel is located a few steps from Dam Square and just down the road was a big super market. There is also a tram stop diagonally across the street so it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

When myself and my partner arrived at the Nova hotel we we're approached politely and checked in with ease. We had a ground floor double room which was clean and nicely presented but no quirks - as expected for a 3* hotel. The beds were comfy and breakfast was adequate but there was not a lot of choice. The second night however me and my partner were woke up to the noise of rustling, squeeking and scratching above our heads. My guess is that there was a mouse in the ceiling compartment of the room, so we spent the majority of our night, not sleeping, but lying on edge that if we went to sleep we would wake up to find Jerry crawling ontop of us!
In my opinion the two nights were definitely not worth what we payed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MScala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very central location just few metres away from Dam square in Amsterdam. Clean Hotel, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Accomodation included a decent breakfast. The only snag is that our rooms on 1st floor were not serviced by the lift and we had to get our luggage up a flight of steep stairs. I recommend asking for a room on same floor level of the lift. Otherwise very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.