We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey, but clean and close to night life.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nova Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Noisey, but clean and close to night life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was really surprise with my room. For what I payed for my 3 night stay in Amsterdam, was really worth it. Had a small room (typical), but space excellent for one person and my bathroom was clean with a nice size shower. My towels appeared dirty, with a few holes, but had them replaced easily by asking. My room was facing the train, so until about 7am-1am, the dinging of the train was loud, but honestly I only knew that because my first night I stayed in, but other nights well, liquid sleep, also keeping my window open I could get high. The 7am train was a good alarm though. The breakfast that was served was pretty good and included in my price.
Overall, I would stay at the hotel again (once the price is right) and hopefully will take my partner to this hotel, because of cleanliness and how close it was to resturants and nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    286
    103
    25
    18
See reviews for
98
187
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in September 2011.
The hotel is in a very good location,comfortable large rooms very clean rooms.
The service at reception was ok, a little unfriendly in saying that we would stay at the Nova again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Cheshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel is well placed for station, Dam Square and main canal areas. Trams from outside the hotel serve the main areas (and station) if you DO need them. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful - requests for an extra pillow and plug for the bathroom sink were dealt with promptly and with a smile. Yes - it is a warrren as, like many hotels in A/dam, it is spread over several buildings but there is a lft and you soon get the hang of finding your room. Our bedroom (304) and the bathroom were a good size. It was very quiet - with a view of an inner courtyard (and the windows opposite) but that didn't bother us. The room was hot at times so we left the windows open at night. Beds were very comfortable. A fridge (working), TV, safe and hairdryer were provided. Breakfasts were more than adequate with reasonable choices. There was hot food if you want a cooked breakfast but the cold buffet was good - cold meats and cheeses were 'real' and not 'plastic. Breads were varied and fresh.
The nearby supermarket was useful for milk etc. Tip: get Dutch waffles in a pretty bue and white tin as gifts from here - much cheaper than the souvenir shops. Treat yourself to late afternoon coffee and scrumptous cakes and apple tart at the ground floor cafe in De Bijenkorf in Dam Square to keep you going until your evening meal (cost about 6 euro). Nearby restaurants include Humphreys at 312 who do a menu for 23.95 euro with plenty of choice and also do try La Piccola Trattoria at number 346. It is a lovely little Italian resturant run by two brothers and it is a little gem - 2 can eat well for 24 euro - including wine.
Word of warnIng - the ticket machines at the rail stations to and from the airport only seem to take cards. If you are paying cash you need to queue at the ticket office.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just back from three nights at the Nova Hotel. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Central station and 5 minutes from Dam Square. The staff are very helpful and we ended up in a great big triple room facing the front of the hotel. Only one complaint was the noise of the trams first thing in the morning but other than that it was a great trip. Good choice for breakfast and it the hotel has the best shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

It is a "do it yourself " hotel hardly worth more than a 1 star rating.
At nearly 400 euro a night in August, I think there are better options. I know that generally European hotel rooms are small, but whoever decided to re furbish the rooms, did not have a clue.
For starters, you have to lug your luggage down 6 stairs to get into the lobby which is usually crowded and very small. Rooms were very basic with "Ikea" style furnishings and so you trip over everything. The bathrooms were brand new, the only plus. If you get a courtyard room, don't look out the window. All you see are crumbling walls and a miserable courtyard.
We asked for an early wake up call which the desk clerk forgot to do as well as order our taxi so it was a mad rush to get up and out of there to the airport.
The breakfast room was in a room without windows, with unimaginative Formica tables and chairs, a totally unappealing place to eat the awful "serve yourself" buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location in the city center from which we visited Amsterdam on foot. Just 10 minutes walk to the central station, where you can take trains/ferryboat /bikes for the surroundings (I loved Enkhuizen!). Small room, but silent. Generous breakfast buffet. Useful computer to print tickets online for museum!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Some friends and i stayed here in August 2011 and have to say we wanted to be close to Dam Square, ie close to the action but not too close, this hotel was perfect for us. room was ok, bit basic but all you needed, free safe which went down well. Breakfast was great bacon, toast, fruits, juices cereals etc. free internet for me to print boarding passes, In all very clean hotel, staff very helpful, finding room was fun it is a bit like a maze but good lagh especially if you have had a smoke or two, really cant fault this place would highly recommend staying here, we will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.